Customer Reviews for

A Ball for Daisy

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    An absolutely beautiful story! Chris Raschka touches your heart

    An absolutely beautiful story! Chris Raschka touches your heart without needing a single word. I am 23 years old and both my mother and I (who have a dog named Daisy) cried "reading" this book. It's a simple story full of emotion that will capture you from page one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Dumb book

    My kid threw the nook.
    Im so mad.
    Waste of money

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No words

    Beautiful illustrations but no words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hi

    I have an auto graphed copy he came to my class and talked about how he makes books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Though Chris Raschka does not use any words in this story, the i

    Though Chris Raschka does not use any words in this story, the illustrations bring the story to life. The colors and expressions in the illustrations bring the book to life. I think the story of Daisy and her ball is very touching for all ages. Everyone has something that they love and would never want to lose and "A Ball For Daisy" really brings those feeling to the surface. "A Ball For Daisy" is a touching book that can be used in classrooms and at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A BALL FOR DAISY, is a hardbound wordless book. From the illustr

    A BALL FOR DAISY, is a hardbound wordless book. From the illustrations the story is that of a dog who loves his ball, loses his ball and gains a new friend.

    I sat down with my 5 and 3 year old and really wasn't sure what to expect. I can't say I've ever bought a book without words, I sure didn't expect much to be honest with you. Wow was I wrong! Both kids LOVED this book! With each picture they started telling me the story they say on the pages (and yes most of the time telling me at the same time, lol). Not only were they extra animated, but we easily discussed "feelings of losing a toy" and "how do we behave when someone accidentally breaks something of ours." Not only did they both enjoy it, but my three year old has been dragging it around the house so she can "read" it by herself!

    This would make a fantastic Christmas gift for your pre-readers! Definite recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I think that this book was an enjoyable book. Its illustrations

    I think that this book was an enjoyable book. Its illustrations capture you and take you in to feel every emotion throughout the book. This would be a good book in the classroom to help children understand emotions and also how you can feel the emotions from illustrations in a book. This can also teach children about breaking toys or breaking other peoples toys and how they will feel about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    When I purchased A Ball for Daisy, I initially thought it was a

    When I purchased A Ball for Daisy, I initially thought it was a book aimed only at young children, I was thinking prekindergarten to kindergarten age kids. I was quickly proven wrong when my 7 year old daughter (2nd grader) was highly intrigued by this wordless book.

    What I really loved about this wordless book is the layers of different emotions Raschka creates, they’re incredible. The story line is simple, a little puppy loses but soon after, reclaims her favorite toy. This book would be great for teaching young children different types emotions and for what reasons those emotions occur, but also, it would be great for allowing older students to create their own words to go with the pictures and develop individual thoughts on what would make a great story line. Over all, this is a fun little story to share with family or children in a classroom and to simply just help in evoking a love for all different kinds of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Supurb

    Excellent tale of a pup and her ball. Though wordless, it teaches kids about love, loss, and recovery. Beautifully illustrated. A small masterpiece with a large heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1