Customer Reviews for

Bareback

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

OMG!

I am a 49 year old hetero woman, been married 29 years and this book ROCKED My WORLD. I loved it. Great love story. I've read it twice and I never read books twice. I intend to read many more Chris Owen books.......

posted by TRFH on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars

After reading all the good reviews, I have to say I had high hopes for this novel. And for the first 2/3 of the book they were well met. Then it was ruined completely. Small SPOILER alert: Jake and Tor fall for each other and begin a relationship. It's obvious they ...
After reading all the good reviews, I have to say I had high hopes for this novel. And for the first 2/3 of the book they were well met. Then it was ruined completely. Small SPOILER alert: Jake and Tor fall for each other and begin a relationship. It's obvious they are in love. They do have their problems like any couple. Then, we learn Tor is cheating on Jake, and has been for some time. The author tries to resolve it Jake is crushed by the betrayal and Tor feels horrible about it. They break up, but eventually get their happily every after. But, I couldn't enjoy it. I'm not a prude, but I have trouble buying that a person could cheat on someone they supposedly love so much. We learn that Tor wasn't happy, and that it happened because the boys weren't communicating with each other. So? Leave the person, then screw whoever you like. I know this happens in the 'real world' but that's not why I read M/M erotic romance. Silly as it seems, Jake forgave Tor, but I couldn't. There is a sequel, 'Natural Disaster', but I'm not certain I want to read it. Despite this, the story was well-written and the sex was hot. The infidelity bothered me (obviously), but may not bother other readers. I enjoyed 'The Tin Star' by JL Langley much more--the angst and conflict were there without the betrayal. I highly recommend it. I also recommend other novels by Chris Owen.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    3.5 Stars

    After reading all the good reviews, I have to say I had high hopes for this novel. And for the first 2/3 of the book they were well met. Then it was ruined completely. Small SPOILER alert: Jake and Tor fall for each other and begin a relationship. It's obvious they are in love. They do have their problems like any couple. Then, we learn Tor is cheating on Jake, and has been for some time. The author tries to resolve it Jake is crushed by the betrayal and Tor feels horrible about it. They break up, but eventually get their happily every after. But, I couldn't enjoy it. I'm not a prude, but I have trouble buying that a person could cheat on someone they supposedly love so much. We learn that Tor wasn't happy, and that it happened because the boys weren't communicating with each other. So? Leave the person, then screw whoever you like. I know this happens in the 'real world' but that's not why I read M/M erotic romance. Silly as it seems, Jake forgave Tor, but I couldn't. There is a sequel, 'Natural Disaster', but I'm not certain I want to read it. Despite this, the story was well-written and the sex was hot. The infidelity bothered me (obviously), but may not bother other readers. I enjoyed 'The Tin Star' by JL Langley much more--the angst and conflict were there without the betrayal. I highly recommend it. I also recommend other novels by Chris Owen.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    OMG!

    I am a 49 year old hetero woman, been married 29 years and this book ROCKED My WORLD. I loved it. Great love story. I've read it twice and I never read books twice. I intend to read many more Chris Owen books.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jake rides out to find Tor after he has gone missing in the bosses truck. Jake finds Tor along side of the broken down vehicle looking as angry as he feels. Their tempers flare briefly when each wonders where the other has been. Seeing Tor stirs the attraction Jake has always had for him. Jake doesn't think Tor is attracted to men but when Tor starts kissing him, the sparks fly.***** Once they get a taste of each other there is no turning back and they start a torrid affair. Tor and Jake each bring their own emotional baggage into the relationship and it eventually causes problems. Even though they mean the world to each other, communication starts to break down. A devastating betrayal by Tor leaves Jake feeling angry and hurt. Will these cowboys be able to work their way back to each other or is the best thing they ever had gone for good?***** I was immediately drawn to the title Bareback made my heart speed up. As soon as I started reading, I knew I had chosen wisely! Tor and Jake are filled with so much passion for each other, they just explode whenever they are together. Their relationship is volatile and lustful. They are tough and handsome and incredibly sexy. As a couple, Jake and Tor are breathtaking. Every time they touched each other, I was tingling with anticipation and when they made love, I was incredibly aroused.***** Although, Jake and Tor learn some valuable lessons about their love, the path they walk to find themselves and their way back to each other is a rough and heartbreaking one. I was crying for them, no, I was sobbing. I have such high praise for Chris Owen's ability to make me feel that much emotion. But, honestly, it just about killed me as I felt like I lived this book right along with Tor and Jake. Bareback is a provocative and moving story. It's well written and heartfelt. I was really rooting for Tor and Jake and you will be too. Chris Owen did an extraordinary job writing Bareback!*****Reviewed by Nannette for Joyfully Reviewed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Meh

    I can't put my finger on why, but this book dragged on for me. I wasn't really interested until the last bit where the real drama started between them, and even then there were parts I skimmed through. I'm not sorry I read it, but I probably won't read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Great

    I'm a 45 year old hetero woman and I was blown away by the characters and the story. I fell in love with these two men from the beginning and it felt like I was right there with them through their ups and downs. The sex was hot, plentiful and probably more erotic then anything I've read. There is a sequel and while its not quite as good it's still worth reading. I will definitely be reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Gay Cowboy Erotica Evah

    Chris Owen took a relatively worn plot-line (well, it's worn now, maybe not so much in 2003) and made it fresh. Two gay cowboys fall in love. And they have lots and lots and lots and lots of sex. I'm on a gay cowboy kick, so I have recently read quite a few of these, and this is the best by far.

