Customer Reviews for

Ball Don't Lie (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

spanish project

This was a great book. The best part about it is the plot. Its one of those suspenceful books that just makes you want to keep reading and reading and you dont want to stop but eventually you have to. This book is also aspecially good if you like anything about basketba...
This was a great book. The best part about it is the plot. Its one of those suspenceful books that just makes you want to keep reading and reading and you dont want to stop but eventually you have to. This book is also aspecially good if you like anything about basketball because its a basketball book. You honestly dont even need to like basketball to read this book, if your in to reading about children that have a rough life at home and about how life is actually on the streets this is a great selection for you. This book is about this kid named Sticky just your average normal kid in the wrong part of the neighborhood. The bad part is...thats his home, the neighborhood. he has no where to call HOME,he gets abussed by a group of pimps everyday and he's a foster kid with a prostitute mother so he basically just keeps bouncing from one fostor family to the next because he cant fine anything secure...he doesnt have the greatest life in the world. Beside from that this kid can ball, hes a really good baller and that could be the solution to him getting out of the neighborhood. Might I mention that he is in an all black community and he is definatly showin them up. He is the only white kid in his community so is the outcast. But the fact was he was able to ball with these kids and he was good. The problem with him not getting reconized by people is because of the neighborhood he lives in and the community. No one wants to go out to that area to look for basketball players because their afraid. I definatly recomend this book to everyone...especially people that like to read about that sort of stuff. Maybe that one day will come for Stick and he'll be able to get out, read the book to find out!

posted by 10253726 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book- could npy put it down

This book Ball dont lie was a great book. I loved this book and could not put it down because it was about the sport I play. It is not for younger children. I'd suggest it for middle schoolers that like action and sport. this is a realistic fiction book. The characters ...
This book Ball dont lie was a great book. I loved this book and could not put it down because it was about the sport I play. It is not for younger children. I'd suggest it for middle schoolers that like action and sport. this is a realistic fiction book. The characters come to life in the inner cities and all they do is play basketball.

posted by 10756724 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great book- could npy put it down

    This book Ball dont lie was a great book. I loved this book and could not put it down because it was about the sport I play. It is not for younger children. I'd suggest it for middle schoolers that like action and sport. this is a realistic fiction book. The characters come to life in the inner cities and all they do is play basketball.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    spanish project

    This was a great book. The best part about it is the plot. Its one of those suspenceful books that just makes you want to keep reading and reading and you dont want to stop but eventually you have to. This book is also aspecially good if you like anything about basketball because its a basketball book. You honestly dont even need to like basketball to read this book, if your in to reading about children that have a rough life at home and about how life is actually on the streets this is a great selection for you. This book is about this kid named Sticky just your average normal kid in the wrong part of the neighborhood. The bad part is...thats his home, the neighborhood. he has no where to call HOME,he gets abussed by a group of pimps everyday and he's a foster kid with a prostitute mother so he basically just keeps bouncing from one fostor family to the next because he cant fine anything secure...he doesnt have the greatest life in the world. Beside from that this kid can ball, hes a really good baller and that could be the solution to him getting out of the neighborhood. Might I mention that he is in an all black community and he is definatly showin them up. He is the only white kid in his community so is the outcast. But the fact was he was able to ball with these kids and he was good. The problem with him not getting reconized by people is because of the neighborhood he lives in and the community. No one wants to go out to that area to look for basketball players because their afraid. I definatly recomend this book to everyone...especially people that like to read about that sort of stuff. Maybe that one day will come for Stick and he'll be able to get out, read the book to find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    The book Ball Don't Lie by Mat t de la Pena, published by Random

