Customer Reviews for

Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This a phenomenal book written by a courageous young woman. It is heart breaking and intense but also riveting. I can't say enough good things about this book! It is a true expose into a hate cult, but also a survivors tale. I couldnt put it down!

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

honestly im not even halfway through and I don't think im going

honestly im not even halfway through and I don't think im going to finish it.  it's boring.

posted by kelly00 on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Amazing!

    This a phenomenal book written by a courageous young woman. It is heart breaking and intense but also riveting. I can't say enough good things about this book! It is a true expose into a hate cult, but also a survivors tale. I couldnt put it down!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite I first heard of

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    I first heard of the Westboro Baptist Church when they picketed Matthew Shepard’s funeral in Laramie, Wyoming. Mr. Shepard was beaten to death by two men because of his homosexuality. As I listened to “Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church” by Lauren Drain, I was horrified by the way the church treated her and especially by the way her parents treated her. Lauren’s father showed signs of instability before he became tied up with the WBC. Like most young girls she sought her father’s approval and attention. While filming a documentary on the WBC, Lauren’s father became caught up in their beliefs. He began to turn to them for guidance in parenting Lauren. No matter how hard Lauren tried she was labeled a trouble maker. Often she asked questions of the conflicting doctrine, angering the leaders of the church. After eight years of methodical emotional and psychological abuse, as well as some physical abuse, she was banished from the congregation. Lauren has turned her life around; she no longer serves a god of hatred; she now serves the God of love.

    Lauren Drain shares the details of her life with the WBC. I should state that the WBC is not affiliated with any known Baptist Church. Without apology I label the Westboro Baptist Church a cult. “Banished” is written from Lauren’s perspective. My review is on the audio format which was narrated by the author. I was mesmerized by the content of this tale; however, there was much repetition. At times the content sounded childlike but this did not disturb me or detract from the text; as she has undergone great suffering, it is understandable that she would tell her story as she remembers it … through the eyes of her earlier years. Lauren is lucky that they banished her when they did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    A truly captivating story of a young women's courage in the face

    A truly captivating story of a young women's courage in the face of adversity. It goes to show how a person's true spirit will always prevail over evil. Well written and captivating! I couldn't put the book down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Just WOW! A great read and insight into the WBC world. I felt as

    Just WOW! A great read and insight into the WBC world. I felt as though Lauren was sitting right next to me and telling me the story in person. I cant wait to get the official copy.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Amazing read, made my cry a few times. Also make sure to read th

    Amazing read, made my cry a few times. Also make sure to read the epilog and the acknowledgments 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I just finished Lauren Drain's book BANISHED Surviving My Years

    I just finished Lauren Drain's book BANISHED Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church. Most people know Westboro as the most hated family in America and that title is well deserved. This book is written by an remember of the church, but who isn't a member of the Phelps family. Its fascinating reading about the family dynamics, hierarchy and other goings on behind the walls. This book won't have you cheering for the church, but rather glad that Lauren is free from them and happily living in Connecticut.

    In addition, since this book was written. Libby Phelps, daughter of Fred Phelps Jr, Grace and Megan, daughters of Shirley Phelps-Roper have left the church. As with the Shakers, It appears that the members of Westboro Baptist Church will either be kicked out, leave on their own, or die off, ending the Churches reign of hatred forever.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Great Read

    Banished was a great read. I came away with a new understanding of the doctrines of the WBC. Lauren Drain' s average childhood devolved into family membership in a cultic group. Out of the neccessity to survive, she adopted the group's beliefs and culture as her own. Questioning and thinking for oneself was frowned upon. She endured her clearly abusive father for years. When the congregation decided to dump Lauren Drain, they actually freed her. This book is a testament to the survival of the human spirit. sapphoq reviews

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Enlighting!

    This is a very interesting and well written memoir. It is riviting to read about the control and evil some use in the name of religion. The author's sociopathic father is truly frightening. Another book to read that has a controlling sociopath as a character is the novel "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. This novel also has strong male and female characters with great moral features to overcome horrible situations. This novel is only 99 cents right now on the Nook. It has great reviews. Both books deserve A++++++

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Great Read!

    My heart goes out to this woman and all the hell she went through. Makes me very appreciative of my upbringing and my sanity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great honest read! Makes you feel sorry for the children of this

    Great honest read! Makes you feel sorry for the children of this cult and feel sorry for Lauren.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Loved it, kept me glued to it almost the whole way through.

    The book was very interesting, covering about every detail you could think of ! It almost felt like an autobiography. You get an inside view of Lauren's life before, during and a little bit after her life in that church. Being in a fundamentalist group looks to be extremely harsh and controlling.I felt her story was very compelling and I really feel for her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    So many emotions all rolled up into one! After reading this boo

    So many emotions all rolled up into one! After reading this book I came to the conclusion that the Westboro Baptist Church should be synomous with the American Taliban if there was such a group. They are obviously an extremist Baptist organization. The courage to leave your family and expose this group should be praised! Buy your copy now and band together against this hate group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Amazing

    Incredible story. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    The phelps:(

    I feel so sorry for this girl i know what the phelps are like they picketed my grandpas funeral

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Powerful, shocking, and loving.

    Banished is one of the best books I have ever read. I read it within 5 days. I just didn't want to put it down. It's a must-read!! I have been exposed to the WBC protests when I lived in Kansas and this book increased my understanding of this restrictive religious sect. It is awe-inspiring to hear Lauren's journey from a more playful childhood, to obedience and brainwashing, to freedom that came at a cost. Yet despite that journey the love and positive attitude that Lauren exudes is breathtaking; while still holding those who breed hate accountable for their harm. A true story of the strength of the human spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    What do homosexuals, fallen heroes adn Joel Osteen have is commo

    What do homosexuals, fallen heroes adn Joel Osteen have is common? All protested by that crazy Westboro Baptist Church. I'm glad I read this eye-opening book written by a likeable young lady. I wish her well on her healing journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2