Customer Reviews for

Barbra: The Way She Is

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    PERFECTIONIST

    One word nicely sums up Barbra Streisand: PERFECTIONIST. This book offers a revealing look at her as an unloved, ugly duckling child raised by a coldhearted mother and a cruel stepfather. As a result, Barbra sets lofty goals to become an actress/singer and win attention from the general public. She has many hurdles to overcome but her tenacity and incredible singing voice eventually attract the agents and theater people who are able to launch her career. Slowly she begins to collect a steady group of fans but when fate intervenes she is awarded the Broadway role of Fanny Brice in Funny Girl and a star is born. The author is very detailed about her personality, her attitudes and her very strong opinions. He delves into every detail of her personal life and portrays her as promiscious, overly ambitious and a skinflint. These traits have made her a reputation as being hard to work with and many Hollywood bigwigs flatly refuse to do so. This book has left me with the impression that Ms. Streisand is a self-centered egomaniac. She has suffered many personal disappointments in her life but professionally she has achieved super stardom. At 67 she has mellowed and now lives quielty off the Pacific coast with her husband, James Brolin. For fans of B. Stresand, I would definately recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Good

    The book was good but I was a little disappointed at the end. It was brief on her marriage and dwelled too much in the Bill Clinton bashing. I'm also am an avid fan and enjoyed some new stories but did not like the negative remarks the author made about her. I would read it if you don't know much about her but I have read almost every book and was not much more informed. I keep listening to her music.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    its awesome

    i lobed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Mahvelous!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1