Customer Reviews for

The Barbarian Nurseries

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books of 2011.

Read the first paragraph. It is one of the many gems found throughout the book. However, if meaty prose like that isn't your thing, then you may be disappointed. (One goodreads reviewer referred to it as a "lardful lump of language.") I love to read paragraphs like that...
Read the first paragraph. It is one of the many gems found throughout the book. However, if meaty prose like that isn't your thing, then you may be disappointed. (One goodreads reviewer referred to it as a "lardful lump of language.") I love to read paragraphs like that aloud and let them roll around my mouth like a full bodied red wine with a long finish.

It's not intended to be a thriller and it's not about fast paced action. (I was quite surprised when I read comments showing that these were the reader's expectations of the book.)

It's about family, materialism, immigration, "success", the mainstream media, our justice system, etc. In other words, it's social and cultural commentary and the author deftly skewers just about everybody and every point of view.

I found it to be thought provoking. Especially since I was born in Los Angeles, but have lived in northern California for most of my life; and because I am also of mixed European and Hispanic descent, but without a Hispanic surname.

posted by pacjr on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Would not recommend

This book was a gross disappointment in many ways. The main character speaks in Spanish most of the time; so as a non spanish speaker I missed much of the interaction. The plot seems poorly thought out. Two examples are: (1) the employers Scott and Maureen are in seriou...
This book was a gross disappointment in many ways. The main character speaks in Spanish most of the time; so as a non spanish speaker I missed much of the interaction. The plot seems poorly thought out. Two examples are: (1) the employers Scott and Maureen are in serious financial difficulty, preparing to downsize to save money but at the end of book are looking to buy a house in South Pasadena in seven figures and (2) there is no definitive ending. This book is for a Spanish speaking reader. I definitely would not read other books by this author or recommend it for book club discussions. As an avid reader, I resent the time wasted reading this book and the money spent buying it.

posted by 9926199 on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    One of the best books of 2011.

    Read the first paragraph. It is one of the many gems found throughout the book. However, if meaty prose like that isn't your thing, then you may be disappointed. (One goodreads reviewer referred to it as a "lardful lump of language.") I love to read paragraphs like that aloud and let them roll around my mouth like a full bodied red wine with a long finish.

    It's not intended to be a thriller and it's not about fast paced action. (I was quite surprised when I read comments showing that these were the reader's expectations of the book.)

    It's about family, materialism, immigration, "success", the mainstream media, our justice system, etc. In other words, it's social and cultural commentary and the author deftly skewers just about everybody and every point of view.

    I found it to be thought provoking. Especially since I was born in Los Angeles, but have lived in northern California for most of my life; and because I am also of mixed European and Hispanic descent, but without a Hispanic surname.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended - moves right along and hold one's interests!

    Good novel showing how relationships develop and sometimeds falter due to lack of communication. Very timely and relevant to many family situations. Detailed development of characters that at times is quite humorous!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    LOVED IT/ This book was recommended to me by my cousin, so glad

    LOVED IT/
    This book was recommended to me by my cousin, so glad I took his advise. Because I was raised in Santa Ana, CA this story held my interest, loved the end too, I cheered for Araceli!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Excellent, thought provoking read!

    It is extremely refreshing to read a book that causes us to think through the deeper issues related to racism, economic status, and power. This novel has a depth that more fiction needs to have. Reading shouldn't just be for entertainment, but for enlightenment too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    H

    The time of Bloodclan is over.Now the time of Boneclan has just begun!!!Join at meow result five.(P.S. Bring Screechkit)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    TO ALL

    I need someonre to rp a kit named screechkit in bloodclan please help!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Leopardkit and Newhope

    An unusual golden spotted kit came in, mewling. Another full grown she carried the kit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Farrah

    The cream shecat pads in. "My name is Farrah and l used to own 2 orphanages. May l help with advertising and adopting and kits?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Starlight

    You may all join. Soory I was off. Shcool shopping. Bios in next result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    This is a wonderful book. The depiction of personal and work dynamics and ambitions, interlocked with politics, sharp observations, immigration and racial policies, written with wit, deep penetration into human consiousness and motivations, salted with satir and humor and spiced with suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Unborn kit

    Is there anyone who needs a kit?im Maplekit a orange shekit with white patches and green eyes ??(im not Mapleshade)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    SPARKLEFIRE: HELP I'M HAVING 23 KITS!

    Help please! I'm having kits! It feels like 2 dozen! My mate abandoned me, and I've been wondering the forest for 2 weeks! *she falls to the floor with a thud*. If I die... Tell my kits the fortune is in the... *dies*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Echostar

    :( sorry. I gtg i guess. My kits are waiting back at camp for me. Good luck with everything.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Rock

    Walks off

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Silverleopard (A StarClan medicine cat)

    Silver leopard slips into the den confidently, spotted silver pelt shining. She gives the two queens borage leaves and sticks. "Do not fear," she reassures the queens, "Your many kits will grow to be healthy and be fine warriors." Then, she helps the queens with delivering their kits.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    HELP???PLEASE??? Im having kits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am having...gasp....8 kits..gasp....it hurts and i....gasp have been like this for two hours......gasp.....please help...gasp.....my mate abandoned me ...gasp.....and said he didnt love me and didnt wanto have kits with me....gasp......help me please...gasp.....i am Dapplenose....gasp.....* slumps to the ground in pain*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Amberkit i need a mommy

    *is very weak and tired*Help me......please*stops breathing for a second*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Firetail

    Neonstripe?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2