BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Barbie and Ruth: The Story of the World's Most Famous Doll and the Woman Who Created Her

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Barbie? Is that you Barbie? Is that you?

    You look like another word for poo.... DAT RYHMED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Aweshome

    I love this book, i just git the sample though. Shoul i buY it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Creation of America's Favorite Doll

    Barbie and Ruth is book with a story of a woman filled with ambition. She begins her journey into her business of America's most popular doll wasn't an easy one. Because of the male dominant business society during the 50's and 60's, it made Ruth's situation a little more difficult. I would say that a major theme throughout this book is to keep your mind set on the goal you are striving for. Ruth could have easily given up and become a normal housewife like any other woman during that time period, but because she refused to let society define who she was to become, she accomplished all of her goals plus some. I definitely enjoyed how Robin Gerber not only told the story of Ruth's business hardships, but also her childhood and other family hardships that occurred. This aspect of the book allowed the reader to be inside Ruth's life and understand her struggles because she was raised by a sister rather than a mother, the intimate relationship that began long ago with her husband Elliot, and also the history with her children Barbara and Ken. This biography was not one that dragged on for what seemed like forever, it was an enjoyable read. Although, if there was one characteristic I would change would be the lack of pictures. Mental pictures could be made without a doubt, but physical pictures that allowed the reader into Ruth's life and what her environment looked like would have been nice. If you're an individual who enjoys the history of the world's most popular doll, Barbie, or women that succeed in the business world, then this is definitely the book for you. I wouldn't suggest it if you don't take interest in small details of how the product became world known.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not much about Barbie in this book

    The title is all wrong for this book. If you are looking for a book about Barbie this is not it. This book is the story of the Handlers and Mattel. Barbie is hardly mentioned. To me it reads like an 8th graders essay. There is information about a fascinating story but is not presented in a very interesting format. A good story but could and should have been a lot better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Interesting Historical View of Women in Management

    Robin Gerber has unearthed an appealing story about Ruth and the evolution of Barbie and Ruth throughout the years. It is a quick read putting forth aspects of Ruth's life, the effect of her drive and aspirations on the people around her, and the success she achieved and lost. Ruth is a hard driving, insightful entrepreneur unafraid to take risks in a time when people thought she had no place in business. Barbie was Ruth's vision for all little girls to come - you can have beauty, power, and a life full of expriences beyond the home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read for both industry experts and curious novelists

    Barbie & Ruth was more about the inception of Mattel than the creation of Barbie. It was somewhat biographical about Ruth Handler and her rise to glory, fall from grace and quiet exit from the toy world. However don't be discouraged because I thought the author covered the Barbie story quite well. I especially enjoyed the many different views on Ruth's personality and business acumen. I'm not sure Ruth would have enjoyed the author's portrayal of her but for me it made it that much more believable. The book did not endear me to Ruth. Starting out the book with her court sentencing made me have an instant dislike for her in ways that are reinforced throughout the book. However by the end I felt I had a better understanding of who she was as a person.
    I really enjoyed every page of this book; it was well written and engaging. I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    A Well-Researched and Fascinating Look at Ruth and Barbie

    This book captured my interest from the first words written. It gave the reader insight into Ruth Handler and her incredible entreprenurial and industrious spirit. How Barbie was created and marketed was a great story, as was the building and development of Mattel. Although Ruth is accused of fraud, it's impossible not to admire, respect, and revere her. Gerber's writing style is engaging and holds one's interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1