Customer Reviews for

The Band that Played On: The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down with the Titanic

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Band That Played On

'The Band That Played On' by Steve Turner is the story of the eight musicians who stayed back aboard the Titanic playing till the very end on her ill fated maiden voyage. The concept that makes this book stand out is the story behind how the band members came together "...
'The Band That Played On' by Steve Turner is the story of the eight musicians who stayed back aboard the Titanic playing till the very end on her ill fated maiden voyage. The concept that makes this book stand out is the story behind how the band members came together "and how their music served as the haunting sound track for one of modern history's most tragic maritime disasters".

I read this book at one go and I must say that the research work done in writing it was phenomenal. Not only are the musicians dealt with in depth, about their past and achievements but also the theories about the sinking of the Titanic are discussed and various angles explored. In addition to the writing, there are numerous photos and sketches to hold one's attention.

This is a great book for all ages and inspires us with the hope that we can all be heroes.

posted by Chhaya on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

inspiring history...

The story of the ship Titanic has fascinated a lot of people throughout the years. This is, however, the first time that a book has actually attempted to focus the attention on the band that played on and chose to die with the great ship rather than save their lives. Th...
The story of the ship Titanic has fascinated a lot of people throughout the years. This is, however, the first time that a book has actually attempted to focus the attention on the band that played on and chose to die with the great ship rather than save their lives. Their lives and what they stood for in that ship has truly been an inspiration for many years and for many people. Steve Turner has done a wonderful job of giving today's generation a chance to know more about this band and the values that their sacrifice upholds.

There are times I felt like the story was meandering too much off course. But all those information that seemed excessive at first proved to be useful in better understanding the personality of each of the members of the band who hoped to inspire calm and courage in the passenger's lives even at the expense of their own. It also showed how these men's death has affected their families as well as the whole world's view of many things, including its own core values. A fascinating, informative read, that could use a little nitpicky editing, but has truly told the gist of the inspiring tale of these men who died fulfilling every musician's dream of inspiring the world with their music.

posted by meowth2011 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    The Band That Played On

    'The Band That Played On' by Steve Turner is the story of the eight musicians who stayed back aboard the Titanic playing till the very end on her ill fated maiden voyage. The concept that makes this book stand out is the story behind how the band members came together "and how their music served as the haunting sound track for one of modern history's most tragic maritime disasters".

    I read this book at one go and I must say that the research work done in writing it was phenomenal. Not only are the musicians dealt with in depth, about their past and achievements but also the theories about the sinking of the Titanic are discussed and various angles explored. In addition to the writing, there are numerous photos and sketches to hold one's attention.

    This is a great book for all ages and inspires us with the hope that we can all be heroes.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Interesting

    I have read a lot about the Titanic but this is the first book that I've read devoted to the musicians. W. Hartley, C. Krins, R. Bricoux, W.T. Brailey, J. Woodward, J.F. Clarke, J.L. Hume, P.C. Taylor I learned some things that shocked me. Families actually had to pay to get their family member back. If they were lucky enough to be found and identified! Families had to pay for embalming and transportation of the body home. Since the Titanic did not finish it's voyage, full pay was not sent, deductions were made for the remaining days. This is sickening. We learn about each member if the band, their background, the way they wound up onboard and where their families are today. Did they play voluntarily or was it under the order of their band leader or the captain? That is a question that will never be answered. Did they really play Nearer My God to thee as so many reported? My question.....does it really matter? Tor me, regardless of the what's and whys, these men gave their lives while trying to help others. Their playing of music no matter what kind or what songs, helped people to feel calmer in the midst of chaos. They, like the captain,went down with the ship. Only three of their bodies were recovered. They are heros. I especially liked the photos. They tell their own story about the people and places in them. The book was well researched and includes lots of interesting trivia. Recommended for any one who has an interest in the Titanic.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The book that tells another side of the Titanic story.

    The Band that Played On
    The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down with the Titanic
    By Steve Turner
    Published by Thomas Nelson

    Like so many other people, I have always been fascinated by the tragic and doomed first voyage of the magnificent Titanic. So much has been written about the survivors, the conditions on board the ship and the amazing rediscovery of the wreck at the bottom of the Atlantic. Then came James Cameron's epic film, with the evocative scene of the band, heroically playing to try to keep the passengers and crew calm , before the ship finally sank with such dreadful loss of life.

