Customer Reviews for

Bared to You (Crossfire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

328 out of 358 people found this review helpful.

First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading

First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading BARED TO YOU by SYLVIA DAY I felt the need to. Sylvia Day brought Eva and Gideon's character to life. You'll love their story, I promise.

If you're looking for a book similar To Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L...
First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading BARED TO YOU by SYLVIA DAY I felt the need to. Sylvia Day brought Eva and Gideon's character to life. You'll love their story, I promise.

If you're looking for a book similar To Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James then BARED TO YOU is THE BOOK! It was recommended on the Romance board under Books similar to Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker. In my opinion I think it's better than Fifty Shades. It may or may not have to do with Sylvia Day being a seasoned author. You can be the judge of that.

From the moment Eva and Gideon meet, they're pulled towards each other. Whether it's physical attraction or love at first site, it was a connection they couldn't deny. Shortly after beginning their relationship they find that they're both broken. Eva's revelation of her past and then realization of Gideon's brings them closer. Yet it also exposes how fragile they each are. They're relationship is emotional, intense and complicated. Gideon and Eva are obsessed, possessive and jealous of each other. Put all those verbs and adjectives together and they're sex is explosive as well as they're relationship, if they're not careful.

I can't wait for the next book. My only hope is that it's not like Fifty Shades Darker. In Fifty Shades Darker, I just felt saturated with the sex scenes. It seemed as if the sex scenes were overpowering the storyline. About half way through I just skipped the sex scenes. By the end of the book, I felt as if I read the first book all over again. Needless to say I haven't had the inclination to read the third book, Fifty Shades Freed. I'm not saying I'll never read it, I'm just not curious enough to pay $9.99 to know the conclusion.

posted by kmags77 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

A Rather Shady Ripoff

I can't believe this book was even published. It's WAY too similar to Fifty, eerily similar, almost at the plagarism level. I didn't particularly care for the Shades trilogy, but while reading this, it made me want to go back to the Shades. The writing was so bad in tha...
I can't believe this book was even published. It's WAY too similar to Fifty, eerily similar, almost at the plagarism level. I didn't particularly care for the Shades trilogy, but while reading this, it made me want to go back to the Shades. The writing was so bad in that trilogy, it was almost comedic. The writing is definitely not as remedial as the Fifty Shades trilogy, but that's where the praise ends. While the characters seemingly had more depth, at least Eva's character did, they were completely unlikeable. I didn't feel a romantic connection between Eva and Gideon. And just like Shades, I became bored with the endless "misunderstandings" and ensuing makeup sex with no real resolution to their problems. Eva's secret was revealed in this book, but now it appears that readers will have to wait until future books to find out what the heck is wrong with Gideon. I hope the next book is free because it pains me to spend money on what will likely be another blah book.

posted by UrbanGurl on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've had this one in my TBR pile for awhile. After reading 50 S

    I've had this one in my TBR pile for awhile. After reading 50 Shades, I decided to give myself a bit of time before delving into this one because of all the talk of the similarities between the two. I'm glad I waited because I think that distance enabled me to appreciate the similarities and differences between the two.

    Gideon Cross is an uber wealthy 28 year old who happens to run into Eva Trammel as she times her commute from her apartment to her new job at the Crossfire building. She has no idea who the god-like man with dark hair and blue eyes is, but her stirs two emotions in her (even if she didn't quite realize what those were at the time): fear and hope.

    As I read the first half of the book, I could see how Eva's reluctance to bend to Gideon's will would have others saying this was similar to 50 Shades. He does have stalker tendencies. She, in no uncertain terms, tells Gideon she doesn't want anything to do with him. But for me, once you get past that and follow them as their embark on their relationship the similarities ended.

    Eva and Gideon both have a very key and vital parts of them that is broken. They have trust issues related to the events that caused them to be the way they are. They both struggle for control over their relationship because that is what they need to make sure the past does't repeat itself.

    While Gideon tends to alienate himself to ensure complete control, Eva has surrounded herself with people that have just as many issues as she has (which can't be good for her recovery either). Her best friend, Cary, is a recovering something (addict maybe) who she met in therapy in San Diego and hasn't been separated from since. We, along with Eva, get to watch him self-destruct and it makes you wonder what kind of effect that will have on Eva. Then there is Eva's mother. She's a whole lot of "out there" and definitely someone who blurs and crosses lines for her "piece of mind" regardless of the affect that will have on her daughter. While Gideon does fit into that same role with Eva, you can also see a hint of them wanting to break out of the molds they have both put themselves in and work together towards something healthy.

