Customer Reviews for

Baking: From My Home to Yours

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Baking

Dorie Greenspan has co-authored two dessert books with French patisserie genius Pierre Herme, and one baking book with American food icon Julia Child, three books which have won four awards between them. This, fellow bakers, is all you need to know about her culinary cr...
Dorie Greenspan has co-authored two dessert books with French patisserie genius Pierre Herme, and one baking book with American food icon Julia Child, three books which have won four awards between them. This, fellow bakers, is all you need to know about her culinary credentials. She writes clearly and encouragingly, including basic explanations of the chemistry of baking, plus numerous practical tips. Think of her as the parent who walks backwards in front of you as you wobble along on your first bicycle, outstretched hands always there when needed to help you steer and balance. A professional by choice but a home baker at heart, Greenspan has filled this book with not only a huge selection of classic homestyle recipes, from struesel muffins to berry cobbler, beautiful pound and marble cakes, brioches and bundt cakes and pecan pie, but also some surprises, such as a honey cornmeal cake with port-poached figs, and a toasted coconut custard tart spiced with a pinch of ground coriander. One of the best surprises is a recipe, courtesy of Herm$#233 , for an ethereally light lemon cream, which is probably worth the price of the book alone. Highly recommended for novice and avid bakers alike.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've made three things from this book so far, and it's highly unlikely I'll be making any more. The Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream was excellent, but the instructions were not. It's amazing that Dorie left out the most crucial step in making any kind of custard. She fai...
I've made three things from this book so far, and it's highly unlikely I'll be making any more. The Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream was excellent, but the instructions were not. It's amazing that Dorie left out the most crucial step in making any kind of custard. She failed to note that the custard needs to be strained before adding to the melted chocolate. Now since I've made custards and custard-based ice creams before, I was fully aware of the necessity of that step, but I'm sure there are lots of other people who are not. If they're not aware of the necessity to strain out the custard, they will be left with little pieces of scrambled eggs in their ice cream. Real appetizing. The Cinnamon Squares were very good, but too cinnamony, even for me, and I'm a cinnamon lover. That wasn't really a problem, however, since I could always cut it down the next time around. But... something very strange happened after I froze the leftover pieces. When I defrosted them, they were absolutely gooey, sticky, and inedible. Needless to say, they went into the garbage. Now, that has NEVER happened before with any other cake recipe at any time in all the years I've been baking 'this is actually a regular cake, not a typical bar or square, even though the title says 'squares''. So, why didn't Dorie simply indicate that these don't freeze well? Another real irritation. And lastly, the Espresso Chocolate Shortbread Cookies were very good, but nothing outstanding, and probably not something I'd make again. As usual, the instructions were terrible. Overall, this book is a real disappointment. The best part is the beautiful photography.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    A book worth lingering over...

    I discovered this book after reading a review about it in the newspaper and then bought it for myself for Mother's Day. After picking 10 lbs. of blueberries this summer I searched this cookbook for a recipe that appealed to me. I settled on the blueberry pie because although I have baked lots of pies, I had never made blueberry. The pie was delicious! The sweet blueberry filling and buttery pie dough pie was gorgeous with vanilla ice cream. The blueberry-sour cream ice cream was refreshing, although I liked it best freshly made and not after it sat in the freezer for a day. This book is beautifully written and photograped and full of recipes that make you want to have any excuse to bake. I've truly enjoyed lingering over this book and I've given it as a gift to a few fellow bakers who tell me they enjoy it as much as I have.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Great Baking Resource for Beginners and Experts!

    This is a great book to have in your collection. With over 400 pages it does not lack at all in variety or information. While some of the recipes look long, they are not complicated. Mainly the length comes from the fact that the author goes into delightful detail on how to be successful ith with the recipe as well as how to make variations on the theme. You could spend every day of the year making something new out of this book and never have a repeat. The World Peace Cookies, her basic pie dough (which is anything but ordinary) and Pecan Sour Cream biscuits are just a few of the recipes I've tried and LOVED. Great photography with most recipes pictured.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Baking

    Dorie Greenspan has co-authored two dessert books with French patisserie genius Pierre Herme, and one baking book with American food icon Julia Child, three books which have won four awards between them. This, fellow bakers, is all you need to know about her culinary credentials. She writes clearly and encouragingly, including basic explanations of the chemistry of baking, plus numerous practical tips. Think of her as the parent who walks backwards in front of you as you wobble along on your first bicycle, outstretched hands always there when needed to help you steer and balance. A professional by choice but a home baker at heart, Greenspan has filled this book with not only a huge selection of classic homestyle recipes, from struesel muffins to berry cobbler, beautiful pound and marble cakes, brioches and bundt cakes and pecan pie, but also some surprises, such as a honey cornmeal cake with port-poached figs, and a toasted coconut custard tart spiced with a pinch of ground coriander. One of the best surprises is a recipe, courtesy of Herm$#233 , for an ethereally light lemon cream, which is probably worth the price of the book alone. Highly recommended for novice and avid bakers alike.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Amazing so far...

    I've made only a few recipes from this book, but the ones I've attempted have been great! The basic cheesecake recipe with variations listed is wonderful. I made two variations (Black and White, and Lemon) for a party my daughter hosted and everyone raved and requested the recipe. I've made cheesecake for years and still learned a thing or two from Dorie's tips! I also made the Quintuple Chocolate Brownies which had my husband raving, and he's NOT a huge fan of chocolate.

    I think I'll go back again and again to this book and would definitely give it as a gift to anyone from a beginner to experienced baker!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great cookbook!

    All I can say is that I'm absolutely thrilled with this- it's my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Disappointing

    I've made three things from this book so far, and it's highly unlikely I'll be making any more. The Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream was excellent, but the instructions were not. It's amazing that Dorie left out the most crucial step in making any kind of custard. She failed to note that the custard needs to be strained before adding to the melted chocolate. Now since I've made custards and custard-based ice creams before, I was fully aware of the necessity of that step, but I'm sure there are lots of other people who are not. If they're not aware of the necessity to strain out the custard, they will be left with little pieces of scrambled eggs in their ice cream. Real appetizing. The Cinnamon Squares were very good, but too cinnamony, even for me, and I'm a cinnamon lover. That wasn't really a problem, however, since I could always cut it down the next time around. But... something very strange happened after I froze the leftover pieces. When I defrosted them, they were absolutely gooey, sticky, and inedible. Needless to say, they went into the garbage. Now, that has NEVER happened before with any other cake recipe at any time in all the years I've been baking 'this is actually a regular cake, not a typical bar or square, even though the title says 'squares''. So, why didn't Dorie simply indicate that these don't freeze well? Another real irritation. And lastly, the Espresso Chocolate Shortbread Cookies were very good, but nothing outstanding, and probably not something I'd make again. As usual, the instructions were terrible. Overall, this book is a real disappointment. The best part is the beautiful photography.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Superb Guide

    Fabulous no fail recipes. Dorie Greenspan is a famous baker, who worked with Julia Child among others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Excellent!

    I have made about 1/3 of the recipes in this book and all of them absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. The playing around sections within the recipes add countless more variations on an already wonderful recipe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    So many recipes I want to try!!!

    This cookbook has so many recipes that are well-written, inviting, and delicious! I'm a rather lazy baker and don't like to work too hard to get the end result. These recipes are right up my alley and they taste wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Delicious!

    Everything in the book that I've made so far has turned out wonderfully. I think the maple tuiles are my BF's favorite. It is a great book to turn to and everything is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1