Customer Reviews for

Bare It All

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another Keeper from Lori Foster. Bare It All is following Reese

Another Keeper from Lori Foster.

Bare It All is following Reese Bareden (introduced in Run the Risk), a sexy, capable alpha male who’s keen interest in his prim and proper neighbor Alice has all his protective and possessive instincts coming to light. Being a cop and k...
Another Keeper from Lori Foster.

Bare It All is following Reese Bareden (introduced in Run the Risk), a sexy, capable alpha male who’s keen interest in his prim and proper neighbor Alice has all his protective and possessive instincts coming to light. Being a cop and knowing how to read the signs, Reese is determined to find out what has a fragile little thing like Alice running so scared.

Lori Foster definitely knows how to write a sexy and exciting story, with a dream guy that can hold his own - who that protects what’s his against all odds - and a woman that you can’t help but root for.

Alice has some dark things in her past that have taught her to never let her guard down and to always be prepared. The guilt that consumes her is real to her and I really felt for her and her struggle to move on. Reese is a complication she didn’t see coming and it was a sensual journey of self discovery and acceptance that had me reading until the very end. Alice, with the help of Reese finally starts to really overcome her fears and insecurities. I love the fact that hard core Reese is thrown upside down at every turn by quiet and unassuming Alice. She proves that looks can be deceiving and it keeps Reese on his toes around her. I enjoyed the range of emotions Alice experienced throughout the book, she really came to life for me as a character. Of course, Reese and his irresistible charm (both emotional and physical) added to the burning chemistry that sparked a hot wire between them.

A lot of times in romance novels the male, the female or both deny the emotional intensity between each other. I hate when they chock up the emotional intensity as ‘just great sex’! It was refreshing to read a direct, no beating around the bush way to love for these two. Another plus for Lori Foster, her heroine was not completely helpless, she was smart and resourceful from the get go and (Spoiler!) stays that way throughout the book.

For die hard fans of Lori Foster this one is another keeper. If you are into the strong alpha male protecting his not so helpless female than this is one you definitely want to check out. After all you can’t go wrong with a kick ass, exciting plot that has a smoking hot hero, a courageous heroine, a healthy dose of danger, mystery and a beautiful love story. Throw in the steamy bedroom scenes and the adorable Cash and this is another favorite on my keeper shelf.

* * * If like me you were hooked on unpredictable and hunky Rowdy Yates from Run the Risk (the 1st book in this three part series), you’ll love the teasers that will wet your appetite for more of him in this installment. Look for Rowdy’s book – Getting Rowdy, out Sept. 2013 – to find out more about him and feisty Avery. I will be pre-ordering that . . . right now!

posted by Wishfull_Miss on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not good

## First, let me say I'm a huge Lori Foster fan. That being said, I hated this book. Alice was freakish and Reese was just plain weird. They had zero chemistry, sexual or otherwise. And the dog received more page time than the hero. Ugh, and the secondary character Rowd...
## First, let me say I'm a huge Lori Foster fan. That being said, I hated this book. Alice was freakish and Reese was just plain weird. They had zero chemistry, sexual or otherwise. And the dog received more page time than the hero. Ugh, and the secondary character Rowdy was a man-whore pig. I can't believe after that douchebag move with Avery, Lori is writing them their own story. I won't be buying it. Skip this one.

posted by 9394860 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Another Keeper from Lori Foster. Bare It All is following Reese

    Another Keeper from Lori Foster.

    Bare It All is following Reese Bareden (introduced in Run the Risk), a sexy, capable alpha male who’s keen interest in his prim and proper neighbor Alice has all his protective and possessive instincts coming to light. Being a cop and knowing how to read the signs, Reese is determined to find out what has a fragile little thing like Alice running so scared.

    Lori Foster definitely knows how to write a sexy and exciting story, with a dream guy that can hold his own - who that protects what’s his against all odds - and a woman that you can’t help but root for.

