Customer Reviews for

Barefoot Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An Enjoyable Read

Reviewed By~Stacey
Review Copy Provided By~Arc By Author

Best friends; you love each other, you hate each other. It’s all part of life. In Susan Mallery’s soon-to-be released “Barefoot Season” we meet two former best friends who have so much hostility toward one ano...
Reviewed By~Stacey
Review Copy Provided By~Arc By Author

Best friends; you love each other, you hate each other. It’s all part of life. In Susan Mallery’s soon-to-be released “Barefoot Season” we meet two former best friends who have so much hostility toward one another that it was hard to like them or imagine why anyone would want to be friends with them in the first place!

I have to admit, I am a die-hard Susan Mallery romance fan. I’ve read them all – twice! As with last year’s Best of Friends, Susan takes us through the story that does have romantic elements but the main plot deals with the difficult relationships between family and friends. In previous books, she presents realistic struggles between friends, family and lovers and Barefoot Season is no exception. The animosity between Michelle and Carly is palpable on every page and at times I wished that they would just scream it out and move on.

Everything in its own time.

Not only is Michelle recovery from the horrors of war and an injury, she returns home after her mother’s death to find her beloved inn in financial ruins. Add to that the fact that Carly is running the inn and the two are forced to work together.

Carly’s a single mom struggling with a lifetime of lies and just wanting a chance at a normal life but with Michelle back in town, she finds it difficult to look at the future when the past is still hanging over her head. Along the way other relationships form and, as she does so well, we get that taste of romance that Susan Mallery writes so well. If I had one complaint it was that I would have liked to see a little bit more of the development of these relationships; I think it could have been interesting to watch the romantic relationships evolve and how those relationships come to help Carly and Michelle with their own friendship.

All in all, Barefoot Season is a wonderful read. Once I started, I could not put it down. While not your typical romance, there’s still enough for even the most devout fan. For those of you looking for a good book to use with your book club, Susan has even included questions for discussion at the end. Being that we all have had best friends, this story has a lot to offer to a group discussion setting.

I love an author who is in tune with her readers!

posted by RtBBlog on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read

    Reviewed By~Stacey
    Review Copy Provided By~Arc By Author

    Best friends; you love each other, you hate each other. It’s all part of life. In Susan Mallery’s soon-to-be released “Barefoot Season” we meet two former best friends who have so much hostility toward one another that it was hard to like them or imagine why anyone would want to be friends with them in the first place!

    I have to admit, I am a die-hard Susan Mallery romance fan. I’ve read them all – twice! As with last year’s Best of Friends, Susan takes us through the story that does have romantic elements but the main plot deals with the difficult relationships between family and friends. In previous books, she presents realistic struggles between friends, family and lovers and Barefoot Season is no exception. The animosity between Michelle and Carly is palpable on every page and at times I wished that they would just scream it out and move on.

    Everything in its own time.

    Not only is Michelle recovery from the horrors of war and an injury, she returns home after her mother’s death to find her beloved inn in financial ruins. Add to that the fact that Carly is running the inn and the two are forced to work together.

    Carly’s a single mom struggling with a lifetime of lies and just wanting a chance at a normal life but with Michelle back in town, she finds it difficult to look at the future when the past is still hanging over her head. Along the way other relationships form and, as she does so well, we get that taste of romance that Susan Mallery writes so well. If I had one complaint it was that I would have liked to see a little bit more of the development of these relationships; I think it could have been interesting to watch the romantic relationships evolve and how those relationships come to help Carly and Michelle with their own friendship.

    All in all, Barefoot Season is a wonderful read. Once I started, I could not put it down. While not your typical romance, there’s still enough for even the most devout fan. For those of you looking for a good book to use with your book club, Susan has even included questions for discussion at the end. Being that we all have had best friends, this story has a lot to offer to a group discussion setting.

    I love an author who is in tune with her readers!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Excellant start to a new series ! Can't wait for the next one.

    Excellant start to a new series ! Can't wait for the next one. I found all the characters interesting, even the dog and cat. This book is more intense than any of the other Susan Mallery books I've read. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Recommend

    Easy reading, kept my interest throughout the book-finished it in one evening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great Book

    I truly loved this book..... It's a great story line, about forgiveness and starting over .... I loved it ... tears and laughter....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    A Good Read!!

