Customer Reviews for

Bare

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thanks, Annie

    "Bare" is the album I've been waiting for: melancholy, harmonic, catchy, and up-beat... all in one package. I have been a huge fan of Annie's since Eurythmics, but I was not all that thrilled with "Medusa" or "Diva". I wasn't expecting all that much out of this release and perhaps that's what made it such a pleasant surprise for me. The minute I put the earphones on in Virgin, I was hooked. Each and every song on "Bare" is terrific. Beautifully arranged and orchestrated with timely and meaningful lyrics. Annie's voice is in fine form, not something you can say for every aging pop star. She's managed to stay current without looking or sounding ridiculous (take note Rolling Stones, Madonna). Her only challenge now is to produce her next album at this level of quality. Thank you Annie for this gem!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BRAVA ANNE

    When I first listened to this cd, I was disappointed,but, after a few plays, I can't stop listening. FANTASTIC. I agree with above, could be album of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kismet

    I just began listening to this after my girlfriend broke up with me. It's as if this lady got inside my mind and tugged at my broken heart strings. It soothed me with an empathetic melody that says, "Relax, enjoy the music, you are not alone". Fantastic music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wallowing in pain!

    I'm a true Lennox fan, as evidenced by the fact I bought this album without even hearing it. I'm really disappointed with it and can't believe the glowing reviews that appear here. The unrelenting theme of pain, loss and self-doubt that runs through all the material in this album drains any pleasure one could take from hearing Annie's silvery voice. How could she go from ironic to unrelievedly dreary? Has she spent too many years in therapy? If you are looking for music to be depressed with, this is for you. If not, put Diva in your CD player and forget about this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lennox Bares Her Soul

    My wife bought this wonderful, powerful new CD by Annie Lennox for me for Father's Day. What a fine gift! Lennox does indeed lay bare her deepest emotions, pain and thoughts. The gentle melodies and easy rhythms will fool you. This is an "easy" CD to listen to but if you pay attention to the words, you will enter a world that is not so easy, not so peaceful. But that's okay. There's nothing wrong with thinking, is there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST ALBUM by ANYONE IN YEARS!

    Annie's voice is full, mysterious and beautiful. Her lyrics are soulful and rich. This is a must have CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We luv you, Ms. Lennox!

    She is the real thing! Her contribution to the music industry is indeed remarkable! Bare is probably the best of Ms. Lennox's solo effort. A Beautiful Thing is the song that truly stands out from this album What we need are more female artists like ANNIE LENNOX, and less britney spears!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Annie's worth the wait

    Annie made it worth the wait "Bare" is the first Annie's solo album since 1995's "Medusa", a great collection of covers that took her up to the Grammy's stage for the first single "No More I Love You's". I still believe it is a shame she didn't release the Unplugged session she did for MTV. Her first solo album, "Diva" was released in 1992. In 1999 she joined David Stewart for "Peace", a new album with Eurythmics. "Bare" turns out to be, according to her own description, an expossure of herself at this point of her life, enriched by all kinds of expeirences that she shares with us. This is what makes the album so unique and that's the reason why I was so doubtful about playing at first, I am in a very sensitive mood now and I was affraid to fall into sadness, but hearing Annie is like hearing angels. The first track, "A Thousand Beautiful Things", is a beautiful song, with a wonderful orchestral arrangement. It is followed by one of the first singles to be promoted: "Pavement Cracks" a powerful song, with the Lennox seal all over it. "The Hurting Time" is the third song, and it definitely "takes you there...", it has an outstanding keyboard performance that joines a peaceful vocal by Annie, although this song is more than 7 minutes long, you fall so deep into it, that you won't feel time passing by.The fourth song "Honestly" makes honor to its title, it expresses feelings that you have inside and haven't been able to take out, but can not hold them anymore, who hasn't been there ?. "Wonderful" and "Bitter Pill" are the following tracks, followed by the powerfull "Loneliness", a song that gives new dimensions to the meaning of some sensations, increased by one of the most powerful musical performances I've ever heard on a Lennox song. I could talk about every song on the album, but I believe it is nothing else but fair to say that "Bare" is a must have. This is an album that was done with the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Opened My Eyes!!

    Well, I have never liked The Eurythmics, although I have always been impressed w Lennox' voice. This album is certainly an eye-opener!! At this time, one of the top releases of the year. I am absolutely, overwhelmingly impressed!! Great all around, in every way. I can't fault this disc in any way. Hoorah for Ms. Lennox...job well-done!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fans have what they've been waiting for and more...new listeners will hear true annie lennox genius

    This album was by far worth the wait since her last album, Medusa. Annie was right when she told everyone that she was bearing her true feelings in this album. Yet,the songs are so easy to relate to for anyone that listens to even one song. The music and lyrics weave together to create a wonderful sound of music that I haven't heard on an album in quite awhile. I must say that this album is for die hard Annie Lennox fans, and for anyone who hasn't listened to her before. I think anyone can enjoy this album. This album has some quiet and reflective moments, but it also has upbeat songs that lift you up and could make anyone feel better. I had to rush out and buy this album promptly at 12:01 AM of the release date, and I'm glad I did. I even had people in my car on the way home who said they would listen to this album again and they didn't even own any Eurythmics or Annie albums. I highly recommend this album to anyone, even non Annie Lennox fans because this album has a strong message, but the music is amazing that anyone can enjoy it. Annie Lennox is back and on top with any other artist in the music industry today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome, SoulFUL, top vocalist

    Subdued, powerful, beyond the icon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous - too cool!