    Alice has some dark things in her past that have taught her to never let her guard down and to always be prepared. The guilt that consumes her is real to her and I really felt for her and her struggle to move on. Reese is a complication she didn’t see coming and it was a sensual journey of self discovery and acceptance that had me reading until the very end. Alice, with the help of Reese finally starts to really overcome her fears and insecurities. I love the fact that hard core Reese is thrown upside down at every turn by quiet and unassuming Alice. She proves that looks can be deceiving and it keeps Reese on his toes around her. I enjoyed the range of emotions Alice experienced throughout the book, she really came to life for me as a character. Of course, Reese and his irresistible charm (both emotional and physical) added to the burning chemistry that sparked a hot wire between them.

    A lot of times in romance novels the male, the female or both deny the emotional intensity between each other. I hate when they chock up the emotional intensity as ‘just great sex’! It was refreshing to read a direct, no beating around the bush way to love for these two. Another plus for Lori Foster, her heroine was not completely helpless, she was smart and resourceful from the get go and (Spoiler!) stays that way throughout the book.

    For die hard fans of Lori Foster this one is another keeper. If you are into the strong alpha male protecting his not so helpless female than this is one you definitely want to check out. After all you can’t go wrong with a kick ass, exciting plot that has a smoking hot hero, a courageous heroine, a healthy dose of danger, mystery and a beautiful love story. Throw in the steamy bedroom scenes and the adorable Cash and this is another favorite on my keeper shelf.

    * * * If like me you were hooked on unpredictable and hunky Rowdy Yates from Run the Risk (the 1st book in this three part series), you’ll love the teasers that will wet your appetite for more of him in this installment. Look for Rowdy’s book – Getting Rowdy, out Sept. 2013 – to find out more about him and feisty Avery. I will be pre-ordering that . . . right now!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Terrible!

    The repitition was terrible. The story line could have been good. But she danced over and through thoughts like she had no editor. Almost like there was a page limit for book, and she had to fill the space

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not good

    ## First, let me say I'm a huge Lori Foster fan. That being said, I hated this book. Alice was freakish and Reese was just plain weird. They had zero chemistry, sexual or otherwise. And the dog received more page time than the hero. Ugh, and the secondary character Rowdy was a man-whore pig. I can't believe after that douchebag move with Avery, Lori is writing them their own story. I won't be buying it. Skip this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    I am a Lori Foster fan, but this book was awful.  Boring, strang

    I am a Lori Foster fan, but this book was awful.  Boring, strange characters and awkward conversations.  I would not recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Having reread Run the Risk and immediately behind it went straig

    Having reread Run the Risk and immediately behind it went straight into Bare It All, I really expected to love it. Hmmm...yeah, not really. I don't even know just how to say it. I really liked Alice. But she turned out to be more than a little needy, insecure in herself. And Reese turned out to be a bit of a bully. Using her feelings for him to make her do what he wanted. Dictating her every move. Really, I did not like this one at all. I am still looking forward to Rowdy. Though I am kind of afraid he is going to be a disappointment too. I liked him in this story but for his usage of women. Usage. I will continue on with it though, hoping for the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    So so

    It was alright. I was more interested in rowdy and avery. I WAS a rowdy fan, but now i hope avery makes him suffer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Disappointed

    I wanted to like this book because I really liked Reese and was intrigued by Alice after reading the first book. Unfortunately, the way the romance was developed between the characters just didn't work for me. Given all the issues Alice obviously has at the beginning of this story as well as the strange way she talks and interacts with the other characters, Reese's intense attraction (and near-constant state of physical arousal) comes off as kinda creepy rather than romantic. I'm all for lust and hot sex, but IMO, Alice just wasn't at a point when she should have appealed so strongly to a normal guy.

