Customer Reviews for

The Bar Code Tattoo

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bar Code Tattoo

    "The Bar Code Tattoo" was an interesting book of adventure, romance, and science fiction. The book is about a girl named Kayla and how she fights for what she believes in. When the town Kayla lives in starts to get more technology, people start to get a tattoo of a barcode that holds everything a person would need like money, health records, and other personal information. But, when people start to go insane and the barcode becomes mandatory Kayla and her friends think of plans to get away from it all and escape to the Adirondack Mountains. Kayla must be brave and fight for what she thinks is right with the help of the friends and the calming effect of peppermint gum.
    This book explains that you need to stand up for what you believe in and not just go along with the crowd because doing what everyone else is doing is not always the best option. With it's twists and turns this book was just so hard to put down! This story is a page turner and something that most people ages ten and up would enjoy. Kayla is a good role model for people of all ages. She fights for what's right and she doesn't go along with the crowd even when times get rough. "The Bar Code Tattoo" is just an all around good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Great, until the end

    This book is an exciting adventure of love and finding your own true self, no matter what. Kayla decides she wants to be original and doesn't follow the trend, and that's when she realizes that there's something more to the tatto than what they're telling. The tatto totally meeses up her life: It killed her father and is driving her mother crazy. It drives a wedge between her and her best friend, but she also joins a new circle of friends who share her views on the tatto. It's a great book, but the ending's a little cheesy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dystopian perfection in a small package

    When I picked this book up to read it, I thought it would be a quick easy read. I was dead wrong...the book is full to the brim of essential story information and keeps you reading until the end. I love stories that end a chapter with an event so exciting you have to turn the page to see what happens...before you know it...you are done!

    I am reading the Bar Code Rebellion right now and put away 6 chapters this morning already :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jaw Dropper

    pros: This book keeps you on your feet , hard to pull away fromcons: few grapic parts - but she makes up for them in suspenceMs. Weyn has done it! She has come up with a series bound to make you addicted to them. This book is a great suspence! Their were a few parts where I felt so into the book that I could actually felt the main characters sorrow, anger, and fear. I recommend the series !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    Was anyone else bothered by the fact that the author evidently d

    Was anyone else bothered by the fact that the author evidently doesn't understand how evolution works? I love science fiction and the book was great, except that I seriously could not get past this. People if you are going to write about evolution, study up a bit first..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Awesome book! I love this author and can't wait to see what else

    Awesome book! I love this author and can't wait to see what else she writes! The whole time it kept my interest and I never wanted to put it down! I don't recommend starting it when its late or else it will keep you up all night reading and wondering what will happen next. Overall it kept my interest the whole time and I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Must read

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Creepy

    Great book. Well written. I can definetly see these events happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    wow this could really happen

    this is an amazing book. the main character is a strong girl that doesn't care what people think about her.when the bar code tattoos become in style she thinks they are weird and doesn't want one.weird things start to take place in her family and friends lives that she blames on the tattoos. Is she right? Are the tattoos really making people suffer?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Is this the same as "The Bar Code Rebellion"?

    If it is then this is a great book and I'd recommend it to anyone who loves futuristic type books. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It

    In the book, The Bar Code Tattoo, the main character Kayla Reed tries to rebel against getting the Bar Code Tattoo. Kayla is a teenage girl who lives in the year 2024 in New York, New York. She, as well as others, dresses in jumpsuits or neon colored clothing (Future Clothing). Kayla is one, out of a group of kids who don't get the tattoo. Kayla gets accused of something terrible, that she didn't do, and not having the bar code becomes a problem. After not having the bar code becomes illegal for anybody ages 17+, Kayla finds herself in trouble to keep herself clean from the tattoo. So Kayla joins the resistance from the bar code, with her KNOTU2 group (The other kids without the tattoo). I loved The Bar Code Tattoo because I found it very interesting. I became hooked right after I read the first few pages. I loved Kayla`s opinion on things because it is the same way I would react to the situation. Kayla thought there was something wrong, so she did the research. Kayla had went through a lot of rough times, which have also led her into believing that the tattoo was bad, and I admire her for that. The book The Bar Code Rebellion is the sequel to the Bar Code Tattoo. I thought the book was great, and I would definitely recommend this book for others to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    best book ever

