Customer Reviews for

Bakkian Chronicles, Book I - The Prophecy

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Lentari!

The Bakkian Chronicles follow Steve and his wife Sarah as they find out that Steve's grandparents died and they inherit everything. They take a trip to their new house and find some strange things. There is a journal filled withed references to people and places they ha...
The Bakkian Chronicles follow Steve and his wife Sarah as they find out that Steve's grandparents died and they inherit everything. They take a trip to their new house and find some strange things. There is a journal filled withed references to people and places they have never heard of, a safe filled strange items and an even stranger key. That key opens a portal to Lentari that they enter without understanding what they are really doing.

Their journey begins as a simple quest to find out how to get home. They learn that everyone in Lentari has a magical power called jhorun. They are then kidnapped to be sold as slaves and must discover their own hidden powers to escape. Next stop is the palace where they meet the kind and queen and find out that they are prophesied protectors of the prince. That is the point where their adventure truly begins...

This is an extremely well written story with great dialogue that had me engaged with the character and even laughing a few times. The pace of the story moves very well with lots of action, but does not sacrifice character development. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good fantasy read at a totally reasonable price. I am looking forward to the second in the series a great deal.

posted by Bookblogger on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun escape

This was a fun escape. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself lost in this book. It's definitely worth reading.

posted by 1570033 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Welcome to Lentari!

    The Bakkian Chronicles follow Steve and his wife Sarah as they find out that Steve's grandparents died and they inherit everything. They take a trip to their new house and find some strange things. There is a journal filled withed references to people and places they have never heard of, a safe filled strange items and an even stranger key. That key opens a portal to Lentari that they enter without understanding what they are really doing. <br/><br/>Their journey begins as a simple quest to find out how to get home. They learn that everyone in Lentari has a magical power called jhorun. They are then kidnapped to be sold as slaves and must discover their own hidden powers to escape. Next stop is the palace where they meet the kind and queen and find out that they are prophesied protectors of the prince. That is the point where their adventure truly begins... <br/><br/>This is an extremely well written story with great dialogue that had me engaged with the character and even laughing a few times. The pace of the story moves very well with lots of action, but does not sacrifice character development. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good fantasy read at a totally reasonable price. I am looking forward to the second in the series a great deal.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    My Kind of Book!

    What a wonderful book, I would have paid for it and have bought the second book in the series. I will read this author again and again. No graphic sexual scenes and the main characters are so much in love it just makes you feel good.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    I actually loved it!

    I got this book and I did not think it would be as good as it is, it is written in simplistic direct manner, but a really great book.
    And it is very family friendly as well. It kept my interest and was nicely written.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A really great book!

    Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down until I reached the end. It's a great story, and I just love the husband and wife! Their interactions seem so true to life, even in a newly discovered world of magic, that it's easy to get caught up in their story. I couldn't wait to buy book two as soon as I finished this one.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great book!!!

    This book was funny and a great read!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Excellent

    This is one of the most exciting books i have evrr read. I really hope i can find the remaining books. You are an excellent writer.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Fun read.

    Fun fantasy written in an easy to read style.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Excellent beginning

    Surprisingly good for a free book. I have already purchased and finished the 2nd and am awaiting the 3rd

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    awesome fantasy!!

    i loved it! i couldn't put it down.. i felt like i was a character living in this amazing world! can't wait till the second one comes out!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Check it out!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What a great romp! I read it in two nights. Dragons, dwarves, swords and sorcerers abound. After finding a portal to another land in their new home, our husband and wife team find themselves trying to get back home. In the process they encounter a vast array of mythological beings and learn they are the new protectors of the prince.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    something new

    I really enjoyed this book! I've read alot of sci fi and fantasy over the years. The story line was something new...
    I will be getting the second book in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    GREAT!

    Its a wonderful book! May contain a little adult language so i recomend this for 10+ .Not finished with it yet,but its so good so far! Love it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Well writen

    Fans of Terry Brooks will enjoy this well writen story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    A Must Read Fantasy! Well written with lots of action and many &

    A Must Read Fantasy! Well written with lots of action and many &quot;creatures&quot; The story line is captivating &amp; entertaining. One of the best books/series 
    I have read in a long time. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Good stuff

    Well done. Looking forward to the next. But I am on to your little game! Get em hooked with the first book free , then charge just a little for the next fix and even more for the next and before you know it your an addict.
    Glad to have found a new series to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Very Good

    This book was Fantastic! From the action to the story it will keep you entertained. This has just become my favorite book. It has a very well developed plot line and the people in there are very unique. I highly recomed it and will reread it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Outstanding piece of literature, whether your 8 or 38! Couldn't

    Outstanding piece of literature, whether your 8 or 38! Couldn't put it down. Draws you in and doesn't let go. Mr. Poole should be negotiating the movie rights ASAP!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Best ever!

    I love fantasy. That being said, this is one of the finest written novels I've come across! I simply love the characters! Mr. Poole, you are amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Good read!!!

    Enjoyed this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Loved the book from the moment I started to read.

    Loved the book from the moment I started to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6