Customer Reviews for

Barefoot

Average Rating 4
( 701 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(145)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand

This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet the...
This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet they all share the common thread of being in the midst of a journey to grow and find themselves despite the challenges they're facing.

It was easy to get emotionally invested in each of their stories, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down because I wanted to know how it would all turn out. Wrought with real emotion, genuine love, and heartbreaking circumstance, I think you would be hard pressed to find yourself disappointed in this one. A light summer beach read it is not; instead, it quickly establishes itself as a more serious story that leaves a warm feeling behind at its conclusion.

posted by TheChicCherryBlossom on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best yet from Hilderbrand

This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you up...
This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you ups and downs throughout the entire book through romance, sickness, etc. When finished with the book, you are left with a sense of completion and not having to worry about wanting more. Definitely a worthwhile read especially if you are looking for a book to bring on a trip, or just to pass the time. An easy read, so it seems to fly by.

posted by alhill04 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 703 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great story!

    What a wonderful story! The story brings you into their lives right from the start and you grow with them. Very enjoyable and recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite I recently received th

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    I recently received the audio version of "Barefoot: A Novel" by Elin Hilderbrand. Hilderbrand won my admiration when I first read "The Castaways". Since then I have read "A Summer Affair", "The Island", and now I can add "Barefoot" to that list. I have quite a list of favorite authors and Elin Hilderbrand is at the top. To some degree her books remind me of Nicholas Sparks. His books touch the heart, and are character driven and realistic and usually make me cry. I can say the same things about Hilderbrand’s books. Mr. Sparks definitely has competition! "Barefoot" is my favorite Hilderbrand novel to this date. This is not a book you can halfheartedly read; the plot demands your full attention. In "Barefoot" we meet Vicky, Brenda, and Melanie as they disembark the plane at Nantucket along with two children. Each female is facing a situation. Vicky has lung cancer and returns to Nantucket for the summer, where she feels secure. She invites her sister and best friend to accompany her. Her sister Brenda tags along to take care of Vicky and the boys while she works on her screen play. She was recently fired from her position at a college for dating one of her students and vandalizing a painting by hitting it with a book. Vicky’s best friend Melanie has just discovered she is pregnant and that her husband is having an affair. Brenda soon realizes she cannot handle her two young nephews, take care of Vicky and work on her screen play all at the same time, so they hired a young college student, Josh to help out. They soon discover that he is a help to all of them.

    Hilderbrand’s characters are beautifully created. At first I wasn’t sure I liked Melanie; she whined a lot and seemed pretty useless when it came to helping out around the cottage. Brenda comes across as hard nose but soon we discover her softer side. Vicky is fighting for her life; she is terrified. I quickly came to care about each woman. I was caught up in their lives. I found myself in tears more than once before finishing this book. Until Hilderbrand’s next book comes out, "Barefoot" is her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Loved it!!

    Another great read by Elin Hilderbrand. What can I say but to keep them coming. Believable characters in believable situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I LOVED this book. After the first 20 pages the book flew by. I

    I LOVED this book. After the first 20 pages the book flew by. I really thought I'd be reading this for at least two weeks but I was done in 5 days. Loved the characters and their stories and I felt like part of the family. I just finished it last night and all day the story has popped into my head and I'm sad to see it end. This is my first book of reading this author and look forward to reading another one of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Her best

    This book was by far my favorite book of hers. I really connected with the characters. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Not my usual type of book...

    I was pleasently surprized... enjoyed it very much! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good book

    I did read this book on my nook. But when I did read this book I loved it, I really enjoyed the book and I would definitely read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Loved it

    It started off slow for me but once I got into it I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Nice reminder about how precious life is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Good book

    Great beach read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great story and perfect for a beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Love

    Great book.... thus book had me RUNNING out to buy more of this author's work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    MUST READ!!!

    I bought this book because it was on sale at Barnes and Noble store by my house and I must say it was a steal. This was the first novel that I ever read that was written by Elin Hilerbrand and I must say when I was done with this book and I went out and bought her other novels. She is now one of my favorites. This book made me cry, laugh and wonder what if. I felt like i was actually part of the book. You will enjoy this book. Its a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great beach read

    Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Barefoot

    I was hooked from the start, my first read with this author. I too, like other nook readers can find her books cheaper, what is wrong with this picture. Loved the book, great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Hilderbrand impresses!

    Barefoot is such a great book,I became very connected with each and every character. Although a little slow in the beginning, the action picks up and then I couldn't put it down. You have to read this book, and you cannot beat the price! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Excellent

    Read this after it was recommended by a Barnes & Noble sales person. It was engrossing and very well written. I loved the characters and now that I rushed through it because I couldn't put it down, I find myself wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    LOVED IT--A MUST READ!

    Terrific book! Great beach read. This is the first I have read by Elin Hilderbrand and I must say I love her style. The way in which she tells the story, every word, pulls you in closer to the characters and what they are feeling and going through. I look forward to reading more by this same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    It was okay.

    I read this for my book club. It's not my usual kind of book. I found it very predictable. Not horrible for a quick read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 703 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36