BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Barely Undercover

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Fire & Ice... This is the 2nd book in the Legal Heat Series.

    Fire & Ice...
    This is the 2nd book in the Legal Heat Series. I enjoyed meeting Lana in the first book and I was looking forward to more of her sass and the witty banter between her and James, the dangerously handsome cop with a penchant for pain. Woo Hoo! Boy did I get what I wanted and then some! I'm a sucker for a muscled bada$$ alpha cop, add a dirty-talkin' bada$$ biker, put them both in the same pair of tight leathers and you could not pry this Kindle out of my hands! Girls, are you listening? Let me tell you...um...those sexy on a motorcycle fantasies...well...get ready to bookmark that page. I did not even want to stop reading long enough to take a potty break, but I was laughing so hard a few times I had to, not wanting to risk an accident, you know? Sarah Castille, I am a fan for life. You know how to combine sexy men, sassy women, hilarious dialogue, page turning suspense, panty melting passion, and heart melting emotion. ¿¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    5 stars = I freaking LOVED this book Barely Undercover was a RE

    5 stars = I freaking LOVED this book

    Barely Undercover was a REALLY good read for me. I adored Lana’s character – she’s strong, she’s sassy, she’s vulnerable, she faces her fears as much as possible, and whether she wants to admit it or not, she loves James completely. As for James, what’s not to love? He might be an undercover cop, but he is an alpha male through and through and has no problem pulling off the biker persona. The two together are explosive. 

    As the story progresses, we learn that Lana has had a tough life and when she thought she had found her way out, she only ended up trading one devil for another. Eventually, she did make her escape and now owns her own PI business. Her current case hits a bit close to home and brings her face-to-face with bikers and more importantly James – the only man she ever loved and the only man who ever broke her heart when he walked away without saying goodbye. Needless to say, it was quite a shock when she ran into him (literally) and the reunion was quite amusing. As their cases intersect, Lana and James find themselves spending more and more time together. When their passions are ignited, it makes for some extremely stimulating reading. But it’s not all hearts and flowers as there is quite a bit of danger faced by both James and Lana and Lana finds herself dealing with old demons that excel at cruelty. 

    Although not an actual MC book, Barely Undercover is an action-packed read full of bada$$ bikers, club conflicts, illegal activities, and one surprisingly intimidating old lady (Angel + lead pipe = one snort-laugh inducing scene for me). I am so looking forward to the next book in the series and am really hoping that it’s about Jacki – that woman is a hoot and she deserves to find The One. Even though Ms. Castille’s series is entitled Legal Heat, the path that Ryder envisions for the club and the former occupations of some of the new club members could potentially fall under this heading. If not, I certainly hope she develops a spin-off series as I would really enjoy reading more about them.

    I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. 
    Reviewed by Angela at Crystal's Many Reviewers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Great Read

    Love the main characters and juicy storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh boy, I need more James. ASAP. An undercover cop with a pencha

    Oh boy, I need more James. ASAP. An undercover cop with a penchant for a little kink and alpha tendencies from here to Timbuktu. I. Love. It. Barely Undercover was an unexpected joy to read. It had all the good of a motorcycle club book, without the super dark and twisty aspects. Granted it was still a little dark and twisted at times, but it didn't make me want to huddle in a corner and cry. Yet, it still evoked a LOT of feelings. It was a mesmerizing blend of emotions, suspense and sexy times. 

    James and Lana had a heated affair two years ago until he up and disappeared. Now, they're both working to destroy one man, but their efforts and their passion could destroy a two year mission. James will toe the line to save Lana. And Lana will forfeit her heart once more to the man who broke it. When the past comes back to haunt them everything will be on the line. Their love, and their lives. It's a cutthroat world out there for the guys in a MC and it's even more dangerous when the love of your life is in the cross-hairs. 

    This book gave me just enough angst, sex, and riveting story. Lana and James burn up the pages. Their relationship is utterly consuming. But more than that, they play off of one another in snark and humor that had me cracking up. The secondary characters in this book make all the difference as well. The new MC boys- I hope I get their stories! Lana's best friend, I'm almost afraid to read her story. I know where I want it to go, but Ms. Castille left me feeling uneasy about it at the end of Barely Undercover. In the end, this is a book that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a sexy, fun MC themed book. Even if you're not, it's perfect to dip your toes into the MC world. I hope to see more of this series and author in the future!

