Customer Reviews for

Band of Sisters: American Women at War in Iraq

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Excellent Book- A great collection of the accomplishments of women in the Military

    War is always thought of as a mans job. That said, times are changing. Band of Sisters- American Women at War in Iraq is a great collection this generation of women warriors. No longer relegated to the safety of the rear women are proving their metal in combat. As an Iraq/ Afghanistan war Veteran I have served with women who have proved their value and worth to the military and nation. This book gives you a glimpse of what women are doing through out the Armed Forces and the achievements and accomplishments they have made.
    I would recommend this book to any young women who have been told you can't do something, because you¿re a women. I would also recommend it to other with old fashion ways of thinking, who do not think women can or should serve in combat. The fact is, women are serving in combat and they are distinguishing themselves.
    I enjoyed the Varity of the collection. All branches and grades were represented. It cuts across the military and shares the common and unique experiences faced by soldiers of both genders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    A must read

    'Band of Sisters' cuts through the politics and military jargon to go to the source: The women who are on the ground, in the air and on the sea in Iraq. These women could be your neighbors, or your sister, wife or co-worker. Some are career military, some joined the National Guard to get money for education. All served with courage, distinction and not a hint of whining about their hair, their nails or their grimy, sweaty uniform. Kirsten Holmstedt captures their stories without putting herself or her opinions into play. Well done! Bravo Zulu.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    women who went to war

    'band of sisters' is a very hard book to put down yet its all true and its a book that needs to be read and if anyone is to truly understand the gallant sacrifices that women have given for our country. until this book came along I really did not know very much about the contributions that women gave to make this a stronger nation.this is a very fasinating book cause the arthur spent time with some very special women on the battle field so the readers of this bestseller could get to them as well as their performace in battle. the writer did not stop with this book she took these women with her on her book tour which I thought was very amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    July 2013

    This book onl gets 2 stars because of the varied tales of each if the women in the different branches of the military. Other than that it was a VERY poorly written book, tons of grammar flaws, and discontinuity that provided confusion. The author had a great story to tell but could not come through with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Well worth the read.

    Growing up in a military family and being in the Navy myself, I was very interested in reading this book. I love the fact that the women in this book and the author did not hold anything back when telling their stories. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has a daughter, wife, sister, or any female that is in the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Great Book!

    This is a great book! I read it for a history book report and really enjoyed it. Although it is non fiction i thought it was easy to read. The stories of these brave women were amazing. I liked to see how they lived in the middle of the war. The great oppurtunites that they were given made me realize how far women have come. However the book also illustrated how women still struggle to gain the same oppurtunities as men. There were many touching quotes from the soldiers. One of my favorite came from Sergeant Angela Jarboe. She said "I went because I had to. I was a soldier before I was a mom." This describes how touching the book is and really shows how much these women gave up. I would recommend this book to anybody of middle school age or above. I feel like it is a book that every girl should read. Even if you are not interested in the war and don't have background information, it would still be a great read. I think that it taught me a lot about what women still struggle with, not only in war but also in everyday life her in the United States. I also think that this book would be a great book for a guy as well. It gives a woman's perspective on almost everything. If I was a man it would interest me to see how women see things. This book shows that even though it may seem like a male and female soldier both have equal opportunities, that isn't necessarily true. Men have been in the military for years, but it is a relatively new terrain for women. Therefore that means females have to work and try extra hard to get as far as the men. This is a great book to show that. I believe Band of Sisters is a great book for anyone and everyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great 1st Effort

    This is a very good 1st effort. Holmstedt did an excellent job of researching her topic. She brings the stories of women in war, in Iraq to us in a way that makes it easy to walk in each woman's boots.

    For those unaware, or ignoring, the fact that women have been fighting on the front lines since 2003, this is very enlightening! Each woman's story is different. Each mission the women fight in is different. Yet all the women have commonalities. They are women; fighting along-side men; fighting for their Country's continued peace.

    These women ask nothing in return, except the respect for a job well done. Holmstedt's writing brings this out. To be sure, the writing isn't as engaging as the women's stories. This reads much like a research document. But Holmstedt does allow for the rare glimps of the emotion all these women have about what they've done. When this glimps occurs, it's magical!

    This book is worth reading for this content alone. For those who think women are safely tucked behind the front lines, it's enlighening and provocative. The book will start conversations about a woman's place in war and what emotional toll it takes. The toll is unique for each woman.

