BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A Hero for our generation and the next....

What a wonderful book for my adopted biracial children. The same message that I have instilled in them all of their lives, reach for the stars, they can be anything they want to be!

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Be More Full of Himself

What a shameful display this book is. Even before he could possibly take office Barack Obama paints himself as a Messiah figure something so incredibly egotistical it is beyond describing! This kind of approach to our leaders is dangerous. If you create in the mind of ...
What a shameful display this book is. Even before he could possibly take office Barack Obama paints himself as a Messiah figure something so incredibly egotistical it is beyond describing! This kind of approach to our leaders is dangerous. If you create in the mind of a child a hero out of a fallible and flaw-ridden person you've just made a god out of a man. Pure and simple. The same tactic is employed in George Orwell's 1984, may I mention.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Couldn't Be More Full of Himself

    What a shameful display this book is. Even before he could possibly take office Barack Obama paints himself as a Messiah figure something so incredibly egotistical it is beyond describing! This kind of approach to our leaders is dangerous. If you create in the mind of a child a hero out of a fallible and flaw-ridden person you've just made a god out of a man. Pure and simple. The same tactic is employed in George Orwell's 1984, may I mention.

    5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    Is Barack Obama the next Mao?

    This book makes Barack Obama appear to be some sort of a God figure. And the art portrays him as if he was Mao! The art alone in this book looks like communist propaganda posters from the 1960's in China!!! I would NEVER let my Child read this book!! It's propaganda!

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Son of promise, child of hope? Are you kidding me?? How about a reality check.

    I'm all for teaching our children about important historical figures. But it disappoints me to see such a book proping up Barack Obama to young and uninformed minds as if he were an iconic figure like MLK or Abraham Lincoln. When the man clearly has no real record outside of political campaign rhetoric. It's not very honest to our children to make something out to be more than what it really is. There was a transfer of power to the other party, that is what the book should be about. Not about making Obama the posterchild for "hope" and "change" when hasn't even made a policy decision yet. It's too bad we can't keep partisanship out of our children's literature.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    That was horrible, where is the mention of him doing cocaine? G

    That was horrible, where is the mention of him doing cocaine? God spoke to him? Are you kidding me?! Heads will role if my child reads this crap in school!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Lacking quality, full of propaganda

    This is a far-fetched portrayal of the first black president which verges on brain-washing. There are some touching moments in this book, but they are more than overwhelmed by a shockingly false portrayal of the man. It is clear from the title and cover illustration alone that this book is pure propaganda.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    Won't let my child drink this coolaid

    I noticed some teachers read this in their classroom. Did they also read about the previous president? There is nothing great about this man except for his ability to speak and make the naive think he is saying something. This book dishonestly props up a man who has not proven himself, while ignoring his many shady connections. So sad to brainwash the kids at such a young age.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    You people praising this book are sick. Nikki Grimes is sick as

    You people praising this book are sick. Nikki Grimes is sick as well. To paint in a child's mind that this man is some kind of God figure is wrong! This was written in 2008, so tell me now, in 2014 how that blessed Messiah in D.C. is doing. He is not filled with hope and he has not fullfilled any promises and he's LIED. I don't care how hard he worked in school, he's evil and you people are evil for allowing children to believe a liar is a Savior. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    This book is a disgraceful piece of propaganda that is perfect t

    This book is a disgraceful piece of propaganda that is perfect to train children into becoming good little progressive fascist who worship our worst President ever, Tyrant Obama. How much time to the spend talking about how Obama is a good liar and uses lies as a political tool? How about how Obama spreads hate among Blacks in order to motivate them to give him their support in elections? Do they tell about Obama's great triumphs as President? There aren't any. Do they talk about how Tyrant Obama violates our laws, his oath of office and the Constitution over and over?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1