BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Family Style: Easy Ideas and Recipes That Make Everyone Feel Like Family

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great cookbook

I love Ina!! This cookbook has easy to prepare dishes,with great pictures. Highly recommend!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recipes fail consistently

Ina is great on TV. I love the photos in her cookbooks--I have 2 of them. I've tried several recipes in this book, and they have failed miserably. They're not difficult--but they have fundamental flaws. It is infuriating to 'discover' bad recipes when entertaining o...
Ina is great on TV. I love the photos in her cookbooks--I have 2 of them. I've tried several recipes in this book, and they have failed miserably. They're not difficult--but they have fundamental flaws. It is infuriating to 'discover' bad recipes when entertaining on a special occasion. I was so upset, I almost threw the book in the trash (and I've never even contemplated that--I love my cookbooks). I like Sally Schneider's book, The Improvisational Cook, Martha Stewart, Tyler Florence, and Cook's Illustrated books much better--they deliver consistently good results.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great cookbook

    I love Ina!! This cookbook has easy to prepare dishes,with great pictures. Highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    My favorite Ina Garten Cookbook!

    This is by far Ina's best cookbook and I have 'em all! These recipes are more practical than some of her other books. The meatballs and Parker's Fish and Chips are staples in our home. I have 4 children that are very hard to please, but they eat almost anything that I make from this cookbook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to my cookbook library!

    This is the second Ina cookbook I have purchased and I love this one even more than the first. The recipes are delicious, everytime I make any of her recipes, I'm always the star! I love this book so much I will be giving it as a gift this Christmas to my mom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    My Favorite Cookbook

    Ina's recipies always turn out perfect the first time I try them. The recipies are easy to understand and reproduce even for a novice cook. I get the most consistent results from Ina's books and I love them all. I really love that she includes tips on planning the meals and dinner parties as well. This is a great cookbook and I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Most Highly Recommended

    I work in a well known cooking store and everyone recommends Ina's books. We use them every day at home and haven't had a less than mouth watering result. The ingredients are easy to find and those you probably have any way. Ina rocks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Cooking is all about Friends and Family

    Ina really understands that food is the ultimate celebration of family and friends. No other daily ritual brings people together like a delicious, home-cooked meal cooked with real love and passion. The recipes are great and within the skill level of most cooks. It's a pleasure to cook with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Jiehc

    Duidjsjddjcx ncxjxdkxo ndxkbd dnjjx dnxjdndbs xnjwhibdo hxoanss sjoxxbshsnbhjxx xjxssnxnx xj shjxdnxks sjjjjxxmxsnbs ssnjsjxjxjsxxkx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    One of Ina's best!

    Ina's cookbooks are the best (and I have a few). The recipes are relatively simple. She doesn't use a laundry list of ingredients and the ones she uses are easy to find and a plus is that she tells what brands she uses and where you can get them. Most of all they taste great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Ho let the girls put

    Hey all theae people i am watjin mindles behavior im sayin hi to all of princeton &rocroyal hi my name is Prinesha

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    we all love Ina

    If you can read, you can make Ina's yummmy food

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Love her recipes

    Her recipes are simple but delicious. I hope she makes a cookbook for vegetarians soon, as well as a baking one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Delicious results!!

    Every recipe I've tried has been great! I really recommend this for everyday day family meals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Recipes Never Cease to Wow!

    I have had this book for almost a year now, and have used countless recipes. From the Roasted Vegetable Soup to the Blueberry Muffins, if you follow the easy instructions, you are guarenteed to have a winner! The food depicted in this book has been appealing to everyone in my family, who are particularly picky eaters. This book will be a culinary staple for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Long Live The Contessa!!

    I absolutely adore Ina and I love her cookbooks,this one, particularly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Outstanding

    This was my first introduction to the Barefoot Contessa and i must say, that this cookbook is outstanding!!! My son loves the tequila lime chicken and Ina makes everything so easy. Thanks Ina!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Thank you for the wonderful book

    I have the other two cookbooks, and love those and this one is just as wonderful as the other ones. I love the writing style, and the tips are wonderful. The pictures are great. Everything I have ever tried in these books have turned out just great. When is the next one coming out??? I would like to see a christmas one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Five Stars. A Wonderful Read

    I have Ina Garten's other two books and this is on par with those. It is refreshing to have a cookbook that takes what you have in the pantry and not use excessive ingredients. She writes the recipes with straight forward truth and they are easy for someone on the go to do. They are also wonderfully delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Hit out of the park!

    As a HUGE Contessa fan, Ina once again hits one out of the park with this simple, yet unbelievable collection of recipes and ideas. The great thing that Ina offers is that she makes entertaining so simple no matter who you are.The meatball secret makes the best meatballs I have ever had and the pumpkin banana pie will be a staple on my Thanksgiving table. Thanks Ina!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2