Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics: How to Get Great Flavors from Simple Ingredients

Average Rating 3.5
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Barefoot Contessa

I waited eagerly for this new book by Ina Garten. I can say that I really love this book. Back to Basics takes ordinary ingredidents and transforms them into something special. This new book is broken down into sections. You have sections on drinks,breakfast, lunch and ...
I waited eagerly for this new book by Ina Garten. I can say that I really love this book. Back to Basics takes ordinary ingredidents and transforms them into something special. This new book is broken down into sections. You have sections on drinks,breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also vegetables, desserts and soup. You can learn new ideas if you cook already. If you are new to cooking thats fine too. Some recpipes do require some time but its not over the top. With practice you can master these dishes. She offers different ideas on classic dishes such has potato leek soup, pot roast and oven roasted vegetables. The book is full of lovely photographs and cooking tips from Ms. Garten.

posted by Sexy-Nerd on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not up to the usual from Ina Garten

I am a fan of Ina Garten, and own 5 of her previous books. This one, however, disappointed me. It seems to have beeen rushed into print. A number of the recipes are repeats from earlier books; the book does not contain all the resipes from her new TV show on the Food Ne...
I am a fan of Ina Garten, and own 5 of her previous books. This one, however, disappointed me. It seems to have beeen rushed into print. A number of the recipes are repeats from earlier books; the book does not contain all the resipes from her new TV show on the Food Network, "Back to Basics"; and some of the hints are trite - included just to complete the number of items on each list (10). I'd skip this one.

posted by 587775 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Barefoot Contessa

    I waited eagerly for this new book by Ina Garten. I can say that I really love this book. Back to Basics takes ordinary ingredidents and transforms them into something special. This new book is broken down into sections. You have sections on drinks,breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also vegetables, desserts and soup. You can learn new ideas if you cook already. If you are new to cooking thats fine too. Some recpipes do require some time but its not over the top. With practice you can master these dishes. She offers different ideas on classic dishes such has potato leek soup, pot roast and oven roasted vegetables. The book is full of lovely photographs and cooking tips from Ms. Garten.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is it bad to say that this is 'perfect'?!

    What a wonderful cookbook! I received this as a gift on my birthday, and I could not have been happier. I am an avid fan of her show on the Food Network, and I love her style of cooking: so sophisticated yet with (mostly) accessible ingredients. The pictures are phenomenal, and I love her commentary throughout with helpful suggestions, tips, and alternatives to her recipes. Also, she has pages dedicated to how important her concept of 'cooking with the basics' is to her, which really makes it a more personal experience.

    I love the tip pages also where she gives you tips on how to do things "like a pro", like table settings and flower cutting. It is a nice diversion from the beautiful recipes, but all fits in if you want to throw a party. AND, she even has sample menus in the back of her recipes that go well together, therefore taking the worry away from the reader of having to plan a full menu! What a treat!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Best of The Barefoot Contessa

    This is the third one of her cookbooks I own and I must say it is the best. Every recipe I have tried has worked out just as stated. Times for cooking and baking are right on and this cookbook has really lived up to its title. Do try it, I don't think you will be disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Have!

    This is such a wonderful book as a gift for a friend, for a family member, or even for yourself. I purchased this book for my mother as a Christmas present and she simply loved it. I have prepared dishes from several of Ina's recipes and each came out to be just as Ina said it would be -- delicious! I am not a skilled cook at all, but I followed the recipe to the dot and each of the dishes turned out as shown in the photographs in the book. The recipes are as simplified as they can be, and each dishes present the basic, true flavors of the ingredients, and all of the ingredients seem to be complimenting each other. This truly is an excellent cookbook to have in your permanent library collection.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Love this Book!!

    I Love this cookbook!!  It is my first cook book from Ina Garten,and I want to buy her other books.  The Recipes are easy to make and taste very good.  we have made at least 10 in the book so far!  I am also giving this book as a  Christmas gift!  A Must Have!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Great recipes

    Since I watch the Barefoot Contessa on The Food Network Channel, I was able to print all of these recipes from my computer; however, the book goes into a little more detail about the item. I have found it useful to watch the show and/or DVDs and then attempt the recipe. For the most part, the recipes turned out great except for the Parmesan and Thyme Crackers. Even though I have atempted this recipe 3 times the crackers still have me stumped. Overall, it is a well planned cookbook with great pictures and nice introductions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational feast for the eyes

