Customer Reviews for

Baking Basics and Beyond: Learn These Simple Techniques and Bake Like a Pro

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Love to bake, this book is amazing. There's a walk through of

I Love to bake, this book is amazing. There's a walk through of all the things you thought you knew but could do just a Little bit better, tips and tricks and recipes for quite a bit. I've made a lot from this book and everything has tasted great without fail. I use thi...
I Love to bake, this book is amazing. There's a walk through of all the things you thought you knew but could do just a Little bit better, tips and tricks and recipes for quite a bit. I've made a lot from this book and everything has tasted great without fail. I use this book as a go to when I forget things too, it tells what ingredients specific purposes are; like what baking powder/soda do.

posted by Adalene on February 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Julia nope mine

Got nothing

posted by 8618906 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Love to bake, this book is amazing. There's a walk through of

    I Love to bake, this book is amazing. There's a walk through of all the things you thought you knew but could do just a Little bit better, tips and tricks and recipes for quite a bit. I've made a lot from this book and everything has tasted great without fail. I use this book as a go to when I forget things too, it tells what ingredients specific purposes are; like what baking powder/soda do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for Novice to Intermediate Baker

    This book has a lot of basic baking information and a good list of baking essentials (measuring cups, spoons, pans, etc.) Also information about staples to keep on hand if you intend to do a lot of baking. Many baking recipe staples (like baking powder biscuits) as well as old favorites I had forgotten about. Each recipe contains helpful hints and the last chapter "beyond the basics" provides recipes for kicking it up a notch or two. Measurements are in cups and grams/liters. It is also the first e-book I've gotten that is actually formatted correctly and the Index allows you to find a recipe alphabetically and then touch it to go right to the recipe. Other e-books I have gotten didn't work correctly, but this one is great. A welcome addition to any bakers library.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Is this a good book

    If you are a beginner you would probley read the 1st page to the 14th page.But if not start on 15. I just got this and i love it
    . I also love baking and you have to like baking to read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    It sounds like a good book

    Can youbbuy it with a gift card

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great

    Lol its such a good book
    U should read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Fabuless

    I love doing hair,cooking, and backing. Its amaging what people can do at a yong age

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    These recipes sound good

    As a person who regards herself as a better baker than an all round cook, I have made quite a few of the types of baked goods mentioned in this book. As I glanced through the recipes, I found some that I am certainly going to try out on my husband. I have never made blueberry scones, for example--and here is a recipe for them. Last year we picked a lot of blueberries, and I need a way to use them up. This will help.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Hard to read

    The type is so light, I couldn't read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    *****Read Me*****

    I love to bake and l would to like to know if there is anything easy ,but good and yummy!! ;')

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Cool

    Learn how to bake fooles

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Should i buy this book

    ?

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1