Customer Reviews for

Barefoot in Paris: Easy French Food You Can Make at Home

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    My husband & I came home from a week in Paris determined to master boeuf bourguignon, the fabulous beef stew we had at a sidewalk cafe near one of the outdoor flea markets. The first recipe we tried was Julia Child's, and while it was tasty it didn't have the extra something special we remembered from our trip. On a whim, I bought Barefoot in Paris and voila! Ina Garten's manages to recreate traditional French dishes that are not only delicious, but easy to make even for a novice. Her pear clafouti is to die for and if you like garlic, you're going to love the 40 clove garlic chicken.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    The Next Julia Child

    At last another TV Chef who has made French cuisine more accesible to the home cook. As usual she shows her true love of food without fear of calories. For people who truly enjoy cooking and eating great food!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    A WONDERFUL TREAT FOR MY TASTEBUDS

    I am so-o-o-o very hooked on the Food TV shows and was thrilled to meet Ina Garden at her book signing in Freehold, N.J. My family and I are not big on French cooking and I bought this book just to have it signed by Ina. However, I was delighted with its contents. I made several recipes that came out great. Thank you Ina for introducing me to your way of cooking French.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Know the Chef and Her Foods!

    Barefoot in Paris has a wide expanse of recipes that are easy to prepare and readily available foods. Brioche Loaves are easy like Ina tells you in her recipe. I have made the two loaves, and can tell you with 4 'gourmet eaters' in the house, the second loaf never hits the freezer. Herbed-Baked Eggs are as simple as making scrambled eggs but with the 'wow' factor when it arrives at the brunch table. And love the valuable tips on purchasing good French cookware. Have tried many of Ina's recipes as she prepared them on Food Network and would love to take cooking lessons from her. She exudes her enthusiasm for cooking and I think it would be great fun to be in a kitchen with her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    A Friend You Would Love To Meet

    This is not a review, but more, an applause for Ina Garten. My husband & I watched her show 5 days a week @ 5 p.m. He enjoyed her as much as I. She seems like a lovely person, who does indeed love to cook, entertain, and loves being with her friend's. I feel wherever she goes, Paris, New York, or even Charlotte, N.C., where we live, people would love being around her. She is such a beautiful person (inside & out), who, one can easily tell, loves to do things (including cooking special things)for her friend's. And...she does it, I feel, from her heart! I do not understand why she went off the air. We looked for Barefoot Contessa, Tuesday @ 5, but has been replaced with Sandra Lee. Just curious why she is no longer on 'The Food Channen?' Sincerely, M.A.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I Love This Cookbook.

    I love this cookbook. I have all of Ina Garten's cookbooks. I think this one is like all her others in that is is great food simply prepared. The recipes are easy to understand and if you follow them always turn out well. My family and friends have enjoyed everything I have made from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I love this cookbook!!!

    Everything I have made has been fantastic tasting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Barefoot in Paris by Ina Garten, Cookbook

    I thought it was a very informative and well written cookbook. I bought this for someone else as a Christmas gift but while looking through it, I liked reading all of the recipes in it. I am not the worlds best cook but I can follow her instructions and have a great meal. Now, I have to buy another book just for myself. I have been to Paris, France and enjoyed their food, so to me, it's like a little bit of Paris here in the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Ina, Again!

    I now own all of Ina's cookbooks; Barefoot in Paris is my most recent purchase, after seeing the movie Julie and Julia. My opinion of French food was that it was fussy, took too long to make, and way too rich for my taste. I was inspired to try it, though, and I knew that Ina would be a perfect fit for me. I was right, this is a beautiful book and the recipes are delicious! Like all her books it is a joy to read with stories and beautiful photos. The food is simple and not fussy at all. Another winner from Ina, she is the best cook ever and seems like a really fun person. I would love to be a guest at her table!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Your kitchen will fool you into thinking your in Paris.

    This book makes entertaining and cooking simple, chic and so much fun. You would be crazy not to consider purchasing this book if you are in need of even alittle guidance and learning about cooking and entertaining. Everything about this book makes me want to be at one of Ina's parties. Also check out her show on Foodnetwork you will be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Pleasant Surprise

    I have reviewed many recipe books, and this was the very first one that I read from the front page to the last page. It is a wonderful book. I have since made about 10-15 of Ina's recipes and they have turned out to be fairly easy, but most of all delicious. Many of my friends and family have now purchased this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    Paris in the south

    A really good cook book, I have made many of the recipes and was pleased with each one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2