Customer Reviews for

Band of Brothers: E Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne from Normandy to Hitler's Eagle's Nest

Average Rating 4.5
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BANDO OF BROTHERS MUST READ

AMBROSE WRITES FOR THE EVERYDAY READER. IT'S DESCRIPTIVE ENOUGHT SO ONE CAN SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE BUT NOT TOO DETAILED THAT IT NUMBS THE MIND.
A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE A GLIMPSE OF D-DAY & ON TO THE END OF WWII. AFTER READING THIS BOOK YOU WILL WANT TO REA...
AMBROSE WRITES FOR THE EVERYDAY READER. IT'S DESCRIPTIVE ENOUGHT SO ONE CAN SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE BUT NOT TOO DETAILED THAT IT NUMBS THE MIND.
A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE A GLIMPSE OF D-DAY & ON TO THE END OF WWII. AFTER READING THIS BOOK YOU WILL WANT TO READ ANYTHING ELSE YOU
CAN GET YOUR HANDS ON REGARDING EASY COMPANY. HIGLY REC. READING BOOKS FROM STEPHEN AMBROSE.

posted by ISAVELA on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Photos not included in nook book

Please be aware that the publisher has chosen to delete from the nook book electronic file the photographs previously included in their hardcopy editions.

posted by Steve_EugeneOR on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Photos not included in nook book

    Please be aware that the publisher has chosen to delete from the nook book electronic file the photographs previously included in their hardcopy editions.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, sloppy formatting, omitted graphics.

    A very readable book about military training, comradeship, and combat but the ebook formatting (i.e., formatting for the Nook) is sloppy. Font size changes erratically as does line-spacing. Annoying. Also, the maps and photographs included in the print version are missing from the ebook edition. These should be included in the e-version or there should be a warning that this version is abridged. Had I known they were missing I would not have bought the Nook version.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Excellent Book--Terrible Quality on Nook

    The story the book tells of E Company is a fascinating and inspiring read and I would highly recommend it. The story gets 5 stars.

    However, I cannot recommend the Nook version, which I would have to give 1 star. This is actually my first Nook book and I must say I am incredibly disappointed. Not only is the photographic material removed, the book formatting is absolutely atrocious. Fonts change size and type 2 or 3 times on a single page making the experience of reading the book a chore.

    Not sure if other Nook books are like this, but I don't think there's an excuse for this. Perhaps it's because I'm using the Nook app on the iPad, but even that is the latest version.

    Skip the Nook version and choose the hardback or paperback!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BANDO OF BROTHERS MUST READ

    AMBROSE WRITES FOR THE EVERYDAY READER. IT'S DESCRIPTIVE ENOUGHT SO ONE CAN SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE BUT NOT TOO DETAILED THAT IT NUMBS THE MIND.
    A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE A GLIMPSE OF D-DAY & ON TO THE END OF WWII. AFTER READING THIS BOOK YOU WILL WANT TO READ ANYTHING ELSE YOU
    CAN GET YOUR HANDS ON REGARDING EASY COMPANY. HIGLY REC. READING BOOKS FROM STEPHEN AMBROSE.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    one of the most awe inspiring ever

    i loved this book. chuck norris has nothing on major richard winters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Great Book

    Working off of interviews from the men of Easy Company, Ambrose gives the reader an amazing account of the war. This is easily my favorite book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The epic journey of the men of Easy Company, and how they survived the world's greatest war by becoming closer than brothers

    From the books forward to the acknowledgements Stephen Ambrose succeeds in taking the world's greatest battles of world war two and putting them into the perspective of the young eager men of Easy Company in the 506th paratroopers' division.

    Most often the story's point of view comes from 1st Lt. Richard Winters the leader of Easy Co, in which Ambrose manages to record every memory that Winters and other members still have of their escapade throughout Europe and put them into great detail. His research through company records, plus his worldwide searches and interviews of the still living members help him to compile amazingly accurate details of their experience through the war which gives the reader a near perfect visualization of what they went through.

    Perhaps the most intriguing quality of Ambrose's biography is how he managed to include so much detail into even the most casual scenes. He not only covers the main events that occur, but also includes personal information about the men, and how they acted not only towards the Germans but each other.

    At first sight the reader may think that because this book is about world war two that it will only be serious and historical, and although that may be true in most cases, Ambrose's version is quiet the opposite as he manages to include very interesting details and many of the funnier, behind the scene moments that occurred to the men.

    Of course since this book is over such a real and serious event it's hard to include many comical scenes, but Ambrose, thanks to his excellent background work, includes multiple laugh out loud scenes. One such example would be in the beginning of the book when the men were having one of their first practice jumps out of the C-47's and Sgt. Bull Randleman, at the end of the jump line, gets air sick and vomits into his helmet, which caused the man next to him to do the same, resulting in a chain reaction all the way up the line until it got to the final man at the door. I nearly fell over in laughter.

    But the more interesting parts of the story seem to come into play while the men are in battle, under fire, and doing anything they can to not only stay alive but save the lives of their comrades. Ambrose squeezes every single fact and detail that he can find into the action scenes. The amazingly informative details that are included seem to put the reader right behind the soldier you're following making it seem like you're a soldier yourself.

    Perhaps the most heroic scene in the book would be when Winters and his men were trying to take a town called Carentan which has only one main road into it, thus forcing the platoon to enter under no cover. After a machine gun opens up on the men the platoon is instantly cut in half, some of the men trapped up the road as the rest fall for cover in the ditches. Winters, knowing the men up ahead would be killed if the didn't get help stayed right in the middle of the road, yelling at his men, screaming at them to get moving, all the while bullets were flying all around him. Winters ended up taking the town with few casualties and won the Distinguished Service Cross.

