Customer Reviews for

Ballad of Lucy Whipple

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    A Boring, Educational Book

    This is one of the worse book I've ever read. Never read this book. It's boring, and has no fun in it at all. Worst of all, it's not absorbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Wasn't the best, wasn't the worst

    It was very informative and interesting, but not my favorite that I've read about this time period. For those of you who like history, a really good and interesting series is the Dear America books. (Yes, they are available on nook) They are written in diary format, so it's similar to this book, but more interesting. And they have books on just about every time period. I would like to read Karen Cushman's other books, though, to give her another chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Jocelyn

    This book is great and exciting but this is not a book you can feel excited about the second time you read it. This was okay but you should just read it at the library. I bought it and found out it was a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great so far

    Its a great book for learning about the california gold rush

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great

    Awesome book worth the money! Get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    California Morning Whipple or Lucy Whipple?

    California Morning Whipple¿s life has been completely flipped. Her father and sister died just recently and now she has to take the Oregon Trail all the way to California. The trip there is just fine it¿s just what happens when she arrives in California. California decides to change her name because she couldn¿t have her name be the name of a place that she hated. She starts the pick names out of books she had read and finally decided on Lucy. She has many adventures and great times in California even though she had hated it on the Trail. The Ballad of Lucy Whipple is a book filled with hardships and fun, a great read for all ages who want to learn about the Oregon Trail. Things out west are nothing compared to what everyone had been saying. Many people had believed that the gold would be everywhere on the ground for someone to pick up and become rich, but that wasn¿t true at all. People had been told that the landscape would be beautiful, but that was a lie, it was horrible! Sometimes there wasn¿t enough food and people had to live in puny tents until they could build real houses. Lucy¿s mother runs a boarding house to anybody who needs a place to stay, if they had $18.20. Mainly, miners would come to get a bed after a really long days work and would pay there share in gold dust. Lucy¿s friend, Joe, whom she later called Bernard Freeman, came to rent a bed but Lucy¿s mother wouldn¿t let him stay until he had the money. At first, the boarding house was a couple of tents, but later it turned it a very nice wooden building with a lot more room for people. In California, lots of things are different for Lucy, but mostly it was the friends that she made. One day while she was supposed to be picking berries, she was reading and couldn¿t stop, when she did she looked over and the buckets were already filled with berries, that¿s how she came to meet Joe, an escaped slave who Lucy later called Bernard Freeman. Lizzie Flagg, a daughter of Linus Flagg who is one of the meanest men ever, is another person who meets Lucy and instantly becomes friends with her. The Flaggs aren¿t the typical family, who live in a house and are civilized, but the live outside in a tent and eat from the land they are usually seen as wild animals. Good things happened in California, but bad things happened as well. Butte, Lucy¿s brother, died of a sickness, and a fire roared through Lucky Diggins and destroyed everything. This book is perfect for learning about how hard it was for everybody living in California or moving to California by the Oregon Trail to search for gold and maybe, just maybe become rich. E.Gray

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Not as Good as Catherine Called Birdy and The Midwife's Aprentice

    I love the author of this book, Karen Cushman. I greatly enjoyed her other two books, Catherine Called Birdy (my favorite book), and The Midwife's Apprentice. But I found Ballad of Lucy Whipple to be rather boring and dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    LUCY WHIPPLE THE GREAT!!!

    Lucy Whipple was such an extroidanary book!! It made me feel like I was in the California Gold mines!! Lucy Brought out everything from the book in very descriptive detail! I reccomend this book to anyone that loves to read, yet in the beginning of this book is a bit slow the middle and ending totaly makes up for it.. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    Enjoyable Book for all!

    I thought the book, Lucy Whipple, was probably one of the best books I have ever read because it was funny and the moral of the story was pretty good. What I liked in the story was that it would lure you and would make you read it more and more until you finish the book. Lucy Whipple's letters that she wrote to her gramma and grampops made the story more captivating and fun. Her letters made the book more interesting to read because she tells about the events and her opinions are expressed as well. What costed the book one star was that the beginning of the book was a bit dull and less captivating to a reader. I think if the author had more interesting events that happened, that it would be better. Even though the beginning wasn't very good, when I was reaching the end of one chapter, I had to read yet another one until I had finished the book and I did at one time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1