Customer Reviews for

Barack Obama: The Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I am ashamed to be a republican this election year

Ive read this nearly 3 times. Romney is too much of a weasel and how many times has he already been bought out to make sure corporations get even More money?

posted by 269442 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Why?

OK! I only read the first couple of chapters, but that was enough to cause me to put this one back on the shelf. This book appears to be, as some have said, well written and well-researched. But, if there is no sensible reason that a book should be written in the first ...
OK! I only read the first couple of chapters, but that was enough to cause me to put this one back on the shelf. This book appears to be, as some have said, well written and well-researched. But, if there is no sensible reason that a book should be written in the first place, what difference does that make? And this book mostly poses the question, "Why would somebody waste time writing (or reading) this stuff?" Many have claimed that this book puts the lie to a great many claims and stories found in President Obama's autobiography "Dreams From My Father." That may be true. I read "Dreams From My Father" when Mr. Obama first appeared on the national scene. I found it to contain personal admissions that I, frankly, found simply apalling coming from one who presumes to the office of President of the Unitd States. I have also become so accustomed (One might say "hardened.") to the President's serial and flagrant self-serving prevarications, that I find no particular reason to indulge in further documentation of those included in his memoir. Furthermore, Mr. Maraniss has come vigorously to the President's defense on this issue, claiming that accuracy and truth really has no bearing on the merits of an autobiography, which should be free to shape, mold, and distort objective facts in order to illustrate the sense of the "journey" of a life. Say what? Perhaps he would like to explain how distortions and lies illustrate the truth of a person! In the end, this is another entry into the long and growing list of "Rock Star" biographies that fawn on their subjects even as they reveal character traits that would appall anyone but the doting voyeurs who thrive on the fainting adulation of celebrities.

posted by Iulievich on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Very well written

    A well written, well reasearched account of President Obama's very interesting life. The man has had quite a journey to get where he is now.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    I am ashamed to be a republican this election year

    Ive read this nearly 3 times. Romney is too much of a weasel and how many times has he already been bought out to make sure corporations get even More money?

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Why?

    OK! I only read the first couple of chapters, but that was enough to cause me to put this one back on the shelf. This book appears to be, as some have said, well written and well-researched. But, if there is no sensible reason that a book should be written in the first place, what difference does that make? And this book mostly poses the question, "Why would somebody waste time writing (or reading) this stuff?" Many have claimed that this book puts the lie to a great many claims and stories found in President Obama's autobiography "Dreams From My Father." That may be true. I read "Dreams From My Father" when Mr. Obama first appeared on the national scene. I found it to contain personal admissions that I, frankly, found simply apalling coming from one who presumes to the office of President of the Unitd States. I have also become so accustomed (One might say "hardened.") to the President's serial and flagrant self-serving prevarications, that I find no particular reason to indulge in further documentation of those included in his memoir. Furthermore, Mr. Maraniss has come vigorously to the President's defense on this issue, claiming that accuracy and truth really has no bearing on the merits of an autobiography, which should be free to shape, mold, and distort objective facts in order to illustrate the sense of the "journey" of a life. Say what? Perhaps he would like to explain how distortions and lies illustrate the truth of a person! In the end, this is another entry into the long and growing list of "Rock Star" biographies that fawn on their subjects even as they reveal character traits that would appall anyone but the doting voyeurs who thrive on the fainting adulation of celebrities.

    12 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Fascinating book. Maraniss weaves together a story that includ

    Fascinating book. Maraniss weaves together a story that includes happenstance, personal choice and growth and shows how they all come together to make people (in this case Barack Obama) who they are or who they become. I believe that David Maraniss and Robert Caro are the two best biographers writing today.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I find it amusing that this book has how many ratings? Look to

    I find it amusing that this book has how many ratings? Look to other publications if you're looking for issues to truely think about for 11/2012. This one force-feeds Obamaizim down your throat not unlike the force-fed Obamacare plan. You do not--nor will you--do much thinking with this book.

    10 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Really?

    Well researched? Please! This book apologizes for and justifies Mr. O's prevarications while avoiding areas that can't easily be "explained". Don't waste your time or money.

