Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa How Easy Is That?: Fabulous Recipes and Easy Tips

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Poor publishing effort

As an avid Ina fan and owner of all of her cookbooks, I am disappointed with the blurry cover(!) and other photos that seem less than stellar. How does this get by editors? As Ina is all about quality... I am shocked this got by her.

posted by 510515 on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

What Happened?

Let me start off by saying I am a huge Ina Garten fan both in print and in broadcast via "The Barefoot Contessa". So it pains me to be critical. I was so excited for this book only to be left feeling it was a lackluster effort on so many levels. Some of the recipes are ...
Let me start off by saying I am a huge Ina Garten fan both in print and in broadcast via "The Barefoot Contessa". So it pains me to be critical. I was so excited for this book only to be left feeling it was a lackluster effort on so many levels. Some of the recipes are really just re-packaged versions of others in her earlier books. The photography does not incite the usual "I have to make this right now" reaction that all of the photos in Ina's previous books have. It felt like a huge departure from her usual high standards. As my friend's mom said, the book feels as if she was in a hurry to get it done. That may be the case. Whatever may have happened, I want the old "Barefoot Contessa" back!

posted by 1201811 on November 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    What Happened?

    Let me start off by saying I am a huge Ina Garten fan both in print and in broadcast via "The Barefoot Contessa". So it pains me to be critical. I was so excited for this book only to be left feeling it was a lackluster effort on so many levels. Some of the recipes are really just re-packaged versions of others in her earlier books. The photography does not incite the usual "I have to make this right now" reaction that all of the photos in Ina's previous books have. It felt like a huge departure from her usual high standards. As my friend's mom said, the book feels as if she was in a hurry to get it done. That may be the case. Whatever may have happened, I want the old "Barefoot Contessa" back!

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    The Good, the bad, and the commerical

    I have every book Ms. Garten has written and love them! This book was disappointing for several reasons. I found at least 5 recipes without looking too hard that have been previously done in her other books. In her opening chapter she clearly states she makes a point not to list ingredients that are hard to find. Such as gelatin sheets. Yet in her dessert section she requests cookies found only in a store in the Hamptons for a cake. Then for the Egg cream drink she lists a chocolate syrup I have never heard of. Then in the recipe for Red Velvet cupcakes she tells you to use cocoa you can only get at William and Sonoma, which doesn't tell you this. Which is also true for the olive oil she lists as a must have pantry stable. This olive oil use to be sold at Fresh Market, but no more. I can find gelatin sheets in my local grocery store, but not this syrup, olive oil or the cookies she lists. Plus she doesn't provide a resource to find this syrup. Which she claims is a MUST. Lastly, it is obvious she is pushing her own premade mixes, All Clad cookware, among other things. I like the book, but be prepared for the undertone of pushing products she is obviously in partnership with, reminds me of Martha Stewart. As for the recycle recipes, she is such a talented woman, the pages these recipes took up could have been used for new ones.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Poor publishing effort

    As an avid Ina fan and owner of all of her cookbooks, I am disappointed with the blurry cover(!) and other photos that seem less than stellar. How does this get by editors? As Ina is all about quality... I am shocked this got by her.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    There Goes My Diet!

    I love the Barefoot Contessa. It doesn't help that the Food Network helped make me one of her biggest fan, but Ina has helped me make the most humble dishes elegant again. Again, there goes my diet. I'd also recommend another good book for when you do blow your diet. It's called "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness. It is a must read for every woman.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    O.K

    As far as Anonymous goes you can get everything you need. It may not be exactly what Ina says but you can get close to it,. As far as feleatin sheets, olive oil and chocolate syruy goes the chocolate is call Fox U-Bet Chocolate syruy and olive oli any supermarket sell them. If I can get the items you can. it made not be what she called for but close enough. Oilve oil comes in many different brand so you show not have a problem. As fae as gelatin sheet any cake supplies say it, you have to look in the yellow pages. As far as the chocolate syruy goes every one sells Fox U-Bet. I am a Ex-NY who move to Ca 29 yes ago and I can find everything I need. If I can you can. Their are alot a Co. on the inyrny who sells them U-Bet is from Brooklun , MY so you can order from then directly. You need to look for items that are simmily to the order. Ina just gives you explain were she gets it. I don't know were you live, but I am sure you can get all the items you need, as long as you buy close to it, it will work. Please just try harder in looking for the items., I am sure you can get them. As far as gelatin sheets everyone sells them. thery are not hard to find. I hope this helps you. I wish you good luck lick. As far as the rescepit goes everyone one repeart theem. If you look in some of your other books you can find then, with just a little diff in amt of salt or bakeing soda. Annonymous Ca

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Don't miss this,

    Great cookbook! Easy to follow and the recipes are delicious. Highly recommend to every cook or non cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Not as good as some others

    They are easy recipes if you want very unfamiliar food. I just was not too impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No-fail crowd pleasers!

    Easy is the key word here - some of these are already go-to recipes in my collection. Thanks Ina!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great

    this is great that I can use it on my mook. The recipes are easy to follow and have tried a few. I enjoy using Ina's recipes and watching her show.
    Hope more of her books will be ebooks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Another successful Barefoot Contessa cookbook!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Another great book from The Barefoot Contessa!!!!

    The title of the book says it all: "How Easy is That?". Cooking and entertaining should be fun and relaxing, not stressful. I love the tips that Ina gives for preparing and presenting food. She is not a trained chef but she puts together some really great recipes. Use good quality products and ingredients, follow Ina's instructions and you will be thrilled with the results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    What's not to love?

    Every recipe is fantastic! I love being able to rely on any Ina recipe for a successful dish. A collection of easy dishes- yum!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Another great cookbook by Ina

    I love this book. Already made a few dishes and as usual they are both easy and delicious. As for the previous post about the quality I can only say my copy is fine so perhaps it can be returned for another copy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3