BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics: How to Get Great Flavors from Simple Ingredients

Average Rating 3.5
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Barefoot Contessa

I waited eagerly for this new book by Ina Garten. I can say that I really love this book. Back to Basics takes ordinary ingredidents and transforms them into something special. This new book is broken down into sections. You have sections on drinks,breakfast, lunch and ...
I waited eagerly for this new book by Ina Garten. I can say that I really love this book. Back to Basics takes ordinary ingredidents and transforms them into something special. This new book is broken down into sections. You have sections on drinks,breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also vegetables, desserts and soup. You can learn new ideas if you cook already. If you are new to cooking thats fine too. Some recpipes do require some time but its not over the top. With practice you can master these dishes. She offers different ideas on classic dishes such has potato leek soup, pot roast and oven roasted vegetables. The book is full of lovely photographs and cooking tips from Ms. Garten.

posted by Sexy-Nerd on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not up to the usual from Ina Garten

I am a fan of Ina Garten, and own 5 of her previous books. This one, however, disappointed me. It seems to have beeen rushed into print. A number of the recipes are repeats from earlier books; the book does not contain all the resipes from her new TV show on the Food Ne...
I am a fan of Ina Garten, and own 5 of her previous books. This one, however, disappointed me. It seems to have beeen rushed into print. A number of the recipes are repeats from earlier books; the book does not contain all the resipes from her new TV show on the Food Network, "Back to Basics"; and some of the hints are trite - included just to complete the number of items on each list (10). I'd skip this one.

posted by 587775 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    My favorite Ina cookbook!

    The recipes in this cookbook are sure proof. Author uses easy to find ingredients and the recipes are simple to follow. If you plan on owning only one Barefoot Contessa cookbook, this is the one to get. You will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics Ina Garten

    This book is exactly what I antipated. It has pictures for the recipes, which leaves you with a good idea of what your dish should look like. I feel that with the story line Ina uses, it makes it so personal. I have made some of the recipes and found them to be easy to follow. They are especially delicious.

    Ina is one of my favorite cookbook authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Elegance with ease...in the kitchen

    I am a huge fan of Inas so this is a very biased opinion. Her recipes are easy to follow and have so much flavor and flair. I love the corn confetti, roasted carrots and parnsips, roasted broccoli and my all time fav is the shrimp scampi---I get serious kudos when I cook it. This makes a great gift, but make sure you purchase one for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    User friendly

    Ina's recipes are easy to follow and the food is delicious. The required ingredients are nothing outrageous but the results are outstanding. An easy to use cookbook with guaranteed results every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My first Ina Garten cookbook

    I enjoy watching Ina Garten on the Food Network and I've tried many of her recipes from there, so I was excited to try this cookbook. I've tried about 8 recipes so far, and I'd say 1 was ok, 1 was a "dud", but the rest have been great! I also love her details about flowers, and little tips she gives about how to complete preparations. The cocktails in this book are amazing, especially the "Pomegranate Cosmo Martini", and the meat recipes so far have been great, as well. I'd give it an overall 4 out of 5 so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Great Gift

    If you have a friend that loves to cook, this is the best gift ever. This cookbook was given to me as a gift, and I have in turn given it to several of my friends who love to cook. The reason this is such a good cookbook is because it really explains the basics of cooking. What flavors go together, what will make a dish taste even better and what to serve at a party - all of this is included. She also has a section of Q & A that is really informative. I recommend this cookbook to anyone who has been cooking for many years or anyone who is just starting to cook. Besides, how can you go wrong with Ina?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Fresh updates..............

    I like Ina's new approach to cooking with fresh ingredients. She did that in previous cookbooks, but this one takes it to a new level. She is still my favorite Food Network personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very nicely written cookbook with easy and hard recipes

    Ina Garten is an amazing cook. I enjoy this cookbook from the simple recipes to the more laborious ones with lots of ingredients I don't have on my shelf! The book is wonderfully presented with many color photos. She has many other recipe books that are just as great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Everyone loves Ina

    THis is my third Barefoot Contessa cookbook, and I love them all. She uses readily available ingredients and keeps it simple. Her books are entertaining to read and the receipes easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Buy

    I have enjoyed cooking the recipes in this cookbook. As the title indicates, Ina Garten uses simple ingredients resulting in great taste. All the recipes I have tried out have turned out delicious. There are some special ingredients, like Truffle oil which might make it hard to make a few of these recipes. The pictures are beautiful and I like how she has incorporated 10 tips throughout her book. At times, I feel this cookbook is incomplete, that some of the recipes are very similar (like the roasted vegetables and green salads) and that more recipes would be helpful. However, I am still happy with my purchase and would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Basically" wonderful!

    Added another of Ina's books to my collection and she doesn't disappoint. I love that the simple ingredient lists and easy cooking directions turn out the most delicious, impressive dishes. So far, every recipe I've tried of hers has been so successful that many of them have become regulars on my table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great cookbook

    I have used this cookbook over and over again. This book is probably my favorite of her cookbooks. I have all of them. They are clearly written,beautifully illustrated,and a permanent fixture in my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring

    She really makes me want to get in the kitchen. All of her recipes are wonderful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I have tried numerous receipes in this book and they all have turned out to be not only easy to make but really delicious

    This book is for the cook who likes to try new and different meals. The receipes take time to prepare but are worth the time and effort. They are not overly difficult and the preparation time is pretty reasonable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    My Favorite!

    "Back to Basics' is my new all-time favorite cookbook. I've made many of the recipes and all are delicious. I have even substituted fish for some of the recipes that call for meat or poultry. If we lived in the Hamptons, I just KNOW that Ina and I would be the best of friends!
    Happy cooking & baking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Great Cookbook

    Love Her, Easy to Follow Recipes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Cookbook!!

    I am a big fan of "The Barefoot Contessa" This cookbook contains lots of nice pictures, excellent easy to follow step by step instructions. I really have enjoyed "Back to Basics"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Book!

    Ina Garten is the greatest! I love this book. The pictures are beautiful and the directions are easy to follow. I've also seen her cook many of them on The Food Network...yum! When having guests over, I know that I can count on the recipes in the book to serve an enjoyable meal that everyone loves. Now all of my friends think that I'm an excellent cook! (This book also makes an excellent gift. I gave one to my girlfriend for Mother's Day.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Mother's Day Gift

    I bought this for my mom for Mother's Day. She is a big fan of Barefoot Contessa's TV show. I do wish there had been a few more recipes in the book, but it does make for a nice book to display in the kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Another Great Cookbook from Ina

    This is a great cookbook, for both the beginning cook and the seasoned cook. The info. and hints before each chapter are very informative and helpful in planning a meal. The recipes that I have tried have all been delicious, the ingredients easy to find in the grocery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16