Customer Reviews for

Band of Brothers: E Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne from Normandy to Hitler's Eagle's Nest

Average Rating 4.5
( 359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BANDO OF BROTHERS MUST READ

AMBROSE WRITES FOR THE EVERYDAY READER. IT'S DESCRIPTIVE ENOUGHT SO ONE CAN SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE BUT NOT TOO DETAILED THAT IT NUMBS THE MIND.
A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE A GLIMPSE OF D-DAY & ON TO THE END OF WWII. AFTER READING THIS BOOK YOU WILL WANT TO REA...
AMBROSE WRITES FOR THE EVERYDAY READER. IT'S DESCRIPTIVE ENOUGHT SO ONE CAN SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE BUT NOT TOO DETAILED THAT IT NUMBS THE MIND.
A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE A GLIMPSE OF D-DAY & ON TO THE END OF WWII. AFTER READING THIS BOOK YOU WILL WANT TO READ ANYTHING ELSE YOU
CAN GET YOUR HANDS ON REGARDING EASY COMPANY. HIGLY REC. READING BOOKS FROM STEPHEN AMBROSE.

posted by ISAVELA on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Photos not included in nook book

Please be aware that the publisher has chosen to delete from the nook book electronic file the photographs previously included in their hardcopy editions.

posted by Steve_EugeneOR on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    It was good to get more detail information. Good book I would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Bands & Singers I Listen To. - Summer

    3 Days Grace
    <p>
    HaleStorm
    <p>
    HollyWood UnDead
    <p>
    ShineDown
    <p>
    Big & Rich
    <p>
    Marilyn Manson
    <p>
    NickelBack
    <p>
    The Summer Set
    <p>
    Florida Georgia Line
    <p>
    Rob Zombie
    <p>
    Ke$ha
    <p>
    Eminem
    <p>
    Emily Osment
    <p>
    Carrie UnderWood
    <p>
    Imagine Dragons
    <p>
    Nine Inch Nails
    <p>
    Selena Gomez
    <p>
    Demi Lovato
    <p>
    FUN
    <p>
    Lorde
    <p>
    Rhianna
    <p>
    Tim McGraw
    <p>
    New Kids On The Block.
    <p>
    Theres more just to lazy to put more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Band of Brothers is an amazingly detailed book with lots of firs

    Band of Brothers is an amazingly detailed book with lots of first-hand accounts of what life is like fighting on the front lines of WWII. I think that everyone that can should read this book because it tells an awesome story and even though it’s a book about war there are not too many graphic scenes. Stephen Ambrose does an excellent job of telling the story of E Company while including many factual examples. 
    If you are willing to tackle a four-hundred page book, I encourage you to try (I’m a 13-year-old boy and read it in a couple of days). The book is an awe-inspiring account of how the most decorated Army unit in WWII came about and how its officers and non-coms fought bravely, not for medals, but because they knew it was the right thing to do. I think that you will be inspired, as I was, if you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Good Book for WW2 Fans

    I could not put this book down. I found it very interesting and I really like the charts, the photos and the illustrations. Well researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Good book but a few complaints...

    I think this book is great for what it inspired. The book is part of a collection of books/ media that really stoked a renewed interest in WW2 during the late 90's. Essentially, we have the history of the 506th PIR of the 101st Airborne in Europe, tracing their creation and their exploits from Normandy to Berchtesgarden. Ambrose bases the narrative almost exclusively from personal interviews with the soldiers that were there. This is not critical, insightful, or investigative military history. This is the book of Psalms for the 506th, singing the praises of the men. And that's ok, because these guys were real American heroes, and who couldn't be enamored with them for what they have done for all of us. Lastly, I have to mention it, I just don't think Ambrose is that great of a writer. The power of the subject kept me reading long after boredom with Ambrose's writing style set in. These things being said, I would still recommend this book for your WW2 collection, and I thank Ambrose for singing the praises of our heroes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    We Stand Alone

    Stephen E. Ambrose does a brilliant job of painting a picture of the events that took place during WWII. He starts with the young men who volunteer to become Rangers and end up becoming ¿brothers¿ because when they are out on the battle field all they have is each other. They start out fighting in the allied advance on Normandy beach and slowly move through Holland and Belgium. They end up taking over Hitler¿s Eagle¿s nest in Austria. At the end of Band of Brothers it tells you what each surviving man did after the war. This book is definitely a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    3.7 stars, well done Ambrose

    Ambrose did a great job of interviewing these guys and finding the best ways to describe what really happened. E company went through a lot of hardships and I believe this is a must read for WWII buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    An excellent journey through World War II.

    The 101st airborne division is the elite fighting force of the United States Air Force. Throughout World War II, nine men of the 101st airborne, or 'Band of Brothers', fought gallantly even in the toughest of battles. This newly developed parachute-infantry was able to be dropped by planes and join allied troops anywhere on the battlefield. The Band of Brothers were involved in every major battle in World War II (in Europe) and were involved in many small fire-fights with enemy paratroopers. One may argue that the war may have not been won without the help of this heroic team. The Band of Brothers went through basic training, all the way through the war, and finally made it to sit in Hitler's main office. This book is a must-read if you enjoy World War II or just want an exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    The Band is good but a bit long-winded

    I found this tale of the 101st airborne battles and history in WWII, to be very good. However his writing style is a bit annoying to me, he will leave the retelling of a battle to mention a tidbit of information he remembered while he was interviewing the soldiers, it takes away from the story and slows the pace down a lot. The actual retellings however are top notch. Full of action and suspensefully written, he also humanizes the characters well and develops them excellently. The battles as far as I know, are historically accurate and include famous events such as D-day, the Battle of the Bulge, and the storming at Hitler¿s Eagles Nest. The biggest downside to this book is defiantly its length. The book isn't that long compared to others, but the actual battles are over long before the end of the book. The remainder is s long dull tale of the men partying and getting drunk. All it serves to do is sully their image, and take up space. The book is vague about drinking and parties until the end when Ambrose feels the need to include several chapters about it. However, the end somewhat redeems itself when it tells what became of the men after WWII, however even this manages to become long-winded and overblown. Overall, Band of Brothers was a very good book that I would recommend to anyone interested in WWII or anyone looking for a good war book. However, they might want to skip to the end after the end of the war. In the end I¿d still ask for another encore from the Band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Better than the movie!

    This is an excellent book. A great WWII book. It is much better than the movie version that is out now. The author has a great story-telling gift. I definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Gripping storyline along with intense details makes Band of Brothers a must have

    The late Stephen E. Ambrose captures the true life of a combat rifle company as well as the hazards they face on a day to day basis. Like most Ambrose books, the details about battle scenes along with the focus on the American GI himself is very prevalent throughout this whole book. No question that this may be one of the most gripping novels that I have ever read. Band of Brothers is a truly enjoyable piece that even non-World War II buffs will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    Chilling

    This book made the hairs on the back of my neck tingle. I am in the military, and nothing that I have had to endure comes close to what the boys of the 101st went through. There were parts in the book where I felt as if I was sitting in the foxhole right next to one of the paratroopers. Great book, I would recommend it to any one who really wants to know what combat is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3