Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Foolproof: Recipes You Can Trust

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You

Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You can tell she is passionate about her cooking. her cookbooks are the best ones out there!

posted by Vivi45 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Too much salt

I am always appalled at how much salt is called for in Ms. Garten's recipes. Some of her recipes contain an entire day's worth of sodium in a single serving! It's like she doesn't undestand the real flavor of food. Salt is not the only flavor on the table.

posted by Bijou1313 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Ina is Great! Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You

    Ina is Great!
    Her recipes are delicious and easy to follow. You can tell she is passionate about her cooking.
    her cookbooks are the best ones out there!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    My fave cookbook author

    Another great book!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Another wonderful selection of recipes; as always Ina's book is

    Another wonderful selection of recipes; as always Ina's book is delightful.
    To the person who said she uses too much salt; just a suggestion; adjust the amount! Recipes can be adapted to what suits your taste.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    buy this book!!

    I love Ina Garten. You can trust her recipes. I have all her books. Try the pumpkin spice cupcakes with maple frosting TODAY.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Buy it.

    Great book for anyone - beginner or master.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    This book is excellent!  I love her collection of recipes - I've

    This book is excellent!  I love her collection of recipes - I've tried several and we're always please with
    the results.  She's just a fabulous cook and my go-to chef when trying something new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Gave it as a gift.

    My sister purchased it for herself twice but ended up giving it as a gift both times. She was happy to finally get a copy for herself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Excellent

    Luke her other books, full of delicious recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Love the Contessa

    I have all her books and they are m win source of inspiration for company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Fatty

    Nvrm

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Love Ina!!

    Great easy to follow instructions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    loved it!!!!

    loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love this book.

    Excellent, easy to follow recipes that are uncomplicated and don't require a lot of exotic ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Definitely recommend

    I got this for my mom, an experienced cook, for Christmas and she absolutely loves it!!!! Has had it open in the kitchen and been making recipes from it ever since!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Great gift

    I bought this book for my mom & she absolutely loves it. The recepies she has made are delicious and for someone who can't cook (like me), when reading over the recepies they seem easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    YES!!!

    As usual, Ina strikes gold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    For Barefoot Contessa fans

    I am a big fan of Ina Garten and think her recipes are easy to follow and very delicious.
    The book is a great addition to her collection and a wonderful holiday gift. Recommended for all people who like to cook and explore new ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Another winner!

    All of Ina's cookbooks are fabulous and this one is no exception!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Great!

    I have all her cookbooks, love them all! This one is one of her bests! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Excellent !

    I have always been an Ina fan, and I have been waiting for this book to come out. Like all of the others in her series of books, I am not disapointed. As always, Ina has done a great job of laying out the recipes in a clear readable manner. The photogaphy is beautiful. And this would make a great gift. A win/win. I collect cookbooks, I have since I was young, and this like all of the other Barefoot cookbooks, this is a great addition. And I am already making room on the book shelf for her next one !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2