    The book Ball Don't Lie by Mat t de la Pena, published by Random House Children's Books in 2005, seems like it takes place present day. It was a very unique and realistic book, even for it being fiction. A lot of teens can relate to the main character, Sticky, also known as Travis Reichard. He was a young kid, hopping around from one foster home to another throughout the area of Santa Monica, California. Always quiet and keeping to himself.  As many children, teens, and even adults, he had a big dream. He wanted nothing more than to make it big in the NBA, basket ball was his life. 
    Sticky grew up with a mother who was in the prostitution business and her boyfriend who was abusive. Money was always tough for them, so Sitcky's mother would stick him on a busy street in dirty clothes with sign, begging for change. One day, when Stick was out with his bowl for change, he would sit there and take the change out. Toss it back in. Take it out, and repeat until it sounded right. He ended up being OCD, but that wasn't necessarily a bad thing. Growing up, he focused a lot on basket ball. It was his life, his world revolved around it, "Cause it's all I got in my life, you know? Playin ball. It's all I got in the whole world." (pg.69) Having obsession compulsion disorder, only made him better at the came because he spent so much time perfecting every play he made. There was more to the story besides the game, there was love too. It was a really special thing that him and his girl, Annie (Anh-thu) had together. It was an instant connection, it's not everyday you walk into a store to steal some pants, and instead walk out with someone holding your heart. She supported him 100%, attending all his games, even the play-off's. Everyday, Sticky's life was changing and he was growing, and so was his game. The pick-up games he played in at the Lincoln Rec court with the older guys for fun, just built him up more. He believed the God was going to get him into the NBA, it was his plan for him. He believed it too. 
    This book taught me a lot, it showed me that no matter what kind of life style you come from, or how bad your past is, as long as you stay focused and have the drive to go for your dream you have a chance. Sometimes, something good can come out of something bad. You just have to be open minded and not dwell on things that will only bring you down. Focus on what your good at and what makes you happy, that's how you get by in life, just like Sticky did. He did what he knew best and what made him happy. All in all, it was a nice book. I'm not really into third person writing, and it confused me at times when it jumps from the past to the present, but it was very good. I would recommend this book to anyone with a love of basket ball or even any sport, or someone who's going through a similar process Sticky did. Moving around from place to place, never having the money, things that a lot of teens go through having a hard life. There's always hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Whats good

    Sup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Boring, Dull, and thoughtless

    When starting this book, I was very interested in the story of Sticky and the other ballers at the Lincoln Rec. Excited to read the hardships and deep stories, I dove into the book with high. It didn’t keep my attention, seemed predictable and was not as interesting as I had thought. The plot also seemed like it had been written before. Sticky seemed almost predictable at times. With all of his problems, none of them seemed real and the story just couldn’t draw me in. Characters seemed only paper deep and couldn’t create a picture in my head of who they were and how they acted. Maybe it was my lack of sympathy or just the story went over my head, but when I read, the story couldn’t pull me in. I would honestly only recommend this book to children under 15. Any age over that, nobody would enjoy the fake storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    really good..too bad the movie is hard to find

    i like the book alot since it from the period of the early 2000s and the setting is in california my home state....

    the story itsef is easy follow none of that looking up the dictionary for every word....highly reccomended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Ball Don't Lie true or false

    If you are the type of person that like to see the development of plot, the advancement of the lives of many people, ports, and drama, then you'll love Ball Don't Lie. The book's first few chapters give a very thorough description of the characters' lives. The description is so thorough, that you will feel as though you've lived that life yourself. The title stood out to me and drew my attention by the fact that I love basketball, and I automatically knew it was about basketball. Anyone can relate to the events that takes place in the book. No matter if they were sad, happy, frightening or even fear, you can relate, or even feel the emotion. The book doesn't perplex you, and has a great significant message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Student Review

    An interesting story of a boy dedicated to the sport of basketball. His tough life in the inner-city helps him understand that he doesn't need to be like everyone else. Especially when it comes to basketball. The author's details about the basketball games make you feel like you're actually playing the game. The story started slowly but once it got into the games it became more interesting to read. If you like basketball, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    I think you'll like it

    If you like basketball I think you would love this book.Everthing is written almost perfect the way he gives complete detail of the main characters and the game of basketball he really helps you get into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Mr. de la Pena's an awesome story-teller in person. He's captivating, relateable, and knows how to make you laugh. And between the covers, on the sheets, he is, if possible, even better. His style is fresh, different, personal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Mr. De La Pena was once my english/writing teacher, and when he recommended this book to me, I read it from cover to back hundreds of times and I still like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    GREATEST BOOK EVER

    I know Matt as a teacher for me and his book is giving a look inside the real world.Thinks like that can come true and he captured that story and made it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1