Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Heart: Stories of a Migrant Child

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I think this Book is very inspirational and shows the characters

    I think this Book is very inspirational and shows the characters of the novel quite well. its a good read and study in a school. it also is touching to see the life of migrant families had it backin the day . veery touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    Very nice story!

    I read just a short piece from this book for my high school class, and I must say, the little part I read was enough for me to like this book. I really liked what I read and I would really recommend this book. It is a great piece of literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating view of a Mexican American woman's life amidst poverty and predjudice

    Elma Travino Hart has written a memorable book about her own life, growing up Mexican American in a white world. As she grows she moves from the sanctity of her own family to a more hostile environment that challenges her dignity and self-esteem. The youngest of six children, she was a remarkably resourceful and resilient spirit. She knew that education was the key to her own success, and she pursued it relentlessly and successfully. This is a very touching account of what it is like to be different, and what it takes to find the truth in one's own identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    This is a true and wonderful tale of remarkable pyhysical and spiritual achievement

    I felt the book tapped into her creative ability as a writer to unleash the full potential of her skills as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Reviewer

    This is a sensational book of one woman's childhood stories of the insecurities, trials, and triumphs of a hispanic migrant. Anyone who likes to listen to a storyteller should read this. The author allows you to easily visualize walking in another's shoes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    great

    I liked the book alot Elva talks about how it was for her to grow up as a migrant child and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read an excerpt of this book in school and I imediately fell in love with this story. It's inspiring, its magical, its simply amazing. I recommend this for anyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    chantelle,high school study

    I think it was a good book from what I read . I am part hispanic and my grandmother has many heartbreaking stories also.I would recommend everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    I liked it

    i liked the review it was a good book it remided me of when i was growing up as a child and all the stuff i went through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    An exellent book for any reader!

    I really liked the part about Marielena, the storyteller. The author uses great imagery when discribing Marielena and her mother. The way she tells the story of her youth is amazing. It made me want to read the part again and again. I would recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    The Book it self

    The book itself tells us on the front cover that the book will be interesting. The book is also about a really cool boy and is then written by this boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    The Storyteller

    I read the excerpt, called 'The Storyteller', from this book for school. It isn't the type of reading I personally enjoy, however I still liked the excerpt. If I had enough time on my hands, I probably would read this book for pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Thank You

    This book was assigned for reading in one of my Chicano studies class. Had I not been told to read it, I don't think I would've ever know what the phrase 'profound book' meant. I've never read a autobiography that has moved me as much as this girl's story has. I laughed and cried with her (and no book has ever made me cry) and now I truly understand some of the events my migrant ancestors went through. My copy of this book shows wear since it's been passed among several of my friends and family. If you only read one historical/biographical book in your life, let this be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Another view on life

    This was an assigned book for History and I am so glad it was because otherwise I wouldn't have known of its existense. It helped me understand better what some of my family members experienced when they also picked. I especially like the part were the author describes her mother making tortillas it seemed so much like a dance and I've never seen it like that before. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes true stories or autobiographys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Migrant childhood recounted

    Hart tells of her childhood in an engaging way that allows the reader to understand the joys and sorrows, hardships and rewards of a family working for a better life. The pride and dignity of Ms. Hart, her family, and those whose work is largely unrewarding, are themes well worth reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1