    But are any of these names familiar ?
    Wallace Hartley
    Roger Bricoux
    William "Theo" Brailey
    John Wesley Woodward
    Percy Cornelius Taylor
    Fred Clarke
    Georges Krins
    Jock Hume


    These were the band members who provided music on board the ship throughout the voyage.
    They came from a variety of backgrounds and educations; two were French, but all were united in their love of music and a certain longing for travel, excitement and adventure.
    For the first time, the story of these men, their lives, families, work and music has been told. This truly fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable book tells us about these men, and how their loved ones reacted to the news of their deaths, and what happened to them afterwards.


    BookSneeze® provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    The Band That Played On

    Everyone knows the story of the Titanic sinking. The tale has been told in several movies and countless books. However, there is one aspect of the story that has not been told, that of the musicians who chose to play as the ship sank.

    The book starts out recounting the tale of that fateful night that the ship sank. There were a few details in there that I hadn't known about. I guess that was because most of what I knew was from the movies.

    For instance, did you know that the reason for the media black out was not because they were afraid for public panic. It was because The New York Times had struck a deal with Mr. Marconi in order to get an inside scoop. This media black out even prevented President Taft from finding out if his military aide, Major Archibald Butt, had even survived.

    However, the most interesting part was learning about the humble beginnings of these men. Before reading this book, I had no clue that it was actually two different bands that had ended up playing together on that fateful day. The ship had commissioned two bands. One band had five musicians and the other band had three. So there were a total of eight musicians.

    There were interconnections between the eight musicians, but before that night, they had never all come together to play as a group.

    I found out that one of them actually lived not too far from my great grandfather in Burnley, England. I doubt that they would have known each other since they were from different backgrounds. But it was just interesting to read about a life and time from when some of my family were.

    This book was extremely riveting. Those men's lives were ripped away from them when they were just starting to really live them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    inspiring history...

    The story of the ship Titanic has fascinated a lot of people throughout the years. This is, however, the first time that a book has actually attempted to focus the attention on the band that played on and chose to die with the great ship rather than save their lives. Their lives and what they stood for in that ship has truly been an inspiration for many years and for many people. Steve Turner has done a wonderful job of giving today's generation a chance to know more about this band and the values that their sacrifice upholds.

    There are times I felt like the story was meandering too much off course. But all those information that seemed excessive at first proved to be useful in better understanding the personality of each of the members of the band who hoped to inspire calm and courage in the passenger's lives even at the expense of their own. It also showed how these men's death has affected their families as well as the whole world's view of many things, including its own core values. A fascinating, informative read, that could use a little nitpicky editing, but has truly told the gist of the inspiring tale of these men who died fulfilling every musician's dream of inspiring the world with their music.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Good Book

    "The Band That Played On" is a non-fiction book about the eight musicians who nobly continued playing as the Titanic sank in 1912. This book takes you deeper than just the fact that eight musicians gave up their lives with dignity-you learn more about who they were before the Titanic, and perhaps who they had hoped to become.




    The research that was done for this book is, to me, incredible. I loved hearing about how the Titanic's band members were chosen-the story before the story. Although this book was a little slow going for my taste, I did enjoy all of the history that covered every page. The photographs were amazing and scattered everywhere throughout the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a love for history. Steve Turner did a great job painting a clearer and more accurate picture of what exactly those eight courageous men did on April 15, 1912.




    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Mysteries Revealed

    Steve Turner, author of many other music related books like The Man Called Cash and Amazing Grace, explores the little information known about the eight musicians in his book The Band That Played On: The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down with the Titanic. Accompanying each man's story are the interwoven details of the Titanic, forming a lovely biographical and historical tale that is sure to touch the hearts of readers.


    Author Steve Turner does a wonderful job of chronologically organizing events in the lives of the musicians - Wallace Hartley, John Wesley Woodward, Percy Cornelius Taylor, Georges Krins, Roger Bricoux, Fred Clark, William Brailey and John Law Hume - while adding necessary and interesting details about the time in which they lived. I especially enjoyed the black and white photos, included in each chapter, of newspaper headlines, musicians's head shots, and buildings that added to the reality of the story.