    The one thing you'd think these two would have it together on was the sex, considering how combustible they were from their very first kiss. But even with sex they had issues, granted not quite as large as everything else in their relationship, but it was still there. I did scratch my head when Gideon declared that Eva was a submissive, because everything we'd seen in their sex life up to that point showed them pretty evenly matched. I mean, who wouldn't melt if you had a god-like man that turned you on giving you multiple orgasms. But after thinking about it, I could see where Eva was a submissive, reluctantly.

    Clearly it's not going to be a clean and easy process. The last half of the book was messy and emotional, leaving me wondering "what next" as I flipped the page to see what would happen.

    Sylvia Day has created two very complex characters who's emotional scars are laid bare for us to read. Both of them are hard to connect with, because of those emotional scars, but as the story progresses and they share more of themselves with each other you can start to understand them better. I look forward to reading Deeper In You and learning more about Gideon and Eva.

    95 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Bared to You by Sylvia Day

    If you looking for the next good read after reading "Fifty Shades" series this is it. Also. I recommend JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series book ten Lover Reborn was amazing. Also read The Guardian by Sherrolyn Kenyon which was book 21 in the Dark Hunter series. Let me know what ypu think. Roe:)

    42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    This book was recommended to me when I was searching online on a

    This book was recommended to me when I was searching online on a book that is similar to the Fifty Shades series. I had just finished the series and loved it. I am giving Bared to You 4 stars because although it was REALLY good, I was disappointed at how much it was like Fifty Shades. Like even some of the lingo back and forth between the two characters I felt was copying.

    With that aside, I did enjoy the series. The store line is not entirely the same, but it has a lot of similarities (A LOT!). I will be reading the second book of the Crossfire series though when it comes out this October. If you are looking for something like Fifty Shades, I would recommend this. Just be forewarned that it is actually VERY similar. :-)

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Move over Fifty- there's a new bad boy in town.

    The book is so much better than Fifty Shades. Eva is more real than Ana in the sense that Eva is willing to make scarifies and concessions to be with Gideon, where as Anastasia never did. Both Eva and Gideon share traumatic pasts but they don't allow them years before come between them now. Instead both are willing to overcome their demons and build a healthy relationship. And that to me makes the series so much more interesting and much more likable because of the hope it gives that everyone, no matter what, deserves love and happiness. -trnrdrws

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I really liked this book. The characters are so real, they have

    I really liked this book. The characters are so real, they have flaws but they do their best to overcome them for the sake of their relationship. I am very anxious to read the next installment in this series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BARED TO YOU is book one in the Crossfire Series. This story is

    BARED TO YOU is book one in the Crossfire Series. This story is written in 1st person which I generally do NOT like, however I did enjoy it in this case. I have not read the Fifty Shades series but have a feeling this story will appeal to those who are fans of those books. I found the story to be engaging, HOT, and well written. I must say again it’s HOT. The characters are realistic if a bit over the top at times. I did find the hero, Gideon a tad bit too much at times but overall enjoyed the story and hope to read the next one as well. Fans of hot, sexy, engaging tales will enjoy BARED TO YOU.

    Reviewed by Wendy Keel

    Rating 4

    Heat Rating: very very HOT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    recommended

    couldn't put it down and can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Erotic

    Read several reviews comparing this book to Fifty Shades of Grey, and there are simularities but Fifty is still #1. Don't get me wrong, I really liked this book and am looking forward to reading the sequel. It is sexy, it's hot and the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    really similar to 50 shades so i'd recommend it if that's what y

    really similar to 50 shades so i'd recommend it if that's what you're looking for, but what other reviews didn't mention is that the characters (who are not as well developed as those in 50 i.m.o.) are much more f***ed up, childhood-trauma wise. (just a hint, not a spoiler). The writing in the love scenes is much less repetitive than in 50 shades but the sex is just as frequent. personally, i think that between the 50 shades books and this i've become desensitized to the steamy stuff. A fun read, overall. will consider peaking at the next book when it comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story was pretty hot. The sex scenes were hot and steamy, a

    This story was pretty hot. The sex scenes were hot and steamy, and the setting was a perfect fantasy. Who wouldn't love the dream of running into Mr. Hot and Sexy at work and having him come right out and tell you like it is?

    The characters were done well for the most part. Cross was, well, Cross. I don't really know what to say about him except YUM. I guess that's really enough.

    Eva was, well…for the most part I liked her. She was strong and independent, knowing what she wanted and not afraid to go after it. I didn't, however, like the way she reacted to things…Yes, I know she was traumatized and running was her way of dealing, but really, it got old. Example: At one point she says (or thinks) she can't stand the thought of being the next in a line of many, and yet that's exactly what she agreed to with Cross. He laid out pretty clearly how it was going to be for him, and she accepted his deal, so she shouldn't have acted like a jealous girlfriend, getting mad because he obviously had had sex with other girls. She drove me nuts sometimes. Her reactions seemed very childish to me, and I had trouble keeping up with her bipolarity.

