Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Foolproof: Recipes You Can Trust

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You

Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You can tell she is passionate about her cooking. her cookbooks are the best ones out there!

posted by Vivi45 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Too much salt

I am always appalled at how much salt is called for in Ms. Garten's recipes. Some of her recipes contain an entire day's worth of sodium in a single serving! It's like she doesn't undestand the real flavor of food. Salt is not the only flavor on the table.

posted by Bijou1313 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You

    Ina is Great!
    Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You can tell she is passionate about her cooking.
    her cookbooks are the best ones out there!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Too much salt

    I am always appalled at how much salt is called for in Ms. Garten's recipes. Some of her recipes contain an entire day's worth of sodium in a single serving! It's like she doesn't undestand the real flavor of food. Salt is not the only flavor on the table.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    My fave cookbook author

    Another great book!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Another wonderful selection of recipes; as always Ina's book is

    Another wonderful selection of recipes; as always Ina's book is delightful.
    To the person who said she uses too much salt; just a suggestion; adjust the amount! Recipes can be adapted to what suits your taste.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I have all of Ina's cookbooks and love the all except this one.

    I have all of Ina's cookbooks and love the all except this one. Foolproof is disappointing, too many weird recipes.  Prunes in a dessert?? My family would not be happy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Have all of her other cookbooks. Was very disappointed in this

    Have all of her other cookbooks. Was very disappointed in this cookbooks. It seems to be a compilation of her other recipes already published for the most part and I was not particularly impressed with the recipes she chose for this book. These recipes may be foolproof for a party but most is not every day food you cook for your families. I will have to read reviews before I buy the next one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    disappointing way to many seafood and fish recipes recipes in th

    disappointing way to many seafood and fish recipes recipes in this cookbook. Would not have bought had I know that.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I am a great fan of Ina's so I was looking forward to her latest

    I am a great fan of Ina's so I was looking forward to her latest book. I love the easy directions and helpful hints. The photography is beautiful. This book is really a book of recipes from most of her other cookbooks. Still, I enjoyed going through it and revisiting some of her favorite recipes. Ina is so down to Earth and her cooking style follows suit along with all her easy to follow recipes. I collect cookbooks so, for me, this was another great addition to my collection! It is a perfect gift for any cook and cookbook library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Good But Not Great

    I've been a big Ina fan for several years but her last 2 cookbooks have been a little disappointing...same old, same old. This is a nice gift book for the novice entertainer - not for the experienced hostess. I'd only give it about 3 stars - very average.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Not my favorite

    While Ina Garten can not write a bad cookbook, this is not one of my favorites. There are way to many recipes that call for ingredients not available in our area. Also I do not do as much entertaining as I used too and this book is geared to that. All in all, not a purchase I would recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    buy this book!!

    I love Ina Garten. You can trust her recipes. I have all her books. Try the pumpkin spice cupcakes with maple frosting TODAY.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Still a great read

    Love Ina's cookbooks and have them all, however I was a little disappointed to see that many of the recipes in this book were already featured on her TV show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Check it over before you purchase it.

    I am a big fan of Ina's and have several of her cookbooks that I love, however her most recent cookbook "Foolproof" is not a favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Buy it.

    Great book for anyone - beginner or master.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    This book is excellent!  I love her collection of recipes - I've

    This book is excellent!  I love her collection of recipes - I've tried several and we're always please with
    the results.  She's just a fabulous cook and my go-to chef when trying something new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    would buy again

    Purchased as a present for our daughter, my husband and I feel we should buy our own copy after looking at all the recipes we felt we would like to try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Yummy!

    My very first Ina Garten cookbook. I have made just one recipe so far but it turned out wonderfully. Easy instructions and beautiful illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Gave it as a gift.

    My sister purchased it for herself twice but ended up giving it as a gift both times. She was happy to finally get a copy for herself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    I agree with those who say that these are her same old recipes.

    I agree with those who say that these are her same old recipes. I was very disappointed to find that I had seen a lot of them before. I love salted caramel and wanted to try her salted caramel brownies.... Her recipe called for topping brownies with store-bought caramel sauce. Come on ! I could've come up with that one myself ! No recipe intrigued me enough to make it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Excellent

    Luke her other books, full of delicious recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3