    Turner also gives readers interesting information about the aftermath of the sinking, like how the families were affected and what steps were taken to officially honor the musicians. I especially enjoyed the last chapter, "'I Should Cling to My Old Violin,'" which takes a look at the mystery behind Wallace Hartley's violin, which was said to be recovered along with his body but never mentioned again in the public scene or in any family records . . . until a few years ago. It seems a perfect ending to a book that unveils so much of the mystery of the musicians's lives. The mystery of the Titanic lives on.

    Because this is a historical non-fiction book, it is easy at times to feel bogged down in the immense details, but the overall story is well worth it. Of course I'm not likely to remember the date that so-and-so had his first real musician's gig, but I will remember the overwhelming assurance that even the lowly, the ordinary, and the unknown can impact an entire ship and even an entire world. And that is why I love this book so much. If ever there were a book that spoke so much of the ability of ordinary people to do something extraordinary, The Band That Played On is it. May the eight musicians who played on the Titanic never be forgotten.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    A new chapter on the Titanic Story.....

    Many people know about the historic event of the Titanic sinking into the ocean. Many have seen the movie with Leo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet. Much has been written about the captain and the various notable passengers. But what about the band? Steve Turner sheds light on an often missed group when people talk or think about the Titanic disaster.

    The Band that Played On: The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down with the Titanic is exactly that - an extraordinary story. Although they had already retired for the evening, when most of the First Class passengers had taken to their lifeboats, the musicians simply moved to the deck and continued to play, calming the passengers as the ship sank. There are various accounts as to what the last song they last played was.some say "L'Automme" and some said "Nearer My God To Thee." Whichever the song, their actions were extraordinary. They could have made attempts at survival, aiming for the lifeboats but instead they stayed and played, offering what comfort they could with their music. But who were these men? What was their legacy? Steve Turner's book sheds light on their incredible story.

    This book, while biographical in nature, tells a very touching story; inspires the reader to look beyond themselves and to consider the needs of others. Definitely good to read when you need your spirits lifted. It's a feel-good read and a book that I will definitely turn back to down the road. This book is highly recommended for book clubs or personal reflection. Would also make a great gift.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Book Review: The Band That Played On

    This year marks the 100th Anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. Thousands of pages have been written about the tragedy from almost every angle possible. However, Steve Turner has taken a different angle in his book, The Band That Played On: The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down on the Titanic. He uncovers in great detail the lives of these eight men who, as one survivor revealed, played Nearer, My God, To Thee as they went down with the ship.

    Turner begins with the fateful evening April 14, 1912, and sets the scene of these extraordinary band members. The remainder of the book is focused upon the biographical background of each of the musicians. Not only their history but for the book's purpose, how they came to be a part of the band aboard the Titanic.

    I found the biographical detail to be a little much for my attention span. The research is very thorough but not as captivating as I anticipated. In the end, it is an intriguing read for someone interested in a biographical history.

    I give this book a 2.5 out of 5.



    ________________

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Bravery

    The story is awsome with a dash of AMazIn

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Experience History Through The Lives Of Eight Brave Men

    Steve Turner in his new book, "The Band That Played On" published by Thomas Nelson writes about the eight men that comprised the music on the maiden voyage of the Titanic.

    On April 14, 1912 the R.M.S. Titanic struck an iceberg at 11:45p.m., was severely damaged and began to take on water. At 2:20 on the morning of April 15th the Titanic sank into the Atlantic taking 1,517 of her passengers with her. Many books and movies have been made about this doomed luxury liner some had named the ship that could not sink. Historian, biographer and music journalist Steve Turner has written a book that does not focus on the rivets and bolts of the ship but on the eight men that made up the ship's band. With great skill he brings to life the band member's individual stories and their final act of bravery that people still talk about today.

    One hundred years ago, in May, 1911, the Titanic was launched and she had her maiden voyage in April of 1912. On board were eight fine musicians led by Wallace Hartley who comprised "that glorious band" who, while the ship was sinking, continued to play right up to the very end. "The Band That Played On" is an intimate look at each of these mens lives and the journey to the ship that ended them.

