Customer Reviews for

Bakuman, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Bakuman the greatest

    I have been reading Bakuman since the beginning and it is my favorite manga of all time I recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Sounds Amazing

    I read the first little bit of this in Shonen Jump May 2010 and it already has me addicted and the volume isn't even out yet! From the creators of Death Note, I am positive this piece of work will be amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    This is a very nice manga series, enjoyable and silly. I wish t

    This is a very nice manga series, enjoyable and silly.

    I wish that I could by a digital version of it. But, I cant. I have nook simple touch, and soon a nook simple touch with glowlight.

    The Entire manga, except for the cover is in black and white. So because of this, Im not allowed to buy it for my nook, I have to have a nook tablet or nook color. Guess that leaves me with one option.
    Avast yee mateys. Rrrrrr.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Really Good

    Bakuman is a great series. The first good manga I have read that is not all battle or supernatural and whatnot. At first I had my doubts, but in time it really was worth purchasing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book. must buy for manga readers.

    Don't be fooled by the name. Bakuman is an really good book and has a lot to few twists in it. The author who made death note made this, so this is another great collection to your library. The book really shocked me, and had a good plot to it. It's about two ninth grade boys who want to become manga artists, or mangagas. I reccomend this to people who like realistic stuff, a little of romance, and everything in between. It's a very good book, so don't waste time and go pick it up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Awesome job!

    It's wierd to see a manga like this one. Realistic-fictional manga is really hard to pull off. Thankfully, the Death Note team was able to pull it off nicely. In the way that Death Note was tense and dramatic, this story shows potential for comedy and a little bit of romance. Don't mistake this for a shojo though (even though shojo mangas are fine too), for it is gripping and I can smell a great story in the workds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A really interesting look into the world of manga!

    Pretty much like the headline says. I don't know if the manga is completely accurate, but if it is, I'll never look at a manga in the same way again. Great characters and an interesting plot. A great buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Great!

    There's nothing much to say about this manga but pure greatness! As expected from the creators of Death Note. Everything in this manga are all well developed and the plot line is something completely different from the usual. I mean come on now its a manga about creating a top notch manga, the humor of it all :]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    A manga about manga?

    Seems different than all the other stuff out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    THE BEST

    I'm pumped to get the first Bakuman volume,
    I can't wait till it hits the stores. I've
    already read much of the story online, but I want
    to read it while having the manga right in
    my hands!! ^^ Overall a really great book that
    tells the hardships of life and that dreams can
    really come true if you work your way to them!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Informative

    Tsugumi Ohba did a very good job with informing the public of the realities of manga making.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    And to think...

    To think Tsugumi Ohba, writer of Death Note, would be able to create something like this. God i love this so much. Shows you what goes on in a mangaka's life (minus the love conditions?). Anyway, I love this series to death, shame it's ended, though, but there's still the Anime!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    WOW!

    I love it! I feel in love with Death Note real quick, and this was a way different topic the Death Note. Its about a manga artist and writer! The characters are great you"ll fall in love with them right away Ohba and Obata did a really good job with the story and art. Nicely drawn! Cant wait to read the 2cd book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    I highly recommend this manga series. It is extremely fascinatin

    I highly recommend this manga series. It is extremely fascinating to know some details of the whole publishing industry in Japan and it is very inspiring to follow the story of these two young kids and their desire to become manga artists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There¿re no limits with Manga, you know.  I wasn¿t sure what to

    There’re no limits with Manga, you know. 
    I wasn’t sure what to expect from this series. A manga about kids wanting to make their own manga. I can’t tell, am I already bored? But since this is produced by the same talent that came up with Death Note, I had to give it a chance. I’m glad I did, the enthusiasm of the two main characters is infectious, the artwork is stellar, and the story has way more going on than I would have expected, not to mention lots of interesting asides, familiar to fans of Death Note. I don’t know how long Obata and Ohba have been working together, but their chemistry is perfect and I hope they have a long future together. Wait a sec., there are twenty of these? That’s going to get expensive, where are my Omnibus black editions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2