    The story itself was pretty predictable. For the most part I knew where it was going. I probably would have enjoyed it a bit more if I had not already read 50 Shades. Overall, if you like 50 Shades, you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I would recommend reading "Bared to you" Also the nex

    I would recommend reading "Bared to you" Also the next book in the series. I couldn't put it down..
    I read all three Shades of Grey Trilogy.. This book is different, as both characters have personality problems. With Abused backgrounds.. Eva has had professional help. You can see where she is fragile in this love relationship. She tries to fight against it. but fate keeps getting into it. Gideon has problems also but he has not faced his problems. He is willing to seek help. Gideon is the dominant personality. He's wealthy. also A workaholic. Eva can be both. She wants control also. as well as being submissive. I could not put the book down...The next book comes out Oct 2, 2012 Titled "Reflected in You" There is also an audio book for Series 2. I think Gedion really loves Eva. I'm rooting for them to work it out. I liked the story line about these two characters. Yes it was similar to Fifty Shades of Grey. Which I felt showed a different Sex Drive for Christian Grey.. He liked whips and ropes. Kinky stuff. This book doesn't. if you liked those books, you will like this one... I pre-ordered book #2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Great read... keep an open mind!

    A friend of mine recommended this to me after completing the 50 Shades series. I can see the comparisons, however.... keep an open mind. Reading all the one star reviews was kind of upsetting, you disappoint yourself if you do that. Yes, it is a similar idea but how do you feel about all of the "new" Vampire stuff after Anne Rice rocked it years ago... you liked it right? Well, maybe Ms. Day should have waited a little longer to release hers so such negative things weren't being said about her approach to an erotic romance about two broken people. I loved this book!!!! The language is a little more vulgar (which I did not mind whatsoever), however still made intimate between Gideon and Eva. The sex scenes were not on every page and you had a story to keep you reeled in. Trust me.. there is sexual tension on every page, but it is all worked into the book appropriately and beautifully to give you a full glimpse of what these two wounded characters are trying to break through to trust and love one another. There is great dialog between the characters and not as much of the in Eva's head narration. I really appreciate that. I am sad that I have to wait until October to read book 2, however, I am hopeful that will help Ms. Day's series reputation and the shock of 50 will have calmed down some. Gideon and Eva... love them! I love Cary her best friend, even though you are incredibly irritated with him after this book, and even Eva's boss, Mark, is a lovely character in the book. The main reason why I am writing is to tell all of you who are wanting to read this book to keep an open mind and do not tell yourself the whole way through it, "This is nothing like 50" or "She tried too hard to make it like 50"! Try to see it for Ms. Day's vision of two people with broken pasts trying to overcome that. Thanks for reading :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Block 50 Shades from your mind before reading....

    Like other reviews have said this author was blatant with her similarities to 50 Shades. The first time I read it I kept saying to myself...REALLY, couldn't this author come up with her own stuff?

    With that being said I did really enjoy the book and will read the next one. If you are able to separate yourself and take it for what it is you will enjoy the story as well. The characters have their own sets of issues that although similar are different enough to draw you in and make you want to know what happens next... And, Gideon is pretty hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Similar of the sensational Fifty Shades by E.L. James. Excellen

    Similar of the sensational Fifty Shades by E.L. James. Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I loved it. Agree if ya liked fifty shades youll love this. Hopeing for some romance in the next one and more of gideons side

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    A Must Read

    This is a must read if you're looking for a book full of emotion and hope. Gideon and Eva are two people trying to overcome difficult childhood events as adults. The emotional ups and downs take you on a rollercoaster ride. But the ride has you cheering for them even when you want to strangle them at times. You are left with the hope of a healthy if, possesive, obsessive, and extremely passionate relationship developing despite thier trials. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good compared to Fifty Shades

    This is a good read but personally it did not surpass Fifty Shades for me - I'll add a "yet" since this is the first of the series. I found myself frequently comparing this book to Fifty Shades because of so many similarities - even Christian's reference to "delayed gratification" showed up via Gideon :) so I think that is why I am initially disappointed. Christian's character had more appeal to me - more of a strong Dominant. A previous reviewer commented on Fifty Shades being saturated with sex scenes (which I love) but that is no different in Bared to You - if not even more. This book was definitely hot, hot, hot and if that is what you are looking for you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    I was kind of skeptical because everyone kept comparing this boo