    Happy Reading!
    *Review copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    must check it out

    the book is well written, has all the aspects of making it a very successful read: thrilling actions, chases, hot bikers (undercover and not undercover), ruthless brutes and hot action. I enjoyed it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Dont bother

    ## I can't understand the great reviews. I did not like this book at all. I found the "hero" to be an ass and the heroine a weak excuse of a woman. I can't stand it when a heroine says: I'll never sleep with you, I hate you, this was a mistake, this is over, yet ends up in bed with the hero every time. Weak! And that crude remark after she tells him she's on the pill but he says he better wear a condom because he's no saint implying how many women he's been with while they were apart. Ugh. Gross. I didn't find James sexy at all. Not a good read. Cannot recommend. If you like biker books read "Riding on instinct" instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    A great 2nd book in this series! A hot undercover cop and PI-get

    A great 2nd book in this series! A hot undercover cop and PI-gets hot action on bikes and under the sheets! This book has everything hot babes-bad bikers and undercover cops -Dont miss this book 
    This book was given to me by the author for an honest review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    First Impression .... This is going to be So. Much. Fun. The St

    First Impression .... This is going to be So. Much. Fun.

    The Story... Barely Undercover is the second book in the Legal Heat series, but can easily be read as a standalone, as I did. Lana, a character from Legal Heat, is a PI. On a dangerous job, she follows her mark into a sex club, but when she catches his eyes, Lana is the one being chased. Rex won't take no for an answer. But in walks Lana's ex, James Hunter, who's undercover as a member of Rex's MC. James comes to Lana's rescue, and in order to go with the flow and keep Rex away, she must pretend to be James's -undercover as Ice - Old Lady. This puts the former lovers back within dangerous territory, balancing knowing they should stay apart with the need to keep Lana safe. Throw in the out of control intense chemistry, and Barely Undercover is a suspense and sexy story.

    The Characters ... James and Lana were likeable, complex, funny, and intense characters. Lana is a woman with a mysterious past, one she won't share even with her best friend. She is a strong woman who refuses to be beaten down by life. Yes, she's closed off and tends to run, but she can't be blamed in the slightest. Her only weakness is James, but even with him, it's all SASS. And I loved it. The way they sparred and riled each other up was hilarious and sexy. And speaking of sexy, yep, James was that and a whole lot more. An undercover cop, James left Lana to protect her. Life in the MC has changed him, but it's for the better. He was intense, but could make a joke or a wicked come-on in a heartbeat. What I liked about him was that even though he was intense and super Alpha, he was also nice, listened to Lana, and learned how to treat her in the way that worked for them both.

    Barely Undercover also had an excellent supporting cast. Jackie, Lana's best friend, matched her head-to-head in the sass and attitude department. I would love to get her story. We also get James/Ice's fellow MC members, most of them awful, except for Kickstand and Ryder. These two were fun and hot and I hope it's not the last I've seen of them either.

    The Writing .... Having read Castille's work before, I knew that I liked her writing. While I liked her other book, I really, really liked this one. I even had moments bordering on love. The characters were engaging. The story had a brisk and intense pace that never lagged a bit. It was so so funny, with me laughing so hard at times my husband came to see what was going on with me.

    The Heat ... was smokin'. "Warning: The book contains violence, explicit sex, light bondage, heavy swearing, motorcycle sexytimes, bad-ass biker naughtytimes, and an exceptionally hot hero who will get down and dirty anywhere but under the covers." <---That just promises a good time, right? Once again, being familiar with Castille's work, I knew she could bring the heat. James and Lana had fabulous chemistry, combined with loaded history. This led to serious sparks on the page. Their intimate moments were plentiful, but never took over the story.

    Could I Put Barely Undercover Down? .... I could, when necessary. But I didn't want to. In fact, I stayed up way to late and woke up early so I could get a few more pages in before starting the day.
    In the End ... Barely Undercover was an excellent read. It made me laugh. It got me all steamed up. There was action, adventure, and a winning love story. I will definitely be reading more of the Legal Heat series in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1