Customer Reviews for

Barefoot

Average Rating 4
( 700 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(248)

3 Star

(145)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand

This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet the...
This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet they all share the common thread of being in the midst of a journey to grow and find themselves despite the challenges they're facing.

It was easy to get emotionally invested in each of their stories, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down because I wanted to know how it would all turn out. Wrought with real emotion, genuine love, and heartbreaking circumstance, I think you would be hard pressed to find yourself disappointed in this one. A light summer beach read it is not; instead, it quickly establishes itself as a more serious story that leaves a warm feeling behind at its conclusion.

posted by TheChicCherryBlossom on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best yet from Hilderbrand

This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you up...
This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you ups and downs throughout the entire book through romance, sickness, etc. When finished with the book, you are left with a sense of completion and not having to worry about wanting more. Definitely a worthwhile read especially if you are looking for a book to bring on a trip, or just to pass the time. An easy read, so it seems to fly by.

posted by alhill04 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 702 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand

    This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet they all share the common thread of being in the midst of a journey to grow and find themselves despite the challenges they're facing.

    It was easy to get emotionally invested in each of their stories, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down because I wanted to know how it would all turn out. Wrought with real emotion, genuine love, and heartbreaking circumstance, I think you would be hard pressed to find yourself disappointed in this one. A light summer beach read it is not; instead, it quickly establishes itself as a more serious story that leaves a warm feeling behind at its conclusion.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Best yet from Hilderbrand

    This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you ups and downs throughout the entire book through romance, sickness, etc. When finished with the book, you are left with a sense of completion and not having to worry about wanting more. Definitely a worthwhile read especially if you are looking for a book to bring on a trip, or just to pass the time. An easy read, so it seems to fly by.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed!

    I became immersed in this story of these very interesting, complex women and the major man, not to mention the two little children. Reading about Vicki's cancer had me physically going through it with her. I found the characters so multi-dimensional that I felt as if I knew them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    READ IT!

    I glanced at the detail of this book because the price was low. At first I didn't want to read it but I decided to give it a go on my NOOK. All I can say is GREAT! This book is a definite keeper and re-read. There are some serious topics that make you think outside of the box. I also learned a lot on various subjects. The characters pull you in and you are able to identify with some part of each one. Even the philosophical parts held my interest and made me want to know more. I was very pleasantly surprised!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Great first read of Hilderbrand, although it made me want more

    **SPOILER ALERT** This is the first novel I have read of Elin Hilderbrand's. And to be quite honest, I loved it. It took a few pages to keep the 3 women from getting mixed up, but once I got to the 3rd page I felt like I knew them. Josh was my favorite character, he reminds me of my best friend, the guy next door, etc. As the story went on, I didn't want to put it down, I had to force myself to finally go to sleep. I finished it in about 3 days, and the only thing I can say that was a dissapointment was that it had me wanting to know more. Did Melanie end up staying with Peter or did she finally leave him and fess up that she really loved Josh? Did Brenda ever get her screenplay into a movie and did she ever get another job or get married to Walsh? I know Hilderbrand doesn't writing sequels, but I wish she would for this one. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Wonderful Read!

    I was in visiting Boston and happened into a wonderful little store where they showcased authors I'd never read before. This being one of them. I absolutely LOVED this book and her writing style. I've already started my next book from Hilderbrand. The characters and the story Really find a way into your heart. I don't tend to be a fast reader but I flew through this book in a couple of days and then wished it wasn't over! Though, I will say, though the end was somewhat of a happy ending it did leave me feeling like it was a little unfinished. Or maybe I just wanted more of the characters and their story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Dramatic read

    This story was much more dramatic than I thought it would be. A great book about the bonding of sisters and friends during some traumatic times in each of their lives. The three ladies go to Nantucket for the summer to "escape" their troubles for a while, but of course nobody really escapes from trouble. The new relationships and bonds that are formed and how the characters all grow and transform make for very moving and enjoyable reading. I know when I am enjoying a book when I read and don't notice time flying by and this book did just that for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Great Summer Read

