Customer Reviews for

Ballet For Dummies

Average Rating 2.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    So Far

    I am reading this book and so far it really does not sound like it is written by someone who does Ballet. The section on placement is kind of lacking. It also uses the Cechetti method which is outdated.

    I dance six days a week and I have been dancing for about four years. I am half way through my third year en pointe. I am not saying this to be boastful. I just want whoever reads this to know I am not just some nut using ballet language.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Ok

    This book does not teach technique but it does tell a dumb person the difference between bending your knees and straightening them all the way. Heres a tip if you want to start dance than go to a class with a teacher. Oh and this book will not teach you how to do a split.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    This is so stupid and outdated

    I am ten years old and have been dancing ballet since I was two years old. I am in all advanced and master classes and some are taught by the woman who started Vegh Baller

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    This is soooooooo REDICULIS

    Take it from a professional ballet dancer. You could never,EVER try to do ballet from a book! I have danced 19 years and still counting (starting at age two). We were warned from the very beginning that you can't trust books. I an ¿npointe, and I have performed in hundreds of premieres. Anyway, I do not recommend this book, unless you are like me and just want to get a kick out of it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Not worth it

    I am 13 years old and i have been dancing for 11 years this book does not improve your technique it was a nice thought but you cant read ballet

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    A really good book

    Best book if u love dance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Hello

    Anyone want 2 chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    TO ALL

    YOU CAN'T LEARN BALLET FROM A BOOK! TRUST ME! IF YOU WANT TO DO BALLET GO TO A PROFESSIONAL BALLET COMPANY OR SCHOOL. TRUST ME. I'm a principle dancer at the New York City Ballet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    E

    If you are interested in ballet, go find a professional dance school. You can't learn ballet from a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    To Jackie

    Hi i like ti dance too!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No go. By Jackie McFaye

    Im Jackie and i have been dancing for 10 years. This book is not helpful on improving your technique. Do not waste your money please. I consider this to be a no go. Im 13 years od by the way. Thanks guys! Well ive got to go to ballet class! Good bye!
    -Jackie McFaye prima ballerina ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Not very helpful. At all.

    Do not try to do ballet after reading this book only. You WILL end up injuring yourself and never be able to do real ballet the same wat again. Even peiple that are dancers and have been for years do not try to strengthen your technique with this book alone. I attend a prestigeous ballet cconservatory and have been in the corps for five years. I have done ballet since i was two and i am now 25. I have toure in five couuntries and i have ben in over 100 ballets as guest artist or lead and solo. I know wht i am talikng about. Do not expect to learn proper classical ballet th this book. Pleas go find a suitable teacher at a good ballet school and you will be doing yourself a favor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Question

    Does this use terminology....does it improve your technique at all?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    GREAT<3

    I loveed itt :DD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Answer plz

    Does this have definitions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Not really

    I dance ballet and it is hard 2 start from a book and its not like real ballet!!!!! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1