Customer Reviews for

The Baker's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read!

The Bakers Wife by Erin Healy is a great story about one righteous man who thought it his job to punish the evil he saw all while twisting the words of God to justify his reasons for doing it. His wife didn't believe in God like he did, so he punished her. He talked dow...
The Bakers Wife by Erin Healy is a great story about one righteous man who thought it his job to punish the evil he saw all while twisting the words of God to justify his reasons for doing it. His wife didn't believe in God like he did, so he punished her. He talked down to his daughter all her life, instead of simply talking to her, and as a result, when she got pregnant at a young age, she had no one to turn to and so she had an abortion, claiming that the pastor of the church paid for it. Her dad had no choice but to punish the pastor by getting him fired from the church. As if that wasn' t enough, when his wife suddenly goes missing, he blames it on the pastor and his family, concocting his own story. Eventually it ends with him holding the entire pastors family and some innocent bystanders by gunpoint in an attempt to get answers all while quoting bible scripture that he believes support his behavior is justified. The only thing more amazing than how this "man of God" can twist scripture is how calm Audrey and Geoff Bofinger are throughout the whole ordeal...There is no doubt that God was in deed with them! A great story, could not put it down!
NOTE: I was provided this book for no charge by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review. In no way am I obligated to provide a positive review of the book.

posted by mommy123 on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As I began reading the first several chapters I found myself won

As I began reading the first several chapters I found myself wondering if I even wanted to continue with the story, the overuse of adjectives was a little much to say the least. However, I did find myself intrigued by the mystery. This story has an odd mix of genres; ...
As I began reading the first several chapters I found myself wondering if I even wanted to continue with the story, the overuse of adjectives was a little much to say the least. However, I did find myself intrigued by the mystery. This story has an odd mix of genres; Christian fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance. What?....Yes, that was my thought exactly. It felt as though the author was trying to cram everything into this one novel and the paranormal aspect was just a little to far fetched.

To be fair, there were a lot of faith based issues that were covered and would make for a great book club discussion; sin, righteousness, abortion, emotional abuse, love, God's forgiveness and unconditional love. I did like the mystery/suspense to the story and continued turning the page for that alone.

All in all it was just okay for me. Oh well, back to my library shelf.


posted by VirtuousWomanKF on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great Read, very enjoyable!

    I really enjoyed this novel. Read a great deal of it in the car on the way to the beach. The characters were complex and likable. Everyone had a history and there were surprises all along the way. There is a Christian aspect to the story but the author is not preachy at all. I loved the main character and I really loved her relationship with her husband. Their bake shop is a ministry and it is a place of healing and redemption. Overall, the story is good and all the stories tie together. I will check out Healy's other novels. This would make a great book club choice!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It was hard to put down. Loved this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great read. Lots and lots of drama. Strong characters that expertly matched the plot and story line. This author really gave me an insight into the characters lives. Each one had their own personal agony to deal with. It was what kept me turning the pages. Jack's character was hard to deal with, because of his fanatic religious beliefs. It was so imbedded in his mind that it destroyed the lives of people he thought he loved.

    Buy this book, read this story, you will not regret it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    As I began reading the first several chapters I found myself won

    As I began reading the first several chapters I found myself wondering if I even wanted to continue with the story, the overuse of adjectives was a little much to say the least. However, I did find myself intrigued by the mystery. This story has an odd mix of genres; Christian fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance. What?....Yes, that was my thought exactly. It felt as though the author was trying to cram everything into this one novel and the paranormal aspect was just a little to far fetched.

    To be fair, there were a lot of faith based issues that were covered and would make for a great book club discussion; sin, righteousness, abortion, emotional abuse, love, God's forgiveness and unconditional love. I did like the mystery/suspense to the story and continued turning the page for that alone.

    All in all it was just okay for me. Oh well, back to my library shelf.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sloooooooooooooooow

    I thought the book was okay, it was very slow reading for me. I just did not understand what the main character, Audrey, was always feeling or sensing? Did her baking bread compare to Jesus with the story of the loaves and fishes? I have no idea....Like I said, it was a very slow read for me; like all of the bread Audrey baked, slow rising !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Horrible

    Looked much better than it was. Would not waste my money on another of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Wierd

    This is the strangest book i have ever read. Cant believe it got high ratings. Didnt like it. Way out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    I wasn't sure what to expect so was pleasantly surprised. Kept my interest and would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Good Read

    An easy read with a lot of topics good for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Pretty good...until the end.

    I was really into this book. I liked the characters, and the plot was suspenseful. I liked the writing style and the different points of view. I had a hard time putting it down. Then, the big reveal happened and I was very disappointed. I don't want to give anything away, but I was definitely expecting a much more exciting ending. I literally said, "That's it?!" I kind of felt cheated. Not happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Not a page turner

    I did jot care for this book at all. It was very repeatitive and by th eend i had the whole thing figured out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great Read!

    Really enjoyed this book. Great recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Not recommended

    I finished rdg. this bk. but it was a chore. seemed very disjointed to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Character development weak.

    While the story was good enough to keep me reading, I could not engage with the characters. They lacked the character depth needed to make the story believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    AWESOME!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. From the beginning, I was hooked and couldn't put it down until I finished. This book is definitely staying in my Nook to read over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    The book is more of a religious book than a mystery. I really di

    The book is more of a religious book than a mystery. I really didn't like the plot and I'm not sure about Audrey's spiritual connection with Julie since she did not know her. Not saying that it cannot happen but it was not believable to me and the writer went a little far in my opinion. I finished the book but grew tired of it. I just wanted the last 25 pages to be over. I got the book for free or only paid a small amount. If I had paid 9.99 I would have been very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed the many twists and turns this book took. I started it on a long flight across country. Once I reached my destination rather than sleep I had to finish the book. Reading on the Nook was easy on the plane. No worry about the lights from the cabin. But back to the book! It had many storylines and made one stop and think about their own life and how what one person does, right or wrong, can impact so many lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Great read,not what you probably expect

    This was an interesting book,it was a little hard to follow to begin with,but got really good near the middle. Their is this element of other wordliness as the Bakers wife is an empath and bakes bread for people she fell needs help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Good beach read

    Enjoyable, easy read and engaging story. Some of the characters coould have been developed a bit more and, by the end, began to feel like charicatures. However, the plot twists keep you guessing and you do want the heroes, both the flawed and the overly perfect, to succeed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5