    Michelle is a strong, independent woman, but on the inside, she is still the wounded girl who fled home years ago. A young army vet, Michelle returns to the quaint Blackberry Island Inn to claim her inheritance and recover from the perils of war. Instead, she finds the owner's suite occupied by the last person she wants to see - her rival enemy, Carly. Once inseparable, until a shocking betrayal destroyed their friendship. And now Carly is implicated in the financial disaster lurking behind the inn's cheerful veneer.

    A great read! Enjoyed the setting centered around the inn as in the hotel business. Great characters and hope to see a series and would love to see more of Carly and Sam, and Michelle and Jared.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Review: Barefoot Season by Susan Mallery 4 STARS Barefoot Seaso

    Review: Barefoot Season by Susan Mallery
    4 STARS Barefoot Season is the first Blackberry Island novel. It is a complex storyline with a little romance in it. A couple of love scenes. I like the questions about the book in the back. Michelle has been away from her home on Blackberry Island at the hotel thats been in her family for a couple of years. She has been in the army and deployed over thier 3 times and come back wounded. Her mother has died three months ago and really blamed her for everything. She finds her former bestfriend Carly running the inn and living in her apartment with her daughter at the inn. Michelle and Carly were close until thier senior year when Michelle's father left her mother to runaway with Carly's mother. Carly and Michelle's mother both blamed her for thier running away. Both Michelle and Carly loved the same guy who two days before the wedding slep with Michelle and Carly walked in on them. Carly pregant still married him and Michelle ran away and enlisted. Michelle is suffering physcally and emotionly from the war. She also finds that the hotel has grown and now as two morgages on it. The day she got back she fired Carly when she found her living in her former room. Carly is scared for the future. She found out that Michelle's mother had lied to her for years telling her that she will be earning up to half of the hotel. It was never hers to promise that. She had been working for peanuts because of that promise of a better future for her and her daughter. Her husband Alan had left before the baby came and took all her money with her. she would lose her job and her daughters only home. So she did not leave as Michelle told her too. The bank officer is making Michelle keep Carly on for two years to run the hotel and if Michelle can't bring the morgages current will have to forfit the hotel. Thier has already been an offer for the hotel. The characters were complex at least Michelle and Carly are. They have real problems to work through. The romance of the book seems rushed and could have had a bigger part of the story than it did. I was surprised at some of the developments in the story. Like Gabby and Chance a lot. Wonder if I missed exactly why Michelle really hates daisies. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 03/17/2012 PUB Harlequin Mira

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Being a veteran of VietNam, I can relate to this story, as I'm sure most veterans could. This is the story of a woman who was injured in Irag and returns home to run a family bed and breakfast. She knew the woman who was running the inn in her absence, but did not like her at all, after being best friends through their high school years. The reasons for their now no longer even speaking relationship is well described and how it takes shape is very well told. The whole story is a well written story about relationships, deceit and love and is well worth reading. I know you will enjoy it. As a female veteran, is how I relate to this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Awesome story of healing and friendship

    Anothet wonderful stiry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Hazelheart

    "What do you mean?" She says not turning around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Firepaw

    Hazelheart look out its Darkclaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Wonderful.

    I want to give my thoughts of this book in words, just words. But, first I wanted to say that it wasn't what I expected at all. Here are the words: Intense, Selfishness, betrayal, suffering, forgiveness, healing, joy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Good Beach Book

    Read this after I read "Three Sisters". Fairly predictable but easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    A Good Read

    Enjoyable and an easy read. Since I love New England, I especially enjoyed reading about the beach, town, and the mystery made for a good read. I do like Susan Mallery's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Again another book by Susan that I really enjoyed reading. Her Fool Gold series were out of this world. I could not put my Nook down when I starting reading Fool Gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Silverstar

    I wish to be leader of this clan because I have experiance with leadership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Swirlingmoon to all

    I wish to be summerclans leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Rockfur: SCARLET?

    LIGHTKIT CANT MOVE! YOU ARE A HEALER, RIGHT? SO COME TO TUNDRA RES1 AND SAVE HER LIFE! PLEASE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Fallenmarigold

    She sat calmly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Juneleaf

    "Yeah"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6