    this is the best book i have read science 2004

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Sooo Amazing

    I loved the book. It was so different!!! It takes place in the future and totally talks about government corruption and people fighting back!! It just shows how strong a society of people, or just a few people can be!! And it's always cool when people actually work together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Great Book

    It's the future and you have to have the bar code tattoo to get a license and buy things, and what's even worse it's against the law if you don't have it. I believe this book is a great piece of work and holds your interest in a page turning thriller. The main character Kayla is almost 17 and is leery of the tattoo. The tattoo holds personal information about everyone who has it. Kayla enters a rebellion group against the tattoo with some friends until she must run for her life in an intense flee from Global 1 (the bar code police)to a refuge in the Adirondacks. If you are like me this book will keep you on edge wanting to read more and more. I recommend this book for people 12 and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Idea

    Reminds me of Ira Levin's This Perfect Day. The implications of the story are scary ones. I hope the powers that be don't get any ideas. A quick interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    bar code tattoo

    This book is absolutly amazing i love this book. I'm going to beg my mom to buy me this series for christmas. It's amazingly realistic and you will find yourself reading it all day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My book review for the Bar Code Tattoo

    The Bar Code Tattoo, in my opinion, was a really great book. I thought that in the beginning it needed to have more action, but once I got into the body of the book the action came and it kept me wanting to know more. One thing that I thought could have been better was the amount of suspense. Every challenge that came was solved almost immediately. There was never a choice of what to do or how Kayla could get out of each conflict that happened. It just instantly was okay. If I could go back and change something in the book, I think that the thing I would change would be to make more suspense so that the solution to each problem was not so predictable. Other than this, I thought that the book was pretty well written and it kept me interested the whole time I was reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome book

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazingly awesome book!

    The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn is a great book. It is one of the best books I have ever read. Suzanne did a very good job writing this book. She developed her characters so well, that you feel like you have known them all of your life.
    This book is set in the future. In this version of the future, people do not carry money with them at all. You used an e-card, which are like credit cards, until you were seventeen. Then, you would get a bar code tattoo. When you get the bar code tattoo people would scan it and that is how you would pay for things. That is not the only thing the bar code tattoo does. It also holds all of you information, even your licenses. So, basically you would not have to carry anything around anymore.
    Though, not everybody looks at this as a good thing. There are little groups every where that rebel against the bar code tattoos. They think that they destroy your life. Their theory is that when they tattoo the bar code on, they put in some type of micro-robots. They say that when you are breaking a law or getting to close to exposing the government, they turn the robots on. The robots make you either sick or do nothing at all.
    So, they chose not to have the bar code tattoo.
    Here's the catch, not having the bar code tattoo is against the law. The people protesting the tattoo say that they should just stick with the e-cards, or who ever wants the tattoo can get it and who ever does not want the tattoo does not have to get it. The government told them that it is easier to keep track of people when they have the tattoo.
    The Bar Code Tattoo is a fantastic book. I suggest that you get yourself a copy and read it. This book is sad at times, but it is also happy at other times. It balances itself out perfectly. Also, The Bar Code Tattoo has a sequel. It is called The Bar Code Rebellion. It was even better then the first one. So, read this book and enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    captivating and spectacular.

    When I first saw this book I thought "Hmm, this might be interesting." And it was. I enjoyed it all and thought it was very creative. I read over and over and never get tired of it. It has a special thrilling evasiveness to it by trying to get away from the Bar code Tattoo and running from the government. It's hard to put the book down once you pick it up. I highly recomend reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4