    8 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Very Good Read

    This book is well written and researched and refutes the lies told about President Obama. Those who just hate the President will not read the whole book because they can't stand to know the truth of the matter. Those who are racists can not get through the first chapters because they do not want to think beyond their prejudices. They would prefer to live in their world of hate and lies. This author traveled all over and researched thoroughly with factual validations. A good read and one that touches the heart of anyone with one.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Read this

    LOOK PEOPLE I AM A DEMOCRAT AND I AM 14 AND I SERIOUSLY STUDIED BOTH CANDIDATES (OBAMA V ROMNEY) SO I COULD DO KIDS VOTING AT MY SCHHOL. WAS QUITE HAPPY WHEN OBAMA WON THE ELECTION BUT THAT DOESNT GIVE ME THE RITE TO DISS ROMNEY BECAUSE HE IS A GOOD MAN AS WELL. IT SADDENS ME TO THINK THAT ALL OF YOU GUYS POSTING ON THIS (FOR THE MOST PART) DONT EVEN LIKE OBAMA! HE GOT ELECTED IN 2008 IN A BAD TIME FOR THE ECONOMY ALREADY. HE IS A LEGAL CITIZEN FOR THE UNITED STATES. HE IS NOT MMUSLIM AND EVEN IF HE WAS WHO CRES? IN THIS COUNTRY WE HAVE AS STATED IN AMENDMENT 1 OF OUR CONSTITUTION FREEDOM OF RELIGION. OBAMA DOSNT DISHONOR ANYTHING ABOUT AMERICA! I AM PROUD TO HAVE HIM AS PRESIDENT SOO KEEP YOUR OPINIONS TO YOURSELF AND IF YOU MUST SAY SOMETHING KEEP IN MIND THAT SOME NEDRY MIDDLE SCHOOLERS WHO LIKE TO READ THESE KIND OF THINGS COULDD POSSIBLY FOLLOW WHAT U SAY JUST BECUZ. THANK YOU FOR LISTENING.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    A fascinating tale full of unique characters.

    A fascinating tale full of unique characters.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Funny , hilarious and pitiful

    I can tell the disgruntled believers of right wing , bigoted liars. This book does not regurgitate the half witted lies we've been getting since 2008. It is about time. I am glad someone has written a book other than 'hate to see a black man in charge liars'. Most are gramnatically reprehensible which is par for the course. Can't spell, either. That's the lying right, alright.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    WTF

    Couldnt even get passed the first page. Waist of mony,time and patience. If i wanted to get angry , all id have to do is listen to him make a speach filled with lies and then read a magizine article that has no inpute of whats going on in todays ecomony and THEN read one about a health care plan thats going to hurt more people than help. Not even MR. O has read that stupid thing, it was all marked out with a Sharpie marker. Because GOD forbide , the man only knows how to woo people than to help them , since hes been in office ; our troops have been in more danger and hes spent more mony in the white house than Big Abes' wife and the Kennedys put together.

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Have you noticed that the people who have left bad reviews on th

    Have you noticed that the people who have left bad reviews on this book all say they read only the first page, then proceed to tear the book down in
    barely literate language. Either they are not of age, or have not passed the 2nd grade yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    An Excellent Biography

    I almost felt as if I personally knew Barack Obama while reading this excellent biography. (It didn't hurt that I'd met him once, up close and personal, in 2006 when he was a US Senator, and felt his considerable power and charisma then). David Maraniss combines meticulous research with a readable and enjoyable writing style to present a very three dimensional portrait. My only criticism is that the book ends rather abruptly (and seemingly arbitrarily) as Obama is about to head off to Harvard Law School. If this were book one of a projected two or three volume work it would be understandable, but there has been no indication that such is the case. Nevertheless, I heartily recommend this book. Even though it weighed in at nearly 700 pages, I found I could hardly put it down. And finally, since I am reviewing the electronic version, I can report that it is well formatted, with none of the glitches that accompany so many eBooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    ?

    This man is an illegal president, is a muslim with serious credibility issues dealing with muslim extremists, has gotten this country into so much debt our children will never live to see it. He has stated mamy times he has no love for america and proves it with everything he does to destroy it. He refuses to honor the flag, refuses to honor our mikitary, and refuses to honor our country. This idiot needs to be voted oyt with extreme prejudice. Get rid of this crazy fool before he gives us to iran, which is coming if those idiots who voted for him before does it again.

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    To Read This

    Tots agree. Although I don't like (texan accent begins) Mitt Romney wooo hoooooooooo (chews on tabacco) (texan accents ends) AT ALL. He sucks. Ok bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Ayo t love ll

    Dannnnggggggg that means you people dont really like this obama book and you guys say it cost too much then y buy it or waist your money if you van get a refund always keep the recipt and after reading this stupid book as you say then take it back and buy another book with the obama's book mula(money)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Horrible

    Hate it

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    '-'

    Costs too much. -.-

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2