Customer Reviews for

The Ballet Companion: A Dancer's Guide to the Technique, Traditions, and Joys of Ballet

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    E

    Ive only read the sample, but so far its already really helpfu!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Amanda!

    This book helped so much! It gave me so much information and I take it with me to all classes!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Great shoes, great book!! ^_^

    This book should be on every dancers shelf! It has really helped me gain artistic and historical knowledge in dance. The pictures are delightful and the text is put together in and easy to follow fun, colorful format. This is a must have book for dancers, dance teachers, dance historians, dance lovers, or for people who are curious about the dance world. Eliza Gaynor Minden wowed me with her amazing pointe shoes and dance products, now she has amazed me with this amazing book:)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    BEST BALLET BOOK EVER!

    Despite the cost, this book is fantastic. I started ballet when I was 2 years old and i quit for a few years, but now I tok it up again and was very interested in learning lots about it. This book has such great pictures and really great advice. I found the health section very helpful to me, partially because I am recovering from an eating disorder. 100 beautiful pirouettes out of 100.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Fantastic!

    This book is filled with information, wonderful and beautiful pictures, small biographies, and short bits of history. I would advise EVERYONE to buy this book. It is fantastic!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Read

    Im a dancer of seven years and on pointe. Im auditioning for the colorado youth ballet in a few days

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Ballet

    Hey people! I take ballet and I am going to preform tomarrow! Any words of advice?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Ballet

    This is a great book! It gives tlyou lot's of tips and advice for every ballet dancer. If you are a dancer or just love ballet this is the perfect book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Read this review!

    This book is amazing for the ballet student and the professional ballet dancer alike. I am a stuudent and i cannot wait to apply these new found techniques into my ballet lases and taking the necessary preventations to prevent career ending injuries. This will also hopefully help me in my future career. There is al tidbits of ballet history, which is nice cause you get to know ballet on another ful level

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Katie to ballerinatoes101

    I go to briarwood ballet i havent done ballet for 5 days and im dieing to do it again i know that sounds weird but its weird not doing ballet i just ce back from a missions camp with my church

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    So helpful!

    This was so helpful to me, i leared so much about ballet and it helped me a lot in balllet class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Capezio Glisse Pointe Shoes

    Hey has anyone had Capezio Glisse pointe shoes? I'm getting them in the fall? It's my first year en pointe. btw im 12 Thanks!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Simply amazing

    This book is the perfect book for an aspiring ballet dancer like myself. This book not only gives you the name of every turn, jump, and leap, but also explains their movement and tips in great detail. This book also includes how to find the perfect pointe shoe for your foot, feet types, health as a dance and much, much more. I was very happy to see that under the health for dancers section it explained about eating disorders, and how you as a person and as a dancer could be ruined by eating disorders. Must see ballets and history of ballet is also included. To die for!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great coming from a ballerina

    I am a ballet dancer, and this book has improved my technique 100%. I would highly recommend this to antone who seriously dances! It has improved my center of gravity, which makes my tuns and such better. Out of 100 turns, 100 of them were perfect quads. Before I could barely do a triple.....on FLAT. I can noe do a QUAD en' pointe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Francesca

    What an outstanding book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2014

    I'm giving The Ballet Companion a 15/16. It helped me a lot and

    I'm giving The Ballet Companion a 15/16. It helped me a lot and was full of details about ballet. I enjoyed how it talked about what you should expect at a tryout or competition. I highly recommend this book, it was very fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    What is the diet?

    Whats the diet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Sample

    I am ten yrs old and going on pointe pretty soon i hav only read the sample and it was helpful get the sample first before buying the whole thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Ballerinatoes101

    Hey guys! I've been dancing my whole life so if you have any questions just ask! :) I'm on a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2