Customer Reviews for

Barefoot in the Sand (Barefoot Bay Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A MUST read book!

I was hooked from the very first page and continued to be hooked until the very last word. I The 3 main charaters and the plot were well developed. The supporting charaters were developed just enough to leave you wanting more, which you will get in the next book in the ...
I was hooked from the very first page and continued to be hooked until the very last word. I The 3 main charaters and the plot were well developed. The supporting charaters were developed just enough to leave you wanting more, which you will get in the next book in the series. This is a great beach read, couch read, airplane read, ANYWHERE read. Anyone that enjoys romance should purchase BAREFOOT in the SAND, you will not be disappointed! I was able to connect with the charaters and felt as though I was watching a movie play out in front of me. This is the first book written by Raoxanne st. Claire that I have read, but it will certainly NOT be the last.

posted by nuyear75 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Booo

Why do these egotistical ppl ruin books by revealing every detail of the book? STOP WITH THE PLOT REVEALS. WE CAN READ! AND CONTRARY TO YOUR LONG, LENGTHY PLOT REVEALS, WE WOULD RATHER READ IT FOR OURSELVES. WHO DIED AND MADE YOU PPL BOOK GODS TO TAKE IT UPON YOURSELVES...
Why do these egotistical ppl ruin books by revealing every detail of the book? STOP WITH THE PLOT REVEALS. WE CAN READ! AND CONTRARY TO YOUR LONG, LENGTHY PLOT REVEALS, WE WOULD RATHER READ IT FOR OURSELVES. WHO DIED AND MADE YOU PPL BOOK GODS TO TAKE IT UPON YOURSELVES TO RUIN EVERY BOOK YOU SUPPISEDLY REVIEW. IT IS A REVIEW, NOT A DISSERTATION, A BOOK REPORT OR A BOOK BLOG. To everyone sick to death of these ppl, call bn with book title anf complain. They will ban these losers.

posted by 8888649 on October 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    A MUST read book!

    I was hooked from the very first page and continued to be hooked until the very last word. I The 3 main charaters and the plot were well developed. The supporting charaters were developed just enough to leave you wanting more, which you will get in the next book in the series. This is a great beach read, couch read, airplane read, ANYWHERE read. Anyone that enjoys romance should purchase BAREFOOT in the SAND, you will not be disappointed! I was able to connect with the charaters and felt as though I was watching a movie play out in front of me. This is the first book written by Raoxanne st. Claire that I have read, but it will certainly NOT be the last.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Booo

    Why do these egotistical ppl ruin books by revealing every detail of the book? STOP WITH THE PLOT REVEALS. WE CAN READ! AND CONTRARY TO YOUR LONG, LENGTHY PLOT REVEALS, WE WOULD RATHER READ IT FOR OURSELVES. WHO DIED AND MADE YOU PPL BOOK GODS TO TAKE IT UPON YOURSELVES TO RUIN EVERY BOOK YOU SUPPISEDLY REVIEW. IT IS A REVIEW, NOT A DISSERTATION, A BOOK REPORT OR A BOOK BLOG. To everyone sick to death of these ppl, call bn with book title anf complain. They will ban these losers.

    15 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    excellent light reading

    Roxanne St. Claire is an authour that makes you laugh and always keeps your interest. A very good summer beach book!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    A great read!

    A story with humor and romance, Could not put down.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Another fun summer romance! Loved the setting and the characters

    Another fun summer romance! Loved the setting and the characters. This is romance done right.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Give us a break!

    Look up the difference between book review and book report! Who wants to read something after the line by line picking apart some people keep on doing ?... Little too full of yourself perhaps?

    7 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    So a Great Read!

    I love Roxanne's books and this is another great must read! Love the characters and the plot was fantastic. I can't wait for the next one!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Roxanne St. Claire has a new genre!!!

    My Review:
    Okay, I'll admit it. I was really upset when Roxanne said that she was going to start writing a contemporary series versus her normal romantic suspense. Not because I don't love contemporaries, because I do, but because I've always loved Roxanne St. Claire's romantic suspense writing. But I am OKAY WITH IT NOW, because this book WAS SO GOOD!

    Lacey, the heroine of the story...OMG, I love her. I want to be friends with her!! She's thirty-seven years old and the mother of a fourteen year old teenage girl. Clay is much younger than her and nothing that she ever expected. He's gorgeous and sexy and their chemistry is through the roof. She wants him...desperately, but she's scared of what she feels for him and the way that he pushes her to go after her dreams. She's lived a quiet sedate life for the last 14 years and she wants and NEEDS some adventure, but finds it so hard to let go of her safety net and leap to where she wants to go...directly into Clay's arms. And of course, there are all kinds of other distractions pulling her in a million different stressful directions.

    Then there is Clay...seriously, sexy, sweet Clay. He has been really, really hurt and NEVER wants to be in that situation again. He's very upfront about that fact too. He wants sex from Lacey, but nothing else...at least that's what he's telling her and himself. I love that his true feelings come through in his art...such a gorgeous little detail of the story. I loved how much his passion for architecture came through in this story. He is truly passionate about his designs for Lacey. He loves architecture and the heartbreak about his career is such an emotional part of the story...both for him and for me as a reader. I loved that connection to his character. I adore architecture and even studied it in college for a while so that was a fun aspect to the story for me.