    What's different is that the plot has a couple of twists in it I never expected (one major one), and their relationship is so believable. They could have been a heterosexual or lesbian couple and it wouldn't have changed the story much. Well, if you took out the sex.

    The problems Jake and Tor work out in their relationship are believable, and not necessarily something only m/m couples deal with. The conversations are natural, and the relationships between Jake and Tor and other characters are also believable.

    And it's HOT!

    Too bad the cover image is so lame.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Both Romantic and Erotic

    The story is excellent. Romance, passion, conflict, and lots of erotic fun. Chris Owen weaves a tale of 2 cowboys (Tor and Taggart) trying to make a life for themselves. I love this book because the leading men are both headstrong, afraid of what they both feel, but wildly in love. They are no different than most straight couples. They have flaws and fights. The sex scenes are very steamy, but the story shows that sex cannot solve all problems. (If it did, Tor and Taggart would not have a care in the world.) Chris Owen's writing is GREAT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Chris Owen really has a way with pacing.

    I haven't finished Bareback yet, I am actually only on page 68 whih is what got my attention. Much like Gemini, which I oh soo very highly reccomend, I realized that Owen has a way of pacing narrarives in such a way that so much happens in so few pages. It is not that the pacing feels rushed but that you learn so much about the characters and so much happens in the plot and it could be in he span of ten short pages. Fret not that the story is not over two hundred pages for you will not be cheated. You will charactarizarion, conflict and SO MANY scenes of erotica from the daring to the playful to the heartwarming and the heart wrenching. So yes, I have not even breached page seventy, but I have already come to care about Tor and Jack enough to empathize with abd care about them, much like I did with Gent, Paul and Jaime of Gemini.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Excellent

    Great story. Maybe overdid it with the sex just a bit but it was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    The BEST GAY EROTICA LOVE STORY EVER!

    This book is about 75% hot hot sex and 25% love and heattache. The second in this series balances out this one where you RRALLY fal in love w/ these cowvoys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    By far the best M/M ever written!!!

    I have read this book many times and have searched hi and low looking for something similar to read...it just is not out there. Chris Owen is a genius writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Wonderful!

    A cowboy romance. It does not get better than that. This ebook took me on a memorable emotional ride. Yes. I cried and laughed. And its very sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS WAS AN EXCITING BOOK, AND COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!!

    Jake is a good man that comes from a bad background, and has moved on and become a ranch foreman. He's left all of his troubles behind him, and moved on to a better life. He falls for a bad boy named Tornado, and is outed before he wants to be, but he finds himself very happy to not have to hide his sexuality anymore. Some accept him for the good man he is, and some don't, and try to make trouble. Jake also finds out he has family that are interested in having a relationship with him, and is nervous about how to deal with people he barely knows, and have been told he was dead. The story was mezmerizing, and held a wide range of emotions, and is a must read, and I also enjoyed the follow-up book Natural disaster. This book can open your eyes to a world wide problem of ignorance, and of acceptance. I loved Jake and Tor together, and would love another follow-up book. Great read. Whether you like a love story, or hot man love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gay cowboy cliche? I think not!

    Jake and Tor take us on a emotionally charged, and sometimes physically draining (in a good way) ride through the life of ranch hands. Steady, dependable, hardworking Jake Taggart has his eye set on his fellow worker, Tor, a stubborn, smart-mouthed, but dedicated hand. When passions ignite, Jake and Tor fall head over heals for each other, but can their pasts, personalities and lust get in the way of their future together? Jake has his work cut out for him as he endures many trials with Tor, rediscovering his family and revealing his past and exposing himself in more ways than he thought possible. This book will get your heart beating, your emotions all in a twist and have you hot and bothered in all the right ways.

    Very highly recommended! 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    My kind of story

    I liked this book because the characters were people I could relate to. Some gay stories are all about just sex, or about dysfunctional gay men, who can't ever work things out. I liked the steamy sex scenes too. They reminded me of when I read 'From the depths of hell' Maybe one day Lance Trudeau and Chris Owen will do a collaboration. That would be excellent. Until then, I will just keep reading both of their books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Great book!!!

    Chris Owen's has created a world and characters that make you want to visit them again. The friendships between the men and the love relationships make this book warm, sweet, hot and sexy. This book is romantic without being sickenly sweet and angsty enough to be realistic without making it yet another book about a painful, dysfunctional relationship between two men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5