Customer Reviews for

Bare Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Complex but interesting and fast-paced

    Illegal wildlife trade, romance, and many suspicious deaths make for a complex but interesting plot. I always appreciate the authenticity and complexity of Reichs' characters. Bare Bones continues the trend. Bare Bones evidences Reichs' expertise in forensic anthropology, and an impressive level of research into the illegal wildlife market. It's not your average murder mystery. Bare Bones also demonstrates Reichs' excellent ability to craft dialogue, her sense of humor, and a compelling romance. An excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love me some Ryan

    These books are so good that it hurts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    if you watch "Bones" you'll enjoy these!

    I simply cannot resist the actual forensic information Dr. Reichs shares with us in the Temperance Brennan novels. This one features a plane crash, and some issues with unknown bones. If you like mysteries or fictional stories that read like real-life, you'll want to investigate these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great

    I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Always keeps you going. Unusual sequence Love it! Have read other books by this author and enjoyed them I would say her books are for those who like something unusual. Gripping tales!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    If you like Fox's 'Bones', you'll love the original Temperance Brennan!

    I recommend starting with Deja Dead and reading right on through! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Another great Bones read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    great book and show

    i love this book. i read almost most all brennan novels than i found out that there's a shwo based on the books. It's called BONES and it's great. it's on fox and if you love teh books you should watch the show. Note: the seson finale was last week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    Excellent mix of human and animal characters!

    I loved Dr. Brennan and Detective Andrew Ryan as well as tough guy cop Erskine, 'Skinny' Slidell! Dr. Reichs did an excellent job creating human and animal characters and using the dog, Boyd, in sniffing out both danger and the bones she examines. BARE BONES was a fascinating tale of drug smuggling interwoven with poaching and profit in animals for medicinal uses. Their mistreatment at the hands of humans saddens me. Her study of various human populations and genetic disorders were also of interest. I liked the rant at the end; it showed Dr. Brennan's heart and facts about endangered animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    Best yet!

    This author improves with each novel. Bare Bones moves so quickly you can 'barely' stand to put it down. An intelligent read that still entertains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    kathy reichs' doesn't write fast enough for me!!!!

    i've been waiting patiently for this book and the release of 'bare bones' couldn't have come a better time. kathy reichs' never insults her reader's intelligence, but manages to explain the science and the forensics involved in her difficult field so smoothly and logically that the reader feels a part of the investigation and a part of tempe's life. i'm hooked!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kathy Reichs gets better with each book she writes

    Tempe Brennan shuttles between Charlotte, North Caroline and Quebec serving as a forensic anthropologist as needed. Currently she is in Charlotte, informing someone she knows that his granddaughter was burned to death in a wood stove and the police want to question his daughter. After she performs that grim duty, she, her daughter and their dog attend a barbecue party.<P> When the canine behaves like he did once before when he found a body, Tempe looks and finds bones. Her initial determination is that they are bear remains, which leaves her happy that no one was murdered and she and her Canadian boyfriend can go on a vacation. Just hours before she is to pick him up, she is called to the site of a plane crash where the bodies of two men were burned beyond recognition. While examining the bones for clues to the identity, Tempe relooks the bear remains and finds a human bone. This discovery leads to a series of events that force Tempe to either take a life or forfeit her own.<P> Kathy Reichs gets better with each book she writes. Considering the stratospheric level she started at that is quite an accomplishment. Her protagonist has made life-altering decisions and acts upon them so that the character stays fresh. BARE BONES is a thriller that fans of Patricia Cornwell and Linda Fairstein will enjoy. The novel contains just enough forensic data to make the story line understandable but not enough to overwhelm the reader. It is easy to predict that this book will be a New York Times best seller.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4