Customer Reviews for

Bakkian Chronicles, Book I - The Prophecy

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Lentari!

The Bakkian Chronicles follow Steve and his wife Sarah as they find out that Steve's grandparents died and they inherit everything. They take a trip to their new house and find some strange things. There is a journal filled withed references to people and places they ha...
The Bakkian Chronicles follow Steve and his wife Sarah as they find out that Steve's grandparents died and they inherit everything. They take a trip to their new house and find some strange things. There is a journal filled withed references to people and places they have never heard of, a safe filled strange items and an even stranger key. That key opens a portal to Lentari that they enter without understanding what they are really doing.

Their journey begins as a simple quest to find out how to get home. They learn that everyone in Lentari has a magical power called jhorun. They are then kidnapped to be sold as slaves and must discover their own hidden powers to escape. Next stop is the palace where they meet the kind and queen and find out that they are prophesied protectors of the prince. That is the point where their adventure truly begins...

This is an extremely well written story with great dialogue that had me engaged with the character and even laughing a few times. The pace of the story moves very well with lots of action, but does not sacrifice character development. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good fantasy read at a totally reasonable price. I am looking forward to the second in the series a great deal.

posted by Bookblogger on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun escape

This was a fun escape. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself lost in this book. It's definitely worth reading.

posted by 1570033 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book a lot, i would definitly buy the nest book in the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Interesting concept that holds your attention through the entire book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Nice read

    Fairly well written, it took a few chapters to get into it but once I did it was worth it. Needs a little work on the naturalness of the dialogue and descriptions. I ended up reading the whole thing in one go, so it certainly sucked me in.
    Familiar themes but done in fresh way

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Enjoyable but not life changing

    If you are looking for a good read that will keep you entertained, then you should give this book a try. It is not overly profound, but it is enjoyable and will keep you turning the pages even if it us a little predictable and cheesy. There is a little cussing, but there is no gratuitous sex or sensuality. The relationship between the husband and wife is endearing. I bought the second book. Why not? You like the characters and you want to know what happens to them. That's a pretty decent read in my opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Big book!

    It is a whopping 998 paged book! Since I did not read it I don't know what it is about or if it is good, but I freak at the thought of reading an enormous book like that

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2015

    Wow. I loved this book

    I found these by chance while looking for something new to read. I have now read everything Jeffrey Poole has written and i still want more. So Jeffrey if you every really read this get back to work i loved them all and im waiting for more. I had a very good mental images of all the characters. Plus it left like Steve and Sarah were just like my husband and me.How soon before we get more books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Good read

    This book is very entertaining and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    enchantingly a good read

    enchantingly a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    It was good

    I recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    An enjoyable read

    An enjoyable read...minor distractions from inadequate proofreading. The story was interesting, fast-paced and suitable for all age groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Funread Fun read

    Entertaining book especially for gamers and/or computer geeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Review

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Very entertaining

    I will probably find the rest of the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great Fun Fantasy

    Good story. Enjoyed reading. The story keeps you interested til the end. Looking forward to Book II and Book III.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Easy Fantasy Reading

    This book started out very slow but picked up after the first 200 pages. Great book to read if you want a light something at bedtime. I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Love it

    Good book quick easy read. Bought number 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I would give this book a four

    I haven't read this book yet. But from I have read on the cover it looks to be a great book. The only thing I wish Barnes and Nobel would do is add some other authors like Clive Cussler series, Sherrilyn Kenyon,Richard Castle, Christine Feehan for just a few. All these is the free Nook Book Section.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    great book

    this book kept me going till it was done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Enchanting!

    A bit choppy in parts but I loved it. The plot us fun, great use of humor too. Cant wait to read book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good clean fantasy

    A tale of a husband and wife stranded in another world. They come face to face with many quests whiling trying to find a way to return home. As it turns out there is an ancient prophecy in this land, could they be the ones meant to fullfill it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3