    Each man knew the power of their music and each man knew the terror of the passengers as Titanic sank. So all eight men put their personal safety aside and played so that those that survived in the lifeboats could hear their music while they sat in the cold darkness of the Atlantic and those that were left behind could have some music that would help to bring them some peace. The story was told by the survivors that the last song this band played before the Titanic sank into the ocean was the hymn, "Nearer My God To Thee". The book does not end when this ship sinks as there is more to the lives of these men after this tragedy. Whether or not you are a Titanic follower this book will captivate you. Steve Turner has done an excellent job of bringing us back in time to relive this moment of history through the lives of these eight men. I recommend this book highly.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    I find it fitting that today is April 14, 2011 and exactly 99 years ago today the Titanic was hit by and iceberg. This is also the day that I submit my review for the book The Band Played On by Steve Turner and published by Thomas Nelson (who gave me a free copy of the book in exchange for a honest review).
    I remember seeing the movie the Titanic when it came out in the later part of the 1990's I remember think about the part when the band stayed on the ship and played the hymn Nearer my God to Thee. It is a beautiful hymn and one that I enjoy very much. But I thought all of that was just Hollywood making a movie dramatic and good. I never thought that they truly happened that that there was such a great story behind each of those band members.
    This book is well written and very well reached. I enjoyed reading this book. I did however feel it a little slow getting into but that last part of the book it very well done. If you are a history buff like me then you should really pick up this book. You will enjoy it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    The Band That Played On

    I enjoy reading book that are inspired by true stories. One such story that has had much written about it is the sinking of the RMS Titanic on April 15, 1912 as a result of striking an iceberg on her maiden voyage from Southampton, England to New York City. There have been many different approaches taken in telling this story. A new and refreshing approach to this maritime disaster comes from author Steve Turner in his new book, The Band That Played On, The Extraordinary Story of the 8 Musicians Who Went Down with the Titanic. In his work, Turner investigates and chronicles the stories of the eight men that had played aboard the Titanic and the personal journeys that had brought each of them to that ill-fated voyage. Turner has done a superb job of telling the story of these eight men without going into detail about the tragedy itself, only sharing what is necessary to tie the story together. He explores each of the band member's early lives, education, musical passion, and reasons for boarding the Titanic (ranging from the adventure, to the financial support of family, to the challenge of new experiences in their chose field. Prior to boarding the Titanic, these men had experienced limited popularity. Three of them had never been aboard ship, while the other five had moved quite a bit from ship to ship under contract. At the heart of the book is the account of a number of the band members who made their way to the deck after the Titanic struck the iceberg. The band played on while the ship sank, hoping in some way to calm the passengers in spite of the chaos around them. They remained at their post until the very end with their final musical piece being the hymn "Nearer, My God to Thee". Much of the information in this book is newly discovered and will be a great find for history and Titanic enthusiasts. "The Band That Played On" is well written, inspirational, and does great justice to the music profession. It serves as a story of bravery, passion, and compassion. I highly recommend it. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Boring!!!

    Very well researched but the information was delivered in the most boring fashion. Took forever to read because I never could get excited to pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Informative but dry

    I would only recommend this one if you are a real history buff. its just facts and dates

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent:

    enjoyable story, found out things that I had not read in other Titanic books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Surprisingly riveting.

    I say surprisingly only because, while I am passionate about anything Titanic related, I wasn't sure if a book about early 20th century musicians would be particularly interesting. I read it anyway, because I'll read anything having anything to do with the Titanic. I was very pleasantly surprised. Turner manages to make a series of human interest stories, well, interesting. He reveals the humanity and the personal lives of these men that died doing their duty. Who they loved, who loved them, why they did what they did. I got sucked in. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Excellent Story

    We all know the story, but this book gives us information that we did not know before. Well worth it if you enjoy the learning about Titanic history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Interesting

    The author obviously did much research to find details about the musicians on the Titanic. I found the book interesting, but at times it reads a bit like a research paper rather than a gripping story of the musicians' lives. Some chapters are great reading, while others contain so many names that I was having trouble remembering who was who when the names appeared again. If you are interested in the Titanic tragedy, then you would enjoy this book which approaches the story from a new slant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Excellent book! An in-depth story not only about the band members, also about many people who played a part before the Titanic was built; and those who were on the largest ship of its time sailing to America. Steve Turner brought to life each character in the book. I felt I was living the story from beginning to end. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3