Customer Reviews for

Baking

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This Will Be The Last Baking Cookbook I Purchase

Had I seen this first, I wouldn't have purchased any other baking cookbooks I've tried - much better even, than Julia Child's Baking (and it ...was... my favorite!)

I consider myself an intermediate baker but I find I learn a new technique, new tip or shortcut, or a ...
Had I seen this first, I wouldn't have purchased any other baking cookbooks I've tried - much better even, than Julia Child's Baking (and it ...was... my favorite!)

I consider myself an intermediate baker but I find I learn a new technique, new tip or shortcut, or a correction to something I've done wrong in the past, each time I try a new recipe from this book. It has easy to follow directions, photos that make sense, and it's just plain entertaining. If I ever meet James Peterson I will shake his hand in gratitude for the best baking cookbook I've ever had on my shelf! This will surely be passed down to future generations within my family as a proper textbook for baking.

posted by vbliss on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Factual

Growing up in a family of bakers, I realized just how much I had learned from them as I read about techniques in this in-depth book. It gave me the answers to why I was taught to do things in a certain way for success. The recipes are well written. I would have liked...
Growing up in a family of bakers, I realized just how much I had learned from them as I read about techniques in this in-depth book. It gave me the answers to why I was taught to do things in a certain way for success. The recipes are well written. I would have liked an explanation of what could happen if procedures weren't followed exactly. This would have explained why I had to do a certain step. This happened to me as I made the Cinnamon Rolls. The filling turned solid as it cooled. I rechecked the recipe and felt I did just as it said. I ended up using my own filling.

posted by 3085402 on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    This Will Be The Last Baking Cookbook I Purchase

    Had I seen this first, I wouldn't have purchased any other baking cookbooks I've tried - much better even, than Julia Child's Baking (and it ...was... my favorite!)

    I consider myself an intermediate baker but I find I learn a new technique, new tip or shortcut, or a correction to something I've done wrong in the past, each time I try a new recipe from this book. It has easy to follow directions, photos that make sense, and it's just plain entertaining. If I ever meet James Peterson I will shake his hand in gratitude for the best baking cookbook I've ever had on my shelf! This will surely be passed down to future generations within my family as a proper textbook for baking.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book!

    First off, the photography is absolutely stunning. Of course, that's not the part of the book that's most important, I know, but I just had to mention it.
    The premise of the book is very interesting: it gives you instructions on how to make various elements in baking (different types of cakes, frostings, pie crusts, breads, etc) and allows you to experiment. Of course, it doesn't leave you completely in the dark. There are quite a number of assembled cakes in the book as well. It gets slightly difficult here if you're a newbie and you're trying to make an advanced cake... as I did this Christmas Eve... I wanted to make the 'Chocolate Hazelnut Cake with Chocolate Filling and Hazelnut Buttercream', which has about 6 different parts to it, and each part will refer you back to another page. That's where things get difficult/annoying. It's wonderful if you've already learned how to make simple things like chocolate sponge cake, but I was constantly flipping back to the marked pages to make sure I was doing everything right. In the end though, I had a lot of fun, learned a LOT, and the cake was delicious.
    I love how with most written recipes, they'll have step-by-step pictures labeled underneath. It's very easy to follow that way, and I always find pictures more interesting than text, haha.
    The sections included in the book are 'Cakes', 'Pies, Tarts, and Pastries', 'Cookies', 'Breads, Quick Breads, and Bread-Based Desserts', 'Custards, Souffles, Fruit Curds, and Mousses'. As you can see, it covers a wide range of topics, and it actually goes quite in depth with a lot of them. The Bread section is especially informative. I can't WAIT to make fresh croissants. I'm drooling just thinking about it...
    In other words, I really recommend this book to people who want to learn more about baking in general, and be able to invent their own desserts after learning the bare essentials. If you're looking for simple recipes, you're not going to find them in here.
    Personally, I like how the book is set up, and I can't wait to experiment!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Factual

    Growing up in a family of bakers, I realized just how much I had learned from them as I read about techniques in this in-depth book. It gave me the answers to why I was taught to do things in a certain way for success. The recipes are well written. I would have liked an explanation of what could happen if procedures weren't followed exactly. This would have explained why I had to do a certain step. This happened to me as I made the Cinnamon Rolls. The filling turned solid as it cooled. I rechecked the recipe and felt I did just as it said. I ended up using my own filling.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best baking cookbook I have ever seen

    I love to bake and this cookbook is awesome. It will always be my first reference for baking, and I have quite a few baking cookbooks and looseleaf recipes. I have bought several now for gifts and plan to coordinate baking sessions using the same recipe as my daughter who lives out of state. Thanks for putting together this comprehensive book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Book was recommended to me

    I went into Williams and Sonoma for a book on baking bread. They did not have any but the saleswoman recommended Patterson's book. I found this great book at BN and have used it over and over. It is very informative and the illustrations are beautiful but also helpful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Great Book

    Lots of recepies, great book, easy to read and understand. Great recepies and lots of pictures! Love it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Got a copy from the library and found everything outstanding exc

    Got a copy from the library and found everything outstanding except that the recipes are in cups, etc.  instead of by weight.  If there is a version in the future that weighs the ingredients, I will definitely buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Leena

    What is it . Also u have to space the letters when u type the email adress orit will lock u out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Jn

    No thats n i.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Jen

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    To katie

    No!! I need to no more aboout u first then maybe..

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Hollyclae

    How bout we try edenclan? At oggie first result no typo

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Nbula

    They not on -.-

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Katie

    Fake Katie below me go to bacon res 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2