    I don't know what's up with the reviewer who inferred that these songs are covers. They are originals, written by Annie. Pay no attention to his misconceptions. This CD is fab and should win MAJOR accolades. Well worth its place on my overloaded CD racks. Annie rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Annie Bares All

    Person who wrote first review---Check CD insert. These aren't covers. These are some beautiful tracks. Try to listen to this at one sitting, you will get the feel for where she is coming from. You may decide you've experienced the same. I love this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Super Snore!

    Annie Lennox's new album is 11 songs so similar it really seems like one long song, all about how misreable she is and about how sad it is to be Annie Lennox. She's Bare! She's a caged bird! She's walking on broken glass! She's singing the saddest song she's got! She's living through the hurting time! She's swallowed a bitter pill! She's been erased! Blah blah blah. This is sub-Lilith detritus and I'm sick of the pleasure she seems to get out of masochism. Couple this with the ASTONISHINGLY PRETENTIOUS back cover notes about how the cover photograph represents how she's bare and recalls her past while reimagining her future and calls into questiosn everything we THOUGHT we knew about gender, race and sexuality. Huh, Annie, just looks like a rather lame cover photo to me. I mean come now, even JEWEL has moved on. I suggest for Annie's next album that she make ten suicide attempts... then she can write a song about each one, and the exquisite pain of getting her stomach pumped and the pleasure she felt as the blood drained from her body. Oh Annie, I know it hurts to be you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album of the Year

    Since I picked this collection up It's been played daily. It is my favorite by far this year and it will be hard to top. The songs arrangements and especially the vocals of Annie Lennox are beyound compare. Annie is so full of emotional suffering on so much of this but it really doesn't distract from the quality of the music. Heartbreakingly beautiful singing and arrangements like nothing I've heard in long time. I'm sure when it comes to giving out the best of the year, "BARE" will be right up the top of many lists. Excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular

    This album is spectacular. That is all that I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Articulate Poweful Touching

    Annie Lennox proves onces again that her voice, mind and passion come together and make music like no other. She is the Diva.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth the wait

    It's been a decade since Lennox released a solo album of her own material (1992's Diva), but she's back, and sounding more like her old Eurythmics self than 1999's Eurythmics record "Peace" did. Bare is an intriguing combination of the old and the new, both musically and lyrically, with several of the tracks ("Wonderful," "Pavement Cracks") featuring the somewhat disjointed structure common on songs by contemporary groups like No Doubt. Clearly, Lennox has been paying attention to what's been going on in pop music over the past decade. On the other hand, her complex harmonies and layered vocals are straight out of early-80's Eurythmics, and they're a welcome return to the sound that made her a star to begin with. Given today's pop landscape, who knows how this album will be received. The lyrics deal with a mature, divorced woman's emotions (Lennox is 48), though her feelings are certainly universal enough to be familiar to anyone - man or woman, young or old - with a pulse flowing through their brain. Unfortunately, we don't seem to have many of those in America anymore, so this album may fall right off a cliff. It's probably way too big a dose of reality for a country that thinks – courtesy corporate and government propaganda – it can somehow borrow and spend its way to prosperity and happiness. Maybe we'll be ready to hear what Lennox has to say after the bills come due, assuming we can cram boom boxes into the cardboard boxes we'll be retiring to . . . It is somewhat uplifting to see Lennox put so much thought, effort and soul into a record at this point in her career and her life. After all, this is a woman who's worth something like $50 million, and could simply retire to her own island somewhere, basking in the glory of a lengthy, successful career and her growing status as a pop legend (no less a figure than Madonna quotes from "Sweet Dreams" on her latest – and most disturbingly overwrought - record). While other rock dinosaurs seem content to glide by on somewhat dull retreads of their increasingly-stale formulas (the Rolling Stones, anyone?), Lennox is still out there sweatin' to make pop that's simultaneously smart and catchy, stark yet inspiring. It's almost enough to make you believe you too could start all over at 48, and try to rebuild your life after it all falls apart. Of course, facing life as a 48 year old millionaire divorcee probably isn't quite as bleak as facing the rest of your life as a minimum-wage WalMart greeter after Enron goes tits up and takes your retirement savings with it, but it's still bracing to hear pop that's not all about the loudmouth singing, that isn't a non-stop stream of bragging or pedantic moralizing. Lennox strives for a universal connection on Bare, and even though she's coming in from another world – making any real contact improbable – the effort is certainly appreciated. What's more amazing is that frequently she succeeds in bridging that species gap. Perhaps instead of quoting from "Sweet Dreams," Madonna would be wise to take a few more contemporary cues from a real pop master.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NEW MUSIC, BEAUTIFUL!

    I have heard this title on a pre-release promo and I love it! I can't wait until it is in the stores! Annie's song "1000 Beautiful Things" is very beautiful and it really sends a beautiful message to be thankful for the beautiful things in life. The catchy "Pavement Cracks" which is slated as the first radio single is very much like her track, "Little Bird" from Diva..very catchy, dramatic, great track!The cd also has some soul type songs like "Wonderful" & "Bitter Pill" Aretha look out!! The album ends with a prayer that is prayed by someone who doesn't think God is listening and it is ery dramatic and passionate.If you were a Eurythmics fan or Annie fan pick this up. This album is NOT cover songs like Medusa was its ALL new ALL Annie material!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bare

    Please disregard the above review for this album-- obviously he/she does not know what they are talking about. "Bare" is completely self-penned. This is the album of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2