Customer Reviews for

Hans Christian Andersen: The Complete Fairy Tales (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Can't Wait!

I can't wait to get the newest edition to the Leatherbound classics! The whole Leatherbound classics are amazing, but they're missing one book. I wish they would make a leatherbound classics book with all the stories and poems of winnie the pooh.

posted by BookNerdWorm on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

NOT illustrated!!VERY DISAPPOINTED

I just recieved