Customer Reviews for

Barefoot in the Sun

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is another wonderful story by one of my favorite authors, R

    This is another wonderful story by one of my favorite authors, Roxanne St. Claire. The third in her "Barefoot Bay" series. If you enjoy a contemporary with depth I recommend this book to you. 

    Zoe is the smart-talking heroine of the book, although she is first introduced in Barefoot in the Sand. She is a layered character--what you see isn't always what you get.

    Oliver, the hero, comes across at the beginning a little stiff... perhaps a little serious...but after all he is a doctor. It fits his character. He quickly grew on me.

    For me, Oliver's son stole the show. Roxanne knows how to write kids. Evan was a precocious eight year old who I found a sweet addition to the story.

    I hope you enjoy the story as much as I did. I have recommended all of the Barefoot Bay books to my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A must read.

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    I fell in love with Roxanne St. Claire after reading the second book in the series, Barefoot in the Rain. I have to say this story did not let me down. I’ve learned that going into a Roxanne book, you have to be prepared to cry. The only question is....how much crying will you end up doing and when.

    Barefoot in the Sun did not let me down. This is a true second chance love story that will make you laugh, cry, and scream at the hero and heroine.

    Zoe is someone I can relate to. Oliver is just a guy I want to have to myself. They’re great together with their give and take. I love the love these two have for each other and those around them. While I prepared myself for the emotional rollercoaster, I wasn’t prepared for the little mystery.

    Barefoot in the Sun will allow you to see the steps and risks someone will endure for someone they truly love. When all is said and done, you will be very happy that you took the time to read this book.

    Source: Publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Cyrus

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Iceescales

    Sat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Wonderful...Barefoot in the Sun...no more running? We will see..

    Wonderful...Barefoot in the Sun...no more running? We will see.....
    Beautiful, Everlasting, Soul searching, September 25, 2013
    By Ramona Kekstadt
    This review is from: Barefoot in the Sun (Barefoot Bay) (Mass Market Paperback)
    When it comes to a beautiful story about family, forgiveness, two souls find each other this is the story you want to read. Zoe ran with her great aunt Pasha, you will understand why once you further get into the book. It's hurts Oliver but he has other issues he runs into. When they meet up again Zoe needs his help for Pasha, but she has to make sure he won't ever tell her secret.. Zoe finds out his secret unexpectedly and is overwhelmed and runs which she has done for a long time..whenever things go bad...she hears in her head Run, Zoe Run....Oliver agrees to help but also wants something in return, which is very interesting in a way that will break your heart and also touch..Zoe wants to put roots down and finally call a place home...will she be able to? Or will she run again? She tell's her best friends the truth about herself and Pasha, she was so afraid but Tessa told Zoe that they were her family. When Tessa came into the room by herself it was the sweetest moment between them. When all of the sitting on the bed with the baby...you just want to hug someone. Tessa the nurturer brought her a bag of herbs for her swollen eyes. Zoe finally stopped one day and gave into to spend the day with Oliver and Evan who she really likes...They went shopping for a dog...emotional, and sweet...it's just amazing the bond formed..
    The book is out of this world. Roxanne just brings so many things in the Barefoot Bay series that you will love. I have loved her books since an anthology I read "What you Can't See"...I started reading her Guardian Angelino series, then the Bullet Catchers then from there the Barefoot Bay books...she is amazing..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I have enjoyed the entire Barefoot series so far and this was th

    I have enjoyed the entire Barefoot series so far and this was the book I anticipated the most. I could not wait to read about Zoe and Oliver! The story was about more than just the romance, covering past secrets that kept the couple apart. Second chance romances are always a good read and this one did not disappoint. This book was emotional, funny and even hot at times. Many of the side characters are very entertaining and add a great deal to the depth of the book. Roxanne is very good at describing details and it is easy to picture Barefoot Bay in my mind. I look forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    FIGHTING WOLVE'S DEN

    SUNPACK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved it first time with this author!

    Loved it first time with this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Another fantastic book in Roxanne St.Claire's Barefoot Bay serie

    Another fantastic book in Roxanne St.Claire's Barefoot Bay series, Barefoot in the Sun is the most poignant of the three.
    Zoe is thrown back together with old love, Oliver after he delivers her best friend Lacy's baby at the opening of the new Barefoot Bay resort.
     And just in time, too, as Zoe's adopted mom, Pasha is in need of the oncologist's experimental treatments. Zoe and Pasha's shady past
     and legal troubles keep them from using the more traditional healthcare routes, and Zoe hopes her long ago love affair with Oliver will
    giver her some leverage in enlisting his help without 'outing' Pasha to the authorities.
    Oliver, now divorced and parenting his above-average eight year old son for the summer, isn't sure he wants to take the chance of
    restarting their relationship, since Zoe baled on him last time without so much as a goodbye note.
    As always, Ms. St.Claire delivers well-drawn characters, so believable they sometimes break your heart, and a plot line that keeps you
     turning the pages late into the night.
    I finished this book in two sessions - broken only by the necessity of going to work - and am looking forward to the next entry in the
    Barefoot Bay series. Take this one to the beach - or the city - wherever you are it's sure to capture your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Awesome