    I bought this cookbook purely for inspiration. I don't plan on cooking with all the butter, mayo, white flour, and sugar she suggests. I wanted to be inspired to cook and this book does that. I don't eat much meat, but I find the cookbook useful for all the tips and techniques she suggests and the gorgeous photos. I have so many other cookbooks that have a good structured recipes with healthy ingredients, so this is my guilty pleasures book. Thanks Ina for the inspiration :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love this cookbook

    I have always thought that I would never be able to cook like Ina or find the ingredients she uses, but this book proves otherwise. This is a fantastic, easy to use book for making simple recipes that are delicious. I am using these recipes on a regular basis and I will surely be giving this book as gifts to family and friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    GREAT

    Another good basic cookbook from the "Contessa." I will always trust anybook she publishes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Contessa Does it Again

    I have all of Ina's cookbooks and very frequently give them as gifts. Her instructions and tips help the even the novice cook do a good job. I love the Roasted Shrimp Cocktail recipe. The Roasted Turkey Roulade was a huge hit. The flavor boost page was excellent and the easy sticky buns are fun to make with kids. I keep ingredents for several of the 10 no-cook desserts. Ina always has a theme and does a great job...Looking for many more books from INA..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Fantastic cook book

    Ina Garten can do NO wrong in my world. I would buy any of her cookbooks, but the two favorites are this and Barefoot Contessa n Paris. Whenever I use these cookbooks, people always love the food and ask for the recipes...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Barefoot Contessa

    I love this book, Ms. Garten is right when she says it is back to the basics, with a twist. The book is very well written, and laid-out, I love the illustrations, and of course the recipes. I feel that anyone can use this book and prepare delicious meals without a hassle. I love all of Ina's cookbooks, and can't wait for her next one to come out. This book is as classy as she is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Cook Book!

    This book deals with cooking basics. Basics are sometimes hard to find in other cookbooks; the writers always seem to assume you know all the basics. Ina Garten makes cooking basics easy and tasty. She shares tips that she has learned over her years of cooking and catering.<BR/><BR/>I have close to 300 cookbooks and Ina's are the ones I keep going back to. The recipies are true. They are easy enough for a beginner and interesting enough for a seasoned cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    Another Winner

    I have all of Ina Garten's cookbooks and this is another wonderful addition to my cookbook library. I have made the chicken bouillabaisse, company pot roast and the pumpkin roulard. The pumpkin roll is delicious and hard to stop at one piece...my brother in law can't stop talking about how good it is. The chicken bouillabaise is a bit pricey to prepare using pernod and saffron but well worth it especially for a dinner party...True to Ina Garten's philosophy of the cook enjoying the party and having fun as well, she offers lots of good hints and suggestions to keep the cook at the party opposed to working in the kitchen away from the fun. The photography is lovely and the photos are a pleasure to look at. It is fun to read and imagine what some of the recipes will taste like just by looking at the finished products prepared by Mrs. Garten. I have already devised several menus for upcoming parties and soirees I am planning and have included many of the receipes from this book. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    J A

    I LOVE Ina's cooking ! They are so simple , easy , and delicious! My personal favorite is Midnight Spaghetti!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    My favorite Ina cookbook!

    The recipes in this cookbook are sure proof. Author uses easy to find ingredients and the recipes are simple to follow. If you plan on owning only one Barefoot Contessa cookbook, this is the one to get. You will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics Ina Garten

    This book is exactly what I antipated. It has pictures for the recipes, which leaves you with a good idea of what your dish should look like. I feel that with the story line Ina uses, it makes it so personal. I have made some of the recipes and found them to be easy to follow. They are especially delicious.

    Ina is one of my favorite cookbook authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Elegance with ease...in the kitchen

    I am a huge fan of Inas so this is a very biased opinion. Her recipes are easy to follow and have so much flavor and flair. I love the corn confetti, roasted carrots and parnsips, roasted broccoli and my all time fav is the shrimp scampi---I get serious kudos when I cook it. This makes a great gift, but make sure you purchase one for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    User friendly

    Ina's recipes are easy to follow and the food is delicious. The required ingredients are nothing outrageous but the results are outstanding. An easy to use cookbook with guaranteed results every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Great Gift

    If you have a friend that loves to cook, this is the best gift ever. This cookbook was given to me as a gift, and I have in turn given it to several of my friends who love to cook. The reason this is such a good cookbook is because it really explains the basics of cooking. What flavors go together, what will make a dish taste even better and what to serve at a party - all of this is included. She also has a section of Q & A that is really informative. I recommend this cookbook to anyone who has been cooking for many years or anyone who is just starting to cook. Besides, how can you go wrong with Ina?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6