Customer Reviews for

Barefoot: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 703 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(250)

3 Star

(145)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand

This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet the...
This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet they all share the common thread of being in the midst of a journey to grow and find themselves despite the challenges they're facing.

It was easy to get emotionally invested in each of their stories, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down because I wanted to know how it would all turn out. Wrought with real emotion, genuine love, and heartbreaking circumstance, I think you would be hard pressed to find yourself disappointed in this one. A light summer beach read it is not; instead, it quickly establishes itself as a more serious story that leaves a warm feeling behind at its conclusion.

posted by TheChicCherryBlossom on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best yet from Hilderbrand

This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you up...
This book gave me much to think about. I was a bit of a skeptic given that I have been disappointed by Hilderbrand's books in the past. But in this book, you truly feel as if you know these characters, and you get caught up in their emotions. Hilderbrand gives you ups and downs throughout the entire book through romance, sickness, etc. When finished with the book, you are left with a sense of completion and not having to worry about wanting more. Definitely a worthwhile read especially if you are looking for a book to bring on a trip, or just to pass the time. An easy read, so it seems to fly by.

posted by alhill04 on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand

    This was my first novel by Elin Hilderbrand. It was a bit hard to get into at the beginning, but I read on nonetheless. Soon the pace picked up and I became attached to the story and characters. Each of them comes from a different background and stage of life, yet they all share the common thread of being in the midst of a journey to grow and find themselves despite the challenges they're facing.

    It was easy to get emotionally invested in each of their stories, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down because I wanted to know how it would all turn out. Wrought with real emotion, genuine love, and heartbreaking circumstance, I think you would be hard pressed to find yourself disappointed in this one. A light summer beach read it is not; instead, it quickly establishes itself as a more serious story that leaves a warm feeling behind at its conclusion.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Beach Read

    I picked this book up because every now and again, I need to pick up a light read to bring me up a bit. Well, this story isn't the lightest to read as far as topics are concerned as it deals with cancer, infidelity, etc., but it is one good book to read quickly. It was easy to connect with the characters, and the storyline truly had you cheering for everyone. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Slow to start, but worth it...

    I'm an avid reader and typically read a book within a couple of days. I began this book and found myself struggling to get into it. After reading about 70 pages, I put it down. Some three weeks later, I found myself spending 12-13 hours a day at the hospital with a family member, so I decided to bring the book one day. I'm so glad I did! I finished it in a day and a half and found myself wanting more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Nice story

    Thils is a little different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was an enjoyable read. As women (as humans) we form relati

    This was an enjoyable read. As women (as humans) we form relationships of all kinds. Relationships, whether spousal, familial, friend, or lover, create the drama that is life. Relationships make us happy and sad; they fulfill us and they break us; they are temporary or they are lasting – no matter, we learn from them all. This story is about 3 women and how their relationships have, are, and will affect their lives. The critics may call it whiny, annoying, drama, etc., but it is a pleasure to meet these characters and walk in their shoes, if only for a little while. They all handle their situations differently because of their personalities and their stage in life, but each character is developed with a depth that really gets to the center of each one. The book is worth the read; you’ll be concerned about these characters and how they are doing after you close the back cover. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    An awesome story about friendship,sickness and love. This book locks the reader in using raw emotion. The women come to life and it was so easy to relate to them. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Great Book

    I highly recommend great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great story!

    What a wonderful story! The story brings you into their lives right from the start and you grow with them. Very enjoyable and recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I LOVED this book. After the first 20 pages the book flew by. I

    I LOVED this book. After the first 20 pages the book flew by. I really thought I'd be reading this for at least two weeks but I was done in 5 days. Loved the characters and their stories and I felt like part of the family. I just finished it last night and all day the story has popped into my head and I'm sad to see it end. This is my first book of reading this author and look forward to reading another one of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Nice reminder about how precious life is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great beach read

    Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Barefoot

    I was hooked from the start, my first read with this author. I too, like other nook readers can find her books cheaper, what is wrong with this picture. Loved the book, great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Good read

    I enjoyed the book..It did end with me wanting more info on Josh..I felt that Josh needed more of a closure in the book..I miss Josh..Perhaps another book on Josh and his relationship with this family..Thanks for the triangles this book had..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Wonderful Read

    I loved this book. I have family member who have delt with cancer. This book to is a light read with some hard things to face in real life, but was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I really expected this to be another easy, fun book but it was more than easy and fun, it had depth, made me think and I became engrossed in each characters wife, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    My First Hildebrand

    This is the first time I have read a story by this author, and I already look forward to more. The characters are completely believable, and you find yourself getting emotionally intertwined with them. This was also one of my first ebook (Nook) experiences, and the two adventures fit well together. Normally I frown a bit at happy endings since most human experiences fall short of "happy", but those experiencing life are usually quite pleased to be "content". The characters in BAREFOOT are content...not perfectly happy or fulfilled, but content with where they are in the scheme of things. The lingering question posed by the author is, "Is there a scheme of things"?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    good fast read

    great book, would recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Love It!!

    I love this book. I didn't finish it yet but so far I like it a lot and enjoying the story. Easy to read that you don't want to stop. Very recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Liked it!

    My first book by this author....will look for more by her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Enjoyable Beach Read

    Everytime I opened this book, I felt like I was right there on Nantucket. Loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13