    Another great book in the barefoot series!! Can't wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    very good book!!

    a book full of turns at every corner. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I really like Roxanne St.Claire's style of writing and the Baref

    I really like Roxanne St.Claire's style of writing and the Barefoot Bay series is no exception. I like how she has created a world that I would very much love to live in and possibly be one of the 'best friends' in these stories!
    This is the 3rd book in the Barefoot Bay series and although I thoroughly enjoyed every one of them I think Barefoot in the Sun is my favorite. Zoe is a very complex personality and I feel a lot of people will be able to relate to her for many different reasons, I know I did.
    Barefoot in the Sun has a very strong story line. It has a depth that you can really get lost in. The characters are very believable and the story read so smooth that I never found a good 'stopping point', which got me in trouble a few times! 'No No! Not now...just 5 more minutes'! Ms. St.Claire did a great deal of research for this book and it shows throughout this incredible story. Her creativity shines with Zoe, Oliver, Pasha, Evan and all the others that came together in this tale that will make you laugh, cry, wonder, get angry and fall in love with Barefoot Bay...and definitely Roxanne St.Claire!
    Follow her on Facebook and she also has a blog, through these I feel as though I know her. She's warm, funny, creative, honest and just a really nice lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Love this series, can't wait until the next one comes out. I lo

    Love this series, can't wait until the next one comes out. I love how each character has their own story and but it lapses over into the next story. I love that things work out for them, through hard work, its a great love book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    I've read many of Ms. St. Claire's books before and while I have

    I've read many of Ms. St. Claire's books before and while I have enjoyed each and every one of them, this series is certainly my favorite. Even after reading the first book in the series, I was anxious to get to Zoe's story and I was not disappointed.

    I loved the twists and turns throughout the book and although you know the "happily ever after" is coming, I was greatly surprised at situations that I in no way expected. I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking for great romance stories without the usual predictability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Barefoot in the Sun is the 3rd book in Ms. St.Claire's Barefoot

    Barefoot in the Sun is the 3rd book in Ms. St.Claire's Barefoot Bay series. The first two were great reading so I knew that this one would be too. The premise is a familiar one;two people in love, driven apart by circumstances beyond their control who find each other years later. Ms. St.Claire adds enough twists to the story to make it fresh and enjoyable. Zoe is a woman who has spent most of her life running from people, emotions, situations and she isn't sure she can ever stop. She left Oliver when he didn't respond as she would have liked to the true story of her life. Unfortunately for Oliver, he was in the midst of the biggest turning point of his life and the two end up apart. They meet again at a very difficult time for Zoe and as hard as Oliver tries to show that he is there for her, she can't shed the old habits.

    Both of these characters have made mistakes in their relationship but the chemistry between them is off the charts. Both of them have resentments to work through and there are outside influences that add pressure to their new beginning. I got exasperated at times with both of them but still wanted them to work it out. There was the possibility of a big cliched end to one of the storylines, but the author didn't take the easy way and upped the emotional level of the story considerably with her resolution.
    As always in a series it is nice to see how the other character's lives have moved on and to predict who the next book will feature. I can't wait to read the next book in the series- Barefoot by the Sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    WOW!!!  I think I experienced every emotion there is at one poin

    WOW!!!  I think I experienced every emotion there is at one point or another throughout this book!  The characters in this series continue to be real to life and oh so believable.  I absolutely love Oliver however it took me awhile to get there for Zoe...but it took Zoe a while to get there too!!! And Evan, such a sweet, loving child...he stole my heart!  Awesome character development!  Not as many tears as BAREFOOT IN THE RAIN but just as emotional.  Now, can't wait to see what Rocki has in store for Tessa!!!!  This is definitely a MUST READ book in a MUST READ series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book, just like the rest of the Barefoot Bay books.

    I loved this book, just like the rest of the Barefoot Bay books. I loved Zoe's free spirit and I loved Oliver's determination, but I think I ended up loving Evan the best! Such a wonderful boy.

    This book was a little more emotional that the first two but I still enjoyed it. I love this series and I cannot wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I received an advance copy of this book in a giveaway on another

    I received an advance copy of this book in a giveaway on another website and decided to give it a chance even though I've never read a romance book in my life. As a guy, I didn't think I would enjoy one. After reading it, all I can say is: if they're all this good, then I've obviously missed out. The characters were very well-drawn and believable. Roxanne St. Claire did a great job of creating roadblocks for our lovebirds and then letting them find their way around them. This book has everything you could ask for: love, friendship, family issues, drama, and a healthy dose of lust to get your heart racing. I will definitely be trying more of Roxanne St. Claire's books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2