Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Cookbook

Although the book is probably more for intermediate than inexperienced cooks, Ina Garten's recipes are no-fail. Her presentation is outstanding and the food is good home cooking with wonderful flair. You'll impress all your guests with these recipes and they always turn...
Although the book is probably more for intermediate than inexperienced cooks, Ina Garten's recipes are no-fail. Her presentation is outstanding and the food is good home cooking with wonderful flair. You'll impress all your guests with these recipes and they always turn out the way Garten says they will. My favorite is the Indonesian Ginger Chicken (which can also be used with other meats and even tofu and seitan for vegetarians or vegans who eat honey). I received this book as a birthday gift and used it so often, I went out and bought Barefoot Contessa At Home and Back to Basics. There has been some criticism that Garten uses too much butter and oil in her recipes, but I find that this is really the case in her desserts (which rely on traditional recipes - none of that hydrogenated margarine crap) not her appetizers, entrees, or breakfasts. What I really appreciate about her cooking style is that it uses good, simple, fresh ingredients to produce great food. No muss, no fuss, but there will be some labor. Don't expect 30-Minute Meals here, although some will be quick like the salads.

posted by ImaFan on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

EXTRA Large EGGS?? Spillovers!!! Pecan Bars!

Has anybody actually tried to make the pecan bars? As a very experienced cook and baker in the home kitchen, this one has to be written, again. I challenge anybody to put the ingredients together exactly as the recipe reads with no complications. There is a major pro...
Has anybody actually tried to make the pecan bars? As a very experienced cook and baker in the home kitchen, this one has to be written, again. I challenge anybody to put the ingredients together exactly as the recipe reads with no complications. There is a major problem -- and I DID check to see if my pan was the larger size for jelly roll style recipes. Tasted great but was not an easy task.

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Great Cookbook

    Although the book is probably more for intermediate than inexperienced cooks, Ina Garten's recipes are no-fail. Her presentation is outstanding and the food is good home cooking with wonderful flair. You'll impress all your guests with these recipes and they always turn out the way Garten says they will. My favorite is the Indonesian Ginger Chicken (which can also be used with other meats and even tofu and seitan for vegetarians or vegans who eat honey). I received this book as a birthday gift and used it so often, I went out and bought Barefoot Contessa At Home and Back to Basics. There has been some criticism that Garten uses too much butter and oil in her recipes, but I find that this is really the case in her desserts (which rely on traditional recipes - none of that hydrogenated margarine crap) not her appetizers, entrees, or breakfasts. What I really appreciate about her cooking style is that it uses good, simple, fresh ingredients to produce great food. No muss, no fuss, but there will be some labor. Don't expect 30-Minute Meals here, although some will be quick like the salads.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Easy and Delicious!

    I've found that many recipes from celebrity chefs don't come out right when you make them at home. They leave something out, or change the measurements slightly so that us home cooks will still go to their restaurants to get the same results. Ina Garten's recipes have never failed me, (except the one time I didn't completely read the directions for her Outrageous Brownies, and didn't leave some of the chocolate chips aside to mix in once the batter cooled, but it still tasted great!) and I look forward to more cookbooks from her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    If you like to cook, this is the book to read and re-read.

    I found the book to be interesting and informative. The recipes are laid out simply. Ms. Garten explains the terms in an easy to understand vocabulary. The recipes are appealing and definitely tasty. I can't wait to start reading the other three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Food Flair with Ease

    This book is full of ideas and delicious recipes. You will wow your guests with any choice. Some recipes are less practical than others but all are delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Outstanding Cookbook!

    This is by far the best cookbook I have used! The Barefoot Contessa has established herself as a true chef! Here recipes are easy to follow and always get rave reviews wherever you serve them. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Hmm, hmm, hmm

    Fabulous, easy to make recipes that are great for every night or a special occasion. I highly reccommend it to everyone who enjoys good food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Ava Gardner would have approved!

