Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Contessa Parties! Ideas and Recipes for Easy Parties That Are Really Fun

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

If you could only have one party cookbook ...this is it.

When I bought Ina Garten's first cookbook I dashed off a letter before I prepared the first recipe. I could tell be the number and kind of ingredients and the text, that it was a keeper. The second book is just as good. I am a professional cook but love to spend my fre...
When I bought Ina Garten's first cookbook I dashed off a letter before I prepared the first recipe. I could tell be the number and kind of ingredients and the text, that it was a keeper. The second book is just as good. I am a professional cook but love to spend my free time doing whatelse? Cooking. And the joy of her books is that the results are risk and hassle free. No strange ingredients. No strange equipment. And no complicated preparations. I even found that her recipes and techniques are an improvement over ones I have done successfully for years. Buy one for yourself, and do the same with another copy for a friend.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Smart and Easy Book on Parties

Beautifully presented with great photographs. A down-to-earth set of menues for typical parties during the four different seasons. The author acknowledges the anxiety that often goes along with giving a party and then skillfully lets the reader know that she has also ha...
Beautifully presented with great photographs. A down-to-earth set of menues for typical parties during the four different seasons. The author acknowledges the anxiety that often goes along with giving a party and then skillfully lets the reader know that she has also had those feelings. She then gives practical advice about how to forge ahead in spite of fears.

Ina Garten's recipes are really easy to reproduce because the directions and lists of ingredients are clear. The squash and apple soup is just one of many, many examples. She gives information on cooking techniques very well and always speaks respectfully to the reader.

I particularly liked reading about 'reasons' for parties. The author urges her reader to think about occasions other than the typical Saturday, big dinner party idea. She gives some fine examples. Here is one example: invite friends over for a 'favorite movie clips' party. Each person brings a video or DVD of his or her favorite movie. The entertainment consists of watching the clips, each person fast-forwarding the movie to that specific clip. I have already invited a small group of people who love movies and also loved this idea. We'll be eating the food from the menu that Ina G. suggests for this party.

I think that you might appreciate her suggestions for making guests feel welcome in your home. I also value her advice about NEVER letting guests know about problems and about how to deal with problems which will happen to everyone at some point.

One other thing that I noticed was that she always gave credit where credit was due. For example, she notes exactly where she has acquired a recipe, giving the source as a person or a book. Then, if she has tweaked the recipe, she says exactly how.

posted by mm1 on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    The go-to cookbook in my house

    I have tons of cookbooks, but this one quickly became my favorite. The food is SO easy to make that its sometimes hard to believe how GOOD it is! Beautiful photos, mouthwatering menus, all around perfect book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2001

    If you could only have one party cookbook ...this is it.

    When I bought Ina Garten's first cookbook I dashed off a letter before I prepared the first recipe. I could tell be the number and kind of ingredients and the text, that it was a keeper. The second book is just as good. I am a professional cook but love to spend my free time doing whatelse? Cooking. And the joy of her books is that the results are risk and hassle free. No strange ingredients. No strange equipment. And no complicated preparations. I even found that her recipes and techniques are an improvement over ones I have done successfully for years. Buy one for yourself, and do the same with another copy for a friend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Barefoot Contessa Parties!

    Great cookbook. It is well laid out and beautifully illustrated. The recipes contained within the book should be appealing to most people and there is lots of good information within each chapter. I first had a look at this book from my local library. I was so impressed with it, I decided to purchase it and add it to my recipe book collection. I would recommend any of Ina Garten's other cookbooks as well because they are of the same quality. You can't go wrong when you buy one of her cookbooks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Smart and Easy Book on Parties

    Beautifully presented with great photographs. A down-to-earth set of menues for typical parties during the four different seasons. The author acknowledges the anxiety that often goes along with giving a party and then skillfully lets the reader know that she has also had those feelings. She then gives practical advice about how to forge ahead in spite of fears. <BR/><BR/>Ina Garten's recipes are really easy to reproduce because the directions and lists of ingredients are clear. The squash and apple soup is just one of many, many examples. She gives information on cooking techniques very well and always speaks respectfully to the reader. <BR/><BR/>I particularly liked reading about 'reasons' for parties. The author urges her reader to think about occasions other than the typical Saturday, big dinner party idea. She gives some fine examples. Here is one example: invite friends over for a 'favorite movie clips' party. Each person brings a video or DVD of his or her favorite movie. The entertainment consists of watching the clips, each person fast-forwarding the movie to that specific clip. I have already invited a small group of people who love movies and also loved this idea. We'll be eating the food from the menu that Ina G. suggests for this party.<BR/><BR/>I think that you might appreciate her suggestions for making guests feel welcome in your home. I also value her advice about NEVER letting guests know about problems and about how to deal with problems which will happen to everyone at some point. <BR/><BR/>One other thing that I noticed was that she always gave credit where credit was due. For example, she notes exactly where she has acquired a recipe, giving the source as a person or a book. Then, if she has tweaked the recipe, she says exactly how.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ina Garten is every Chef's Hero.

    This book makes entertaining and cooking simple, chic and so much fun. You would be crazy not to consider purchasing this book if you are in need of even alittle guidance and learning about cooking and entertaining. Everything about this book makes me want to be at one of Ina's parties. Also check out her show on Foodnetwork you will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Constantly in use!

    This is one of my "go-to" cookbooks. There are many wonderful recipes, all easy to use, and they taste as good as they sound. There are no ingredients that are hard to find. Ina Garten recipes are easy, consistent, and delicious. All of her books are good, but this is my favorite and the one I use most. I always give this book at wedding showers...every new bride should have it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Use this book for ALL your Parties!

    Barefoot Contessa has outdone herself! I did not think this second book could be as good as the first, but I was wrong! She enables you to host a party with all the right ingredients. Meeting guests, cooking, entertaining, it's all in here! I cannot wait for a third book! This book outshines every other entertainment/cookbook published today! Ina Garten is a master!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    The second is just as good as the first

    I just had to buy the second of Ina Garten's cookbooks. The recipes and ideas are so clear and straight forward. They are easy and understandable. One of the best laid out and just a pure delight to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    My kitchen visitor became an admirer

    I was given this book by a dear friend when she went to meet Ina Garten at a book signing and I was unable to attend. I love it and refer to it often when entertaining.

    My son's girlfriend paged trough it often and was an admirer; so it was a must for a Christmas gift to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Good Book, Great Ideas

    NO time to write a review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    Barefoot Contessa ROCKS!

    Buy this book and you won't be disappointed. The recipes are easy and delicious. The hardest part is deciding which to make!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    You can't miss with this cookbook!

    This is an awesome collection of super easy, wonderful meals. I don't just use it for parties, but also for any special meal. I have made almost every recipe in this book...how many cookbooks can you say that about? My kids love the pizza recipe and have started all their birthday parties with each child making their own pizza crust and topping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2