    I was kind of skeptical because everyone kept comparing this book to 50 Shades (which I am not a fan of btw) and I was pleasantly surprised and delighted to find that it is nothing like that series. The writing is so much better and the characters are seemingly too "perfect" but are a lot more relateable. I felt that with both Eva's and Gideon's past, their relationship moved WAY too fast (not the sex part, more the emotional side of it) but the chemistry between them is undeniable. Very fast and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Pretty Good - Slightly Similar to Shades of Grey, yet Different

    I needed another book to read after reading the Fifty Shades trilogy of books. I've obviously become hooked on these type of erotica books because of Fifty Shades. One of my coworkers recommended Bared to You and the entire Crossfire trilogy for me to read next. So I purchased this book.

    I think Bared to You is a pretty good book. The basics of the book are similar to Fifty Shades to me. However, the characters and their 'pasts' are different and obviously the storyline is different.

    Similarities, for example, include: 1) the simple but sexy and elegant book covers, 2) the ultra rich, powerful male characters (Gideon Grey, Christian Grey), the attractive female that catches the male characters attention and keeps it, 3) the often funny yet embarrassing first meetup of the main characters (Gideon & Eva, Christian & Ana), 4) the 'we just can't live without one another' passion, 5) the hot sex scenes, 6) the occupations of the characters, and ofcourse 7) the relationship drama.

    Differences, for example, include: 1) both the male and female characters' personalities, strengths, weaknesses, and pasts, 2) the economic status of the female characters (Eva has financial wealth, Ana did not have financial wealth), 3) the family/friends of the main characters & their roles, 4) the ex's of the main characters & their roles, 5) the way the female characters react to the domineering, controlling behavior of their men, 6) the types of sex scenes (Fifty Shades equals deep erotica/S&M,dom-sub sex vs. Bared/Reflected...in You equals traditional but spontaneous, passionate sex), etc.

    I finished this first book Bared to You. My coworker purchased the second book for me on sale elsewhere (at 50% off) last weekend. So I'm reading Reflected in You (the second book of the trilogy) right now. I'm halfway through it.

    I honestly prefer Christian Grey's character, flaws, and past (Fifty Shades) to Gideon Cross' character, flaws, and definitely his secret past (Bared/Reflected... in You). I don't think I was prepared to see Gideon's particular 'vunerability' so soon in the raw when reading Bared to You; I would have rather seen it in the second book instead (Reflected in You) to give me time to absorb Gideon's strength and power before seeing him so vunerable after an 'episode'. But hey, Silvia Day has been writing these books for years, whereas, I haven't. Not my writing specialty.

    I definitely like Christian Grey's personality better than Gideon Cross's personality. Although I love Gideon's maturity and his way of analyzing things, I have to admit that I love Christian Grey's mannerisms (for lack of a better word right now). Christian's crazy behavior, way of talking, his way of introducing his unique sexual tastes, etc. was both amusing and attractive to me. I do love how Gideon communicates with Eva; he has a way of making her see things from different perspectives by using the 'put yourself in my shoes' approach often. Maturity and leadership.

    If I had a man with most of Christian Grey's mannerisms paired with Gideon Cross' maturity and leadership style, I'd married him in a heartbeat. LOL!

    I would recommend one reads the Bared to You book (or better yet read the entire Crossfire book series). Try not to over-analyze the similarities to Fifty Shades. I put the Fifty Shades trilogy on my bookshelf and simply submerged myself into the Crossfire series storyline. Focus on the storyline along with the relationship d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lets start off with yes I did read FSOG and I did like that seri

    Lets start off with yes I did read FSOG and I did like that series. That series was the soul purpose of me picking up this series and giving it a try. Some people love it, some people hate it. Some say this book was better, others say it wasn't. For me they tied. They had their strong points, they had their weak points, and both left me wanting more and sad that book was done. 




    Eva has a horrid past, a stalker mother, a stepfather that indulges her mother way to much, a father way across the country, a new job within the Crossfire building, and a new start to the next chapter in her life. 




    Then she meets Gideon. Young sexy, to perfect looking, playboy billionaire. Tortured and haunted by his own past, Gideon is more than the perfect face. Yes there are similarities to the overbearing possessive, fact gathering any way the man feels similarities, but completely different stories. 




    We truly do not know exactly what Gideon has faced and more than likely will soon, but mixed with Eva's past make to broken people meet and share some explosive moments. 




    Again I'm a sucker for the tortured just need the right woman to save him guy that is still dominant, strong, and in control. DO not form an opinion based on other peoples thoughts. I feel as strongly in like with this book as I did any of the FSOG series. Pick it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8