Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Heart: Stories of a Migrant Child

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I had to read this for a class it was good.

    I had to read this for a class it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I think this Book is very inspirational and shows the characters

    I think this Book is very inspirational and shows the characters of the novel quite well. its a good read and study in a school. it also is touching to see the life of migrant families had it backin the day . veery touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Awesome.

    This book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I highly recomend this book!!!!

    I think that this is a good inspirational book for people who what to know how it use to be anong time ago.I also think that it is a good book to read for a study guide in a school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I think that this book is a good representation of how much of a

    I think that this book is a good representation of how much of a dificult life migrant families had it back in the day, and in some cases they still have it hard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    I think it was hard and interesting being a migrant worker in Te

    I think it was hard and interesting being a migrant worker in Texas, Arizona, and Minnesota.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    Very nice story!

    I read just a short piece from this book for my high school class, and I must say, the little part I read was enough for me to like this book. I really liked what I read and I would really recommend this book. It is a great piece of literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    great (:

    I really enjoyed the majority of this book! it was captivating! i was very interested and wanted to keep reading! this book is definitely one worth looking into!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating view of a Mexican American woman's life amidst poverty and predjudice

    Elma Travino Hart has written a memorable book about her own life, growing up Mexican American in a white world. As she grows she moves from the sanctity of her own family to a more hostile environment that challenges her dignity and self-esteem. The youngest of six children, she was a remarkably resourceful and resilient spirit. She knew that education was the key to her own success, and she pursued it relentlessly and successfully. This is a very touching account of what it is like to be different, and what it takes to find the truth in one's own identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book.

    I had to read a section of this book for a summer school class. I thought that it was going to be boring but I actually liked it. I was amazed at how good the book was. I liked it because it was easy to read and entertaining at the same time. The story was great and very entertaining. The story actually kept my attention. I think that the story is very good and I recommend it to everyone. I think it is a great story to read with friends or a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    This book

    From what i've read I think this is a really good book. I love how that marielenas stories enlightented the author and made her a better reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    This is a true and wonderful tale of remarkable pyhysical and spiritual achievement

    I felt the book tapped into her creative ability as a writer to unleash the full potential of her skills as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    im with the other guy i had to do this for a class

    it was a pritty good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    a book

    i thought that it was an ok story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Reviewer

    This is a sensational book of one woman's childhood stories of the insecurities, trials, and triumphs of a hispanic migrant. Anyone who likes to listen to a storyteller should read this. The author allows you to easily visualize walking in another's shoes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    I read part of this for a class

    I liked The Storyteller because it was heartfelt and it feels like the person was telling me the story as i read it I could see the images

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    student

    I feel like Elva had a really good story to tell and I believe that this story is good because it comes from real experience. it was a very interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was lucky enough to grow up in a household where everybody loves books and many storties are told with much laughter, so it's no surprise that I've turned to writing as a form of expression. Elva Trevino Hart, on the other hand, lived with a migrant family, so the story of how she realized her potential to be an author was particularly touching. She came from one of the most unlikely places and became what no one around her expected her to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    great

    I liked the book alot Elva talks about how it was for her to grow up as a migrant child and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    i kinda feel diappointed from what i had read. i thought it would be a lot different then what i was told it would be like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3