    I give Lori Foster credit for creating an unusual heroine. Alice is an interesting character who deserves her happily ever after. If some of her issues had been resolved first, this story would have been a lot better. I like that she wasn't your typical heroine, but she was a little too strange to be a credible romantic lead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Good Read

    This book took me a little longer to get into. I was about half way through before it really started to pick up for me. I was interested in how she incorporated Trace. I had not read the book about Trace in his series, but I will go back now and pick that one up. This to me was more of a love story, a little less action, but still good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Alice could have been a stronger person.

    Alice could have been a stronger person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Just not worth it

    In one word muddy,and befote the end tedious. I usually find fosters work engaging, but this book rambled around with no clear direction. I gpt ywo thirds of the way through it and just gave up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great

    But read in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Absolutely loved this!!!  I knew I liked Reese before but he's e

    Absolutely loved this!!!  I knew I liked Reese before but he's even better now.  I waited a bit to read this one and it was totally worth the
    wait.  I was so thrilled to see Trace make an appearance.  Everything about this book just fit so perfectly.  I love to see the progression
    of all the people and the relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Aubrey
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    WOW! Bare It All was a fantastic read. I loved it. I fell in love with all the characters. Reese and Alice were a perfect fit. I definitely need to go back and read the first book of the series. The story line was very well done. I kept wanting to read to see what twists and turns were going to come next.

    At first I did not see how Alice and Reese would fit together in that Reese is a no nonsense man and Alice is a meek and quiet. But as soon as Reese and Alice are in the same room sparks fly between them. Both are a little broken and are unable to trust people very easily. The heat and sex between Alice and Reese is intense and very well written.

    Alice gets herself into the middle of trouble when she tries to save a woman from a drug dealer. The main plot is around how to break open the drug operation. Reese wants to make Alice’s life safe for her without having Alice involved. The secondary characters fit into Reese and Alice’s life nicely. Logan is Reese’s best who is engaged to Pepper. Pepper’s brother is Rowdy who helps bust open the drug operation. I really want to read Rowdy’s story. He is a man that doesn’t want more than sex from women. I really want to see how Lori writes Rowdy’s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    4 stars I liked Bare it All. But it had to much swearing and se

    4 stars

    I liked Bare it All. But it had to much swearing and sex scenes. The plot was a little complex. A bunch of the same characters that have been in her books before are back. I always like to see them again. Though I felt I had missed out and want to know more about Trace's story line. I missed that one.

    Bare it All takes place right after Run The Risk ends. Reese's apartment is a crime scene. He needs a place to sleep so he is offered Alice's couch. Reese feels he owes Alice a lot. He wonders how she summed up the good guys and bad guys so fast and was able to give Logan a gun.

    Who knows if they would have all survived if Alice hadn't noticed everything and reacted right. Reese was handcuffed to his bed. So was his boss. Rowdy would have been killed. Logan and pepper would have walked right into the mess without a gun. Only Logan was shot in the arm.

    Rowdy stopped by Alice's apartment he realized to that she was scared of something. He was used to watching over his sister and keeping her safe. Now that Logan was going to do that job he was at loose ends. He did not like how calm she was after the shooting when she said," It's better when they are dead" Instead of getting all of her story Alice was getting into his head.

    Alice was afraid of Reese and his dog would go back to his place. She was nervous after everything that had happened. She had been dog sitting Reese's dog he had rescued. She worked out her apartment and kept to herself. Only talked to Reese after he got his dog.

    Reese did a quick search of her apartment and found a bunch more weapons but not all. When she confronted him he admitted to it. She showed him all her weapons. Alice had been kidnapped and held for over a year. She was not going to be helpless anymore.

    Reese and Rowdy were joining forces to keep an eye on her. While Alice and Pepper were shopping at same time Reese & Logan were interviewed by prosecutor and internal affairs. (because they fired and killed bad guys in Run the Risk) After Pepper left Alice noticed two cars meeting and saw a girl with bandaged arm taken from one car to another. She knew something was wrong and followed them to a seedy place.