    Well worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    It's a good book ... but just good

    This book is written about individual women as seen in their roles in Iraq. Each chapter is about a different woman. Each chapter talks about that person, how they came to being in the military and what they did in the military ... often, we read about their hardships and what it was like for them in the field. It's a good book. Not a great book. It is not a page turner, but an easy book to read over a long period of time. I thought some of the stories were a little shallow. Some stories were written as an afterthought when the author would ask some of the men that these women served with what their opinion was of a particular female. I guess in my mind, with such a title, I kept thinking about the Band of Brothers book which was excellent. It's not like that at all. Again, a good book but ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    couraging

    this book is amazing.It shows you these 6 women who make a change and deffined our country everyday.i really liked this book not only because they are all in the military but also that my father is in the military and knows how it is.you get to read about what they do and what other things they have to take care. Like one soldier has a husband and a daughter. she tells you how and what it is like in iraq.truefully i think it is not a great place to be at.all i have to say about this book is read it and get into it in the end you will love what you here and what new things you have discovered leden in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Truely Amazing

    This really tells the story of the females on the front lines, no one except the girls out there know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    A MUST BUY

    I think that if some of us slouch and just watch TV all day than we will be dumb but if we train and work hard like the women in this book we will smart and fast and we will be able to survive in jungles and desserts!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    the unknown heros of the war in iraq

    This is a very good book.I am not the kind of person who reads alot or likes to read, but once this book caught my eye i had to get it.I can hardly put this book down,it is a great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    A Must Read

    As a female member of the military I have to say that I am completely blown away by all of the women is this book. This book was well written, well thought out and detailed the amazing courage of all the women profiled. Reading it I felt like I was right there along side them doing what they were doing. On a personal level, I can say that I was deployed with Lt Col Montgomery in Kuwait during a part of her deployment that was written in her chapter in the book, and I know first hand what am amazing women she is. I think this book is a must read not just for female military members, but male members also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Everyone should read this book

    As the wife of a former Marine, I am aware of the sacrifices that all military personnel make on a daily basis. However, after reading this book I can truly say that I am blown away at the commitment, dedication and determination that these women posses. The author presents each story in a clean, precise way making it easy to feel an emotional connection to each woman profiled. Each individual story is thoughtfully organized, and presented in a way that makes the reader feel like these are our neighbors, friends and relatives. I am truly thankful that the author took the time to seek out these women and tell their stories so that we as civilians can realize what it¿s like to walk a mile in their combat boots. I highly recommend this book and know you will not be disappointed after reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Bringing our story to the public...

    This book truly brings the stories of women in today's military to the public's eyes! Most people still think that women work in the office to 'free a man to fight' and not that they stand side by side with their male counterparts. This book brings a voice to the modern day military woman! Thank you for all that you have done for my 'Band of Sisters!' Semper Fidelis!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Before reading this book I had no idea that women were engaged in combat to such a degree, or that they performed so well. All the old arguments about women disrupting the cohesion of men sound as outdated as the arguments used against integrating blacks. This book makes a strong case for repealing the law that says women can't serve in combat. They are, and they are holding their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Writer Does Not Do Justice to Her Subject

    Almost half the way into this book I am struck by how poorly it is written - somewhere around a 7th or 8th grade level. While the courage, professionalism and dedication to the mission of the women depicted is undeniable, it is really hard to accept the book as a byproduct of a bonafide masters degree program at any reputable school of journalism. Regardless of how much work went into stateside interviews, it is clear that that this alleged journalist never even approached a true understanding of the military in general or of the specific circumstances of any of the subjects. The shame of it all is that America could really use a good depiction of her daughters performing so well while in harm's way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    A recommended book for all service members to read no matter the gender.

    I am a female in the United States Marine Corps. What I like most about 'Band of Sisters' is that I can relate to the twelve women depicted in the book. The author does a good job of sharing the women's stories of serving in the Iraq War. Some have moved on and others continue to fight, but all have made a contribution. Service women are no longer stuck behind a desk or in an aircraft hanger thousands of miles from the front lines. They are no longer issued Montezuma Red lipstick or purses. Our American women are in combat roles, right next to our men, fighting everyday so that we may enjoy our freedoms. Kirsten Holmstedt does a thorough job of sharing these women's pride, pain, loss, and patriotism with her readers. I use this book as a mentoring tool. It gives the readers the oportunity to learn more about our military, it's mission, and the men and women that make it happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2