    There's a huge cast of characters in this book and they all add great dimension to the story. I love Lacey's three friends and look forward to learning more about their stories. There are some serious secrets among these girls and we have just seen hints about them so far. I definitely look forward to more from this series...enough so that Roxanne St. Claire is officially forgiven for changing genre's. She writes contemporary romance just as well as she writes romantic suspense....PERFECTLY!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    A great book by one of my favorite authors.

    A great book by one of my favorite authors.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Is love the one thing that can never be taken away? Lacey Arm

    Is love the one thing that can never be taken away?

    Lacey Armstrong has spent her life chasing dreams that seemed so close yet like the horizon so far away. She was running a small but successful baking business until a hurricane came and took everything she owned away. Lacey is grateful that she and her daughter survived to build another day, but now the question looms what is she going to build and where?

    A dream does answer her call in the form of Clay who is offering to help her build an expanded version of her original idea and he is offering his architectural services free. What on paper appears to be too good to be true, especially since he will not sign any papers probably is. Lots of questions and unanswered details about his past have red flags going up but Lacey is taking them all down and choosing to trust her opinion about Clay. Getting involved with your architect is bad business yet Lacey has had enough second-guessing it is time to storm the castle and let the bricks fall where they may.

    As Lacey and Clay move forward with her resort plans, maneuver around the obstacle of small-minded citizens allot of ghosts show up in both of their lives. You can move to the left or right of your past but for some reason it always finds you. Lacey and Clay are both challenged with deciding how to deal with the latest disaster and what the future holds for them together. Neither is running away from the challenge of a relationship but they are also not embracing it without an internal emotional fight to the bitter conclusion.

    Roxanne St. Claire is a prolific writer who tells a story so well she has you falling in love with the characters from page one. It is difficult to lay the groundwork for a new series yet somehow Ms. St. Claire has a gift of doing just that and making you want for the next book, right now.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    I picked this book out because of the Florida beach theme.  So g

    I picked this book out because of the Florida beach theme.  So glad I did!  Roxanne realistically captured the emotions of real life situations; surviving a hurricane (been there, done that,), a single mother trying to rebuild their life while trying to be a good example for her daughter (been there, done that), living in a small community where everyone knows everything (been there, done that).  She infused all of this with humor, romance and emotion that left me laughing, crying a sighing.  An awesome read for someone that wants to step into the pages and be swept into this world!  Can't wait for the next book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Its and okay read

    Description did not include all the facts. There was more than one story intertwineD.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Lightly entertaining

    Well written, but I found the plot to be just more of the same in romantic fiction, so it did not hold my interest for very long.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Fun, easy read!

    This was a really enjoyable book. I couldn't put it down. Loved the characters and can't wait for the next one to come out. Buy this book. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice H. for Readers Favorite Attention all avid ro

    Reviewed by Alice H. for Readers Favorite

    Attention all avid romance readers: here's a red-hot summer romance for you all! In Barefoot in the Sand, Roxanne St. Claire pairs single mother Lacey with architect Clay and she manages to weave in several subplots in the process of bringing them to some sort of ultimate interpersonal conclusion. After the destruction of their beachfront home due to a hurricane, Lacey and her daughter have escaped with their lives and virtually nothing else. And yet, the storm appears to have provided Lacey with direction and motivation she has lacked for years. Just when things appear to be coming together for Lacey, the father of her child appears and wants into the family and an unknown party has just purchased two lots on which Lacey planned to build her resort.

    The characters in this story are endearing and it is a pleasure for the reader to learn that they will now be part of a series. Lacey is just old enough to know better and young enough to explore. The daughter is naive enough that at fourteen years of age, she has no real comprehension of the responsibilities of growing up. Clay appears to be an enigma and this keeps the suspense flowing, along with the steamy love scenes that develop as Clay and Lacey explore their own emotions and motivations. Some of the best of the story has to do with Lacey's three long-time friends who stick with her through thick and through thin. This is a great beach read and the reader will want to follow the paths of the characters introduced in this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    This is a great beach read...

    This is a great beach read...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Welcome to the MLP rp!

    Hello! Welcome! Our main rp is at res 6 right now... the reses shift a lot. There are various shops scattered throughout, so look and see what you find! Bios are at res 5, for now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Roxanne St. Claire has done it again! I been a fan for a long ti

    Roxanne St. Claire has done it again! I been a fan for a long time, and I have read most of her books, let alone I have most of her books in my collection. However, Roxanne did not disappoint me this time either. I am enjoying this new series that takes place in Barefoot Bay which is a place of peacefulness on the island of Mimosa Key, just off the coast of Florida. The location was fabulous, and very original. The story tells of four best friends who met in college, and SAND features one as the protagonist - Lacey Armstrong. Lacey's entire house and all she loved was completely blown away by a destructive hurricane that ripped up Barefoot Bay. She decides to take this opportunity, to rebuild a new and renovated resort in place of the one that destroyed bed and breakfast. When Lacey meets this young and attractive architect Clay Walker, who is perfect for the job, her life takes a drastic turn. Her three best friends - Jocelyn, Zoe, and Tessa - rally in Barefoot Bay to assist in Lacey's in this new project that she is taking on with the help of Clay. This story will make you cry and laugh and rejoices. This is the first book in this series, and I have the whole series, and I am looking forward to reading the second book in this series. 




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recomend

    love this series about beach life and friendships!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6