    She talked to guy to let her use his phone for help and once in the room the guy got between her and the door. She tasered him got restraints on him and then tasered him again got him handcuffed to pipe. She got the girl out of their and asked her if she wanted to call the cops. or she would take her where she needed to go. She wanted the bus station. So Alice gave Cheryl money for ticket. Her special cell number and a code word if she was in trouble.

    Rowdy got stopped at a light and lost her for a bit but found her as she was coming out of house with Cheryl and followed to bus station. Called her and told her to go back in and wait till he got back. Rowdy went back to the house and saw two other guys go in and three guys go out. Then followed Alice back to her place.

    Lots of action, gun fights, fist fights and falling in love. Because Alice did what she did and not only the one girl was taken to be a drug mule their was a ring. Rowdy never thought he would be helping the cops and calling them friends. Now one was going to be his brother-in-law. I can't wait to read Rowdy story in the future.

    I was given this ebook to read and asked in exchange to give honest review by Netgalley.
    Expected publication: April 30th 2013 by HQN 480 pages ISBN-10: 0373777612

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Alice Appleton had been mixed up with a human trafficker, escape

    Alice Appleton had been mixed up with a human trafficker, escaped and then lived in fear of being found and the pay back. She keeps everything about her past hidden, but that is really hard when her friends are trying to be so nice and helpful and then she gets involved with Detective Reese Bareden. The story itself was really interesting and exciting but I found the first 20% or so confusing.  I think this was mainly because I kept getting Reese and Rowdy confused (their names are too similar). I had no idea which one actually owned the dog!




    I really liked Rowdy but I had already read Getty Rowdy and liked it a lot so I thought I would like this one too, but no. 
    Reese was a well developed character who was very serious about his job as detective, very kind and thoughtful. I didn't like Alice at all. She was so strange, with reason. But she was just odd and I couldn't relate to her. All she ever seemed to want was to have sex with Reese.




    I felt like I missed a book about Alice since there were so many hints about her secrets that I just didn't know about. I thought it was odd that the men were always taking their shirts off. The author seems to have a thing about men's bodies and bare chests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    It took me a bit to get into this narrator, but once I was immer

    It took me a bit to get into this narrator, but once I was immersed in the story it was amazing.  I love the story itself from the get-go.  Foster somehow made this novel simultaneously cute & sexy, racy & suspenseful.  

    Foster brings another heartbreakingly brilliant alpha male to the forefront with this tale. t was almost comical at times watching him fight against his desires.  I appreciate how multifaceted each character in this novel is, be they main characters or supporting cast.  No one is one sided. I also loved seeing them all come together.  

    Overall?  I felt like I was watching a crossover episode of my favourite shows.  It was brilliant and I can’t wait to reread it in print.  It’s one of those stories that stays with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Just finished this book in the wee hours of the morning because

    Just finished this book in the wee hours of the morning because I could not put it down. This is the second book in the Love Undercover series and I absolutely loved it. I liked the first one just fine but I think this one was great! It was hot and suspenseful. Very fast paced and everything moved wonderfully. I was also excited that the heroine, Alice, who was one of the secondary characters in Trace of Fever was the lead in this story. Loved her and I loved, loved, loved Reese. Getting Rowdy will be my next read so I'm excited to continue this series and I'm really looking forward to Dash's story. I imagine that's going to be fun to read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed this so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    First off, I want to say that I really list Lori Foster's books

    First off, I want to say that I really list Lori Foster's books and have enjoyed her series' particularly the Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series and the SBC Fighers. However, I did not enjoy this book as much as I have others. I like alpha males, but the way Reece took over and acted like he knew best just rubbed me the wrong way. Also, it felt like the men talked down to the "little women" and were subtly laughing at them. I get that alpha men don't like to admit to weakness, but it also frustrated me the way that they talked about the women when they were concerned about the men being injured. I liked the end of the book much better when it felt like the women were treated more as equals (around the time the Trace - from the MWWtEoH series) I did like Alice, she was quirky and straightforward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Love this author she is wonderful so is this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5