    This lavishly illustrated volume containing many stunning full-color photographs of finished dishes as well as locally grown produce strives for elegant simplicity and proves that good food need not be complicated. The dishes described are not difficult to prepare and require no special expertise or equipment. The author provides clearly written recipes that call for widely available ingredients. She knows that even standard dishes can benefit from fresh thinking and encourages inventiveness in the kitchen. This book would make a lovely gift for anyone who likes to entertain simply, naturally, and with style. Another book that I highly recommend is Sonia Uvezian's masterpiece, 'Recipes and Remembrances from an Eastern Mediterranean Kitchen,' which has to be one of the greatest ethnic cookbooks ever written. It too inspires innovation and brims with magnificent recipes suitable for entertaining that have consistently brought me raves from both family and guests. Uvezian's recipes for hummus with red pepper paste and for pomegranate wine punch are just two of the hundreds in her book that will bring you fame as a cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Gave as a gift for Christmas. My daughter has asked for it over
    the last few years so 2013 was her lucky year. She is an excellent cook and apparently loves Ina Garten and this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Ina the Original

    My wife and I love her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A Must to have

    i love all of Ina Garten's books. They are easy to follow for the home cook and the meals are delicious. The illustrations are beautiful. She gives great ideas for any type of meal, party. I have all of her books and can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great update on a classic recipe

    After seeing the movie "Julia and Julie" I was inspired to prepare a wonderful dinner for 12 of my friends. I decided to challenge myself and make beef bourguignon. I mentioned to my friend from NY that I was going to try to make the dish and she replied "What a great idea!" and made the dish, using Ina Garten's recipe, a week before my dinner party. My friend raved about the results and reviews she received from her guests. I rushed to Barnes and Noble to pick up Ina Garten's cookbook. I have a couple of her cookbooks but the recipe for Beef Bourguignon is in The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, a book I didn't own.
    The day of my party I prepared the recipe up to a certain point but there were still steps to complete close to the time my guests were arriving. Three of my guests worked with me to ensure the dish got to the table where it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The work of completing the recipe provided my guests with a fun and interesting evening. The next day my husband and I finished the the delicious leftovers.
    Beef bourguignon is just one of the fabulous recipes from Ina Garten's The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. The parmesan smashed potatoes and carmelized butternut squash are equally wonderful. For dessert, the outrageous brownies will please any brownie lover!
    The pictures are vibrant and show you how a dish will present itself on your table. On the side margins of the pages are Ina's helpful hints to ensure every cook's success.
    Anyone who loves to cook and those who want to learn will find this Ina Garten cookbook or any Ina Garten cookbook a partner in their kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Amazing Food You'll Feel Comfortable Making!

    I literally learned to cook through this book. Ina Garten took me from a 23 year old novice to 'Suzy Homemaker' in no time and I didn't even lose my real job! The recipes are so straightforward, you'll feel confident you can prepare any of them and get it right the first time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Like Being in East Hampton

    This is a must have. It's just like being in her wonderful shop. If you entertain at all, she can make is SOOOOO easy for you. The recipes WORK and are delighful. They range from simple to challenging--good for a range of cooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    It doesn't get better than this.

    It doesn't get any better. I'll admit, I'm a huge Martha Stewart fan & that is how I heard about the Barefoot Contessa. This is such a beautiful & amazing cookbook. I have tried 5 recipes since I got it last week & all of them have come out perfect & delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    The Barefoot Contessa Rocks

    I have been cooking for over 25 years and this has to be one of the best cookbooks i have run across. I think i have made everything at least once...and most a ton of times! The BEST chocolate cake...her Potato Salad is to die for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    An essential for every kitchen

    I have many, many cookbooks, but this is the only one that I truly rely on everyday. The recipies and directions are so easy to follow and the results are amazing. The book is written very well and the pictures are beautiful. Ina Garten now has her own section in Martha Stewart Living magazine every month. I now have a subscription!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    Fabulous, Easy and Beautiful Food

    After seeing Ina Garten featured on Martha Stewart, I was eager to get a copy of her cookbook. Everything I've tried has been easy to make, yet elegant and delicious. The Coconut Cupcakes are simply divine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    A Must Have!

    I have about 300 cookbooks, but there are only about 5 that I use on a regular basis - well you can now make that 6. I do a lot of baking for school and I have used some of these recipes and the kids have loved everything. And the recipes that I have made at home have been called 'keepers'. This cookbook is something I'm going to be giving a lot of at Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    For the hometown cook and baker

    I bought this book and then found out that a friend of mine also bought the book. We were comparing all that we have made and I think between the two of us we have probably made half the book. They are delicious recipes and they are for the common person. They are easy and you will get great compliments on everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    AMAZING

    The Barefoot Contessa is a book I will use for every occassion, or every Sunday afternoon. A friend of mine made the outrageous brownies and I just had to run out and get the book the same day! I can't wait to make the lobster pot pie! What a treat. This book is going to make cooking (and eating) such a pleasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2