    Scenes like this one and many more help attach the reader to the men and you soon begin to become a member of Easy Co yourself. These men, now old and some gone, have told their stories, and now it's our turn to listen to them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    My favorite World War II book

    This book is a must-have for anyone interested in WWII, the Allies, and what it took to win the war against the Nazis. Well-written Ambrose makes you forget you're reading history!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Meagan Traver April 24, 2012 Honors Humanities Band of Brother

    Meagan Traver
    April 24, 2012
    Honors Humanities
    Band of Brothers Book Review
    The novel Band of Brothers is a non-fiction piece of excellence that describes the journey and hardships of the young men in E company who braved WWII at the full front. With commanding captain Sobel having a death grip on the soldiers in training, 506th regiment becomes an unstoppable force. The book maps the horrific journey the unit travelled in the rugged terrain and deep battle zones through the European country side. Their compelling tales of nights in war truly demonstrate the extent of what today is referred to as the greatest generation. The repetitive themes found in the book are survival at all costs, along with the importance of hard work and pride in our nation. There is no main character throughout the course of the book because every soldier is faced with a life changing moment almost every chapter and is forced to make snap decisions to literally mean the difference of dying and making it back to camp. I found myself riveted with the attention to detail that many soldiers were able to recall so many years later. To have the strength to remember the painful memories is inspiring and makes any American proud to be in this country. A hero is seen in this book as a common man who decided to die for his country and fight for the freedom of others. There is no fluff or Hollywood happiness woven in the book, just the raw truth to create a masterpiece of writing. This book is one of the most important works of WWII literature and should never be forgotten by generations to come. If you enjoy this book as much as I did, I would recommend the following novels that give off the same realistic and inspiring touch of history; The Diary of Anne Frank, My War by Andy Rooney, or The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom. This book was an impeccable story documented with a shining 5 star quality. It is a longer read but the pages fly as war climaxes to its fatal ending for the Germans and the United States triumphs in victory; but most importantly seeing the troops return home forever changed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Solid book, pleasure to read

    Most people who think about buying this book do so based either on friends recommendations or the popularity of the Mini-series (also excellent).
    The book was fun to read and I definitely blew through it. However, it's not a 'history' book, it's a collection of abridged memoirs designed to give the read the sense of 'what it was like' not how or why it happened. Ambrose does a good job of making the characters interesting, but I feel there must have been some sacrifice of accuracy. Sobel in particular is heavily demonized (maybe rightly) to give the series a "villain." All in all, it was fun and I'd recommend it to a friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Better than the mini-series, this book tells stories that are so

    Better than the mini-series, this book tells stories that are so incredible that they can only be true. I find Stephen Amborse's writing style to be warm and engaging and he handles complex issues in such a way that they can be easily understood. If you know nothing about infantry combat in Europe in WWII than this is a good place to start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book

    I dont rate five stars often but this book was worth every one of them. Great read. Was bummed that the pictures were not included in eBook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great Read

    A well written book about some of the toughest heroes the United States of America has ever seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    An Incredible Story of a group of soldiers stuck in the war against Hitler

    If you have seen the movie Band of Brothers then you know the fascinating story that lies ahead of you, but if this story amazing war story is something new to you then you are in for a treat. Stephen E. Ambrose used the compelling stories from each paratrooper and turned it in to a compelling story of what they had gone through each and every day in Europe during the war. In this story Ambrose does a terrific job at explaining what is going on and describes how each character deals with the struggle of war by creating small stories that blend perfectly with the overall feeling of the story. I found this book to be fascinating. Most books that I have read about the war are usually dull and hard to read, but this book keeps you entertained with the plot and the attitudes of each of the soldiers. Another thing that Ambrose did a great job at was showing the realistic views that the soldiers have on war. They were drinking whenever they had the chance, or talking about how stupid the war is, and it makes you get a feel of the truth. I don¿t picture soldiers being tough guys who love killing and don¿t have families, and after reading this book you¿ll see that Ambrose doesn¿t either. You can tell that Ambrose did a lot of research and wanted to present all of us with an interesting story. So if you like stories that do a great job at describing and illustrating what is going on, then I don¿t think there is a better book out there than this. Every battle scene is described by each soldier without becoming repetitive, which I think is one of the main reasons Ambrose is such a great writer. So if you are someone who likes stories from the past or just an all around great book, I would definitely suggest this to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    A WWII Must

    Very informative about a group of soldiers from the beginnings of boot camp to the jump behind enemy lines at Normandy, all the way to Hitler's secret bunker. A very good Stephen Ambrose book that everyone should read to get a perspective on WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great Read!

    Enoyed this book thoroughly . Ambrose does a wonderful job of giving us insight into the men of Easy Company while providing action scenes so vivid that it seems that you can visualize what they actually experienced. Just an outstanding book that really makes one appreciate even more the sacrifices the Greatest Generation made for this great country!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    It was good to get more detail information. Good book I would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Great story about brotherhood, survival, and one badass company of men!

    Stephen Ambrose is a great military writter. I have read some of his other books and this is bar far his best! He not only tells the military side of the story with the military terminology, he also tells the story of the men of easy company. You are with them from start to finish. From their first days at Camp Toccoa and "Currahee" to their last at Hitler's Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden. If you have seen the HBO miniseries and liked it you will love the book. I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Wonderful book!

    Very good! Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    I've watched the movie, and a lot of it did not make sense to me, but in reading this book it filled in all the gaps of the movie, I plan on reading this a few more times, it is so great to read, it is a mixture of laughter, sadness, anger and frustration mixed all in one book I would give it a 10 if I could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18