Customer Reviews for

The Barbie Chronicles: A Living Doll Turns Forty

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love barbie!!

Who ever dont like barbie is a hater cuz i love barbie:0

posted by 11718723 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Barbie is awesome!

Barbie is a very inspiring icon, displaying good health, eagerness, and a can-do spirit. She is a true american, following the american dream. I only read the sample but it was most informative. From research it is saddening to read how much people hate poor barbie. Thi...
Barbie is a very inspiring icon, displaying good health, eagerness, and a can-do spirit. She is a true american, following the american dream. I only read the sample but it was most informative. From research it is saddening to read how much people hate poor barbie. This book explains why barbie has such a huge impact. Go barbie! Barbiegirl1399

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Barbie is awesome!

    Barbie is a very inspiring icon, displaying good health, eagerness, and a can-do spirit. She is a true american, following the american dream. I only read the sample but it was most informative. From research it is saddening to read how much people hate poor barbie. This book explains why barbie has such a huge impact. Go barbie! Barbiegirl1399

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Ihmm

    If u say nobody likes barbie u wrong casue u boughg it. It ok tho.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Book

    Bad book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I love barbie!!

    Who ever dont like barbie is a hater cuz i love barbie:0

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Good

    Gooooooooooooooooooooodggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaatttttt

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    lalala

    truu daat i love it a alot ! (;

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Will this be awsome?????

    This is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I l-o-v-e barbie and ken

    Shes awesome i wish she was alive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    I LVOE BARBIE

    Apperently my grandma bought me one of those mellenium princess barbies when I was little, 'cause she just gave it to me and I love it! She has the most ornate blue ballgown with silver trim! I swear I will keep her forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Cool i love barbies to

    J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I do to

    I play with Barbie and Ken all the time too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I love barboe and always will

    I always play with barbie. And I play with her and Ken :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Book

    Wheres the details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    For all porposes

    Really if you are a goth then buy it use the doll to for your gruge so you dont get pist at a ditz for a girl you use it for play for thearpy to use for i dont now use your imagian and if you really wanted to use it to make youtube videos

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    zzzzzzzz sleepy

    got bored this book is freakin stupid hate it to death no one likes barbies at all

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    Propaganda in Pink

    While I wouldn't write 'The Barbie Chronicles' off as a total loss, I certainly wouldn't say I took anything away from it either. Nothing in this book made me think any differently or change my opinions about anything. It is basically a series of essays, some of which hail Barbie as the pinnacle of feminine pride, and some of which condemn her to burn at the stake. Personally, I found it laughable that some people could feel so strongly about such a material issue. The book is worth reading if you study womens' studies or are interested in that field of study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    A Real Life Look At A Really Small Muse

    It is shocking to learn that such a tiny doll could have such a huge impact on the way most little girls grow up. Instead of other baby dolls that direct girls towards motherhood, Barbie invites us to take a closer look at ourselves, and at what we can become as individuals. Barbie in herself is a course in the psychological development of young girls (and boys). My favourite essay is one entitled 'Barbie In Black And White', in which professor Ann DuCille explores the lack of ethnicity in Barbie-land. This book is an absolute must for any grown up boy or girl that has ever owned a Barbie doll, who has ever wondered about her plastic ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Great book-not an insult to the intelect

    I have been a Barbie collector for my whole life and am always fascinated by the strong emotions even the mention of her name elicites. This book presents the story of how many different people's lifes have been touched by Barbie- positive or negative. It will make you look at Barbie in a whole different way because it goes beyond the typical opinions one hears about her and her impact on society is examined in a non-biased way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1