    I was surprised with the book and the engaging characters. I did not expect to become so enthralled with their outcome, I planned this to be just a light vacation read. The plot twists of their ordinary lives when faced with extraordinary circumstances is a must read. The ending is not expected and it leaves you wanting to know more about how their lives went on. It was nice to take a break to a vacation spot via the characters and enjoy the time frame of a long beach resort summer. I would recommend this offbeat romantic escape for all and consider this a must read for the beach or a rainy day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Beach Read

    I picked this book up because every now and again, I need to pick up a light read to bring me up a bit. Well, this story isn't the lightest to read as far as topics are concerned as it deals with cancer, infidelity, etc., but it is one good book to read quickly. It was easy to connect with the characters, and the storyline truly had you cheering for everyone. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Women and Relationships and relationships with each other

    I usually like non-fiction, but I thought I would try this for the summer. It was a great summer read. I could almost smell the air. It reminded me of Sex and the City. Especially the Brenda/Samanth, Melanie/Charlotte connection. I am now looking for another book by the same author to finish the summer off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Slow to start, but worth it...

    I'm an avid reader and typically read a book within a couple of days. I began this book and found myself struggling to get into it. After reading about 70 pages, I put it down. Some three weeks later, I found myself spending 12-13 hours a day at the hospital with a family member, so I decided to bring the book one day. I'm so glad I did! I finished it in a day and a half and found myself wanting more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Wonderful!

    Its nice to find a novel that is not only enjoyable and light in reading, but also holds much meaning. The characters are well developed and leave you wondering inbetween sittings what could possibly happen next. You will find your self indentifying with them and hoping the best works out for them. If you are familiar with Nantucket this is a wonderful story and if your not it will make you yearning to go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Home for the summer, Middlebury College student Josh Flynn meets the two siblings (Brenda and Vicki) and their friend (Melanie) at the Nantucket Airport where he works. The three females and Vicki¿s two young children will share the small cottage owned by their late aunt while escaping their woes and hoping to regain some equilibrium in their respective lives.---------------- Vicki suffers from lung cancer and will undergo chemotherapy. Brenda recently was fired for breaking the prime directive of college professors when she had an affair with a student albeit older than her. Finally, Melanie who spent years and tons of money seeking to become pregnant finally succeeded only to ironically learn her spouse is cheating on her. These BAREFOOT females spend the summer of self recrimination with Josh at their side wondering what fall will bring.------------- This deep character study will hook the audience who will want to know what is happening to each of the women. However, at the same time that contemporary fiction fans will appreciate the drama, only Vicki elicits empathy as she philosophizes about what used to be significant to her but those 'Things That No Longer Mattered' once she received the medical verdict Melanie seems more like a whiner who drove her spouse elsewhere and though realistic Brenda comes across as a hard butt with a chip on her shoulder. Still genre fans will enjoy spending a Nantucket summertime with Elin Hilderbrand¿s three females.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was an enjoyable read. As women (as humans) we form relati

    This was an enjoyable read. As women (as humans) we form relationships of all kinds. Relationships, whether spousal, familial, friend, or lover, create the drama that is life. Relationships make us happy and sad; they fulfill us and they break us; they are temporary or they are lasting – no matter, we learn from them all. This story is about 3 women and how their relationships have, are, and will affect their lives. The critics may call it whiny, annoying, drama, etc., but it is a pleasure to meet these characters and walk in their shoes, if only for a little while. They all handle their situations differently because of their personalities and their stage in life, but each character is developed with a depth that really gets to the center of each one. The book is worth the read; you’ll be concerned about these characters and how they are doing after you close the back cover. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    An awesome story about friendship,sickness and love. This book locks the reader in using raw emotion. The women come to life and it was so easy to relate to them. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Great Book

    I highly recommend great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, the characters and storyline, great

    I really enjoyed this book, the characters and storyline, great book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Great Summer read

    Truly enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    A wonderful and heartwarming book!

    I couldn't put this book down! A great read that makes you happy, hopeful, and cry all ay the same time! I higlu recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great story!

    What a wonderful story! The story brings you into their lives right from the start and you grow with them. Very enjoyable and recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 702 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36