Customer Reviews for

Bared to You (Crossfire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1315)

4 Star

(475)

3 Star

(225)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(259)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

First thing: This book was one of the best I have read. I have r

First thing: This book was one of the best I have read. I have read it at least 4 times and I am already counting the days till the next part is out. Gideon and Eva's characters were heartbreaking and amazing. I love everything about Bared To You.

You people who compa...
First thing: This book was one of the best I have read. I have read it at least 4 times and I am already counting the days till the next part is out. Gideon and Eva's characters were heartbreaking and amazing. I love everything about Bared To You.

You people who compare it to Fifty Shades irritate me. You obviously know nothing of books. Sylvia Day's writing style is COMPLETELY different from E.L James. You pick up on that as soon as you read the first chapter. I also have Fifty Shades and also have re-read those over and over and they are just as amazing.
But Bared To You is nothing like Fifty Shades at all. Two Great books with totally different people and story lines.

Bared To You is so full of passion I felt everything they felt and every time I read it I have all the same feelings.

posted by Ferlee on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

98 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

Useless sample

I would love to review the book but won't buy it without a test drive! The sample is 20-something pages of notes and dedications, without a single page from the story, and therefore is completely useless.

posted by 11823530 on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Copied from 50 shades

    It feels like this story was a copy of 50 shades. It was an okay read but i was not impressed. Didnt even compare to the energy and emotion that 50 shades had.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    ANONYMOUS

    I thought that this was a pleasantly steamy read, but things tended to move a little too unbelievably fast and with little depth. All other reviews that compared this to Fifty Shades were right in the similarities, but it was much too similar and without the class and anticipation that Fifty Shades has to offer. The language used was at times pornographic and crude as opposed to sexy and intimate. Overall it was ok, but will not take the place of Fifty Shades for die hard fans.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    not at all like 50! I was terribly disappointed with this book!

    not at all like 50! I was terribly disappointed with this book! It is absolutely not better written than 50. If you are just looking for trash, then buy the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Bared to you

    50 SHADES OF GREY WAS SO MUCH BETTER THEN THIS. I'M SORRY I WASTED MY TIME.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Blech

    Bared to You us a poor man's Fifty Shades. This book felt rushed and boring, where I couldn't put Fifty down from the first book to the last. I also found the "dirty talk" unnecessary, almost cringing when I read it each time. There were too many parallels to Fifty in this book, giving me a feeling that this book is a FRAUD. Sadly, you will be disappointed if you purchase and read Bared after Fifty.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    So disappointed....lacks character development. I felt the stor

    So disappointed....lacks character development. I felt the story line was too parallel to Fifty Shades of Grey! I will probably read the second book, just to see if she can improve the characters, but I am not holding my breath. Surely hoping the next is better. I feel that if I hadn't read 50 prior I may have enjoyed this just a little more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The only difference b/w Crossfire series and the Grey series is

    The only difference b/w Crossfire series and the Grey series is that both the male & female have money & are victims of sexual abuse.
    Writing is flat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Itokay Its justs Its okay

    There is alot of 50 shades going on in this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Sample

    It really makes me mad when you get the free sample and you dont even get the first page of chapter one...all you get are reviews from authors or critics...completely dissappointed...I refuse to spend ten dollars on a book when I am not even sure I will like it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Copy

    To much like fifty shades of grey, i think Bared to you was fifty shades of messed up, you gotta love Christian Grey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If You've Read 50 Shades...don't bother

    After I read the 50 Shades books, I was feeling the need to read more. I had flown through all 3 books very quickly, and was looking for something similar. The key word here is <i>similar</i>, not exactly the same.

    <b>Bared to You</b> was recommended in FB post by someone who said, "If you're looking for something similar to 50 Shades, read this...." So - I bought it.

    What I didn't count on is that it is EXACTLY like 50 Shades. In fact, I was embarrassed for the author, it was so much the same. Granted, the author is a much better writer than Ms. James, but that is the only good thing I can say about this book.

    The characters are Gideon (Christian) and Eva (Ana). The problem with these characters is that they are not likeable, and unlike the palpable connection between Christian and Ana, these characters seem to be thrown together without that connection.

    Other than the 2 main characters, Eva's boss and his partner are likeable, but her best friend and roommate is not.

    If you haven't read 50 Shades, maybe you'll really like this book because it will be fresh and new. But for me, it didn't even hold a candle to the character interaction in 50 Shades.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Copycat??????

    Wealthy.......gorgeous male lead.....kinky dominant sex. Is this FiftyShades. No it's a sloppy copy. And a stupid one too. Shame on you Sylvia Day....... Using someone else's imagination and worse the second book isn't even out yet. Ill just assume its a sloppy copy as well .... Get real and get some new ideas... Why is every male lead SO gorgeous.....don't ordinary men and unattractive men rock in bed ????? I so get tired of the description of these men...... Really???

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Not 50 Shades

    This book is really not like 50 Shades. these characters are annoying, spoiled, and sort of boring. not to mention the book literally just ends - so you have to buy the next one. joke.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Disappointing

    All sex and no character development.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Too much like fifty shades

    Did not like at all almost couldn't get through it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Not so great

    I did not think this book was that good at all. I thought that the author did not explain enough about the main male character, Gideon, to make you care about him enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Skip this book

    The plotline is devoid of romance. I didn't for a minute think that Eva loved Gideon or the reverse. The sex scenes were sometimes so grossely described that I found myself hoping they didn't sleep together again. Then there is the use of one of my least favorite words in the world the c*** word when describing the female body part. This is by far a poor copy of 50 Shades. Skip this and stick with the original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Anonymous

    I finally got around to reading this since buying it well over a year ago. I completely agree with other reviewers that this is a rip off of Fifty Shades of Grey. Way too many similarities. That being said, I still liked it enough to read it. Didn't like it near as much as FSOG, but it was o.k. Had trouble connecting with and caring about the characters, that was my biggest problem with this book. Caring about the characters is crucial for me. Liked the storyline enough and the sex was over the top hot, but I need more than that to really enjoy a story. I have no desire to read the rest of the series. I believe the author should have spent a little more time developing her characters and a little less time trying to rip off another series. Just my opinion. I actually would give this a 2.5 stars. If I could have cared more about the characters, it would have been easier to overlook the whole copycat issue and enjoy the book more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Challenge 2

    Applestar of fruitclan is making a deal with nightstar. Find them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Exaggerated

    It really did seem like the author was mocking 50 shades of grey with details even more exaggerated. Even their names were similar. The relationship seemed so rushed and quickly intense/crude without much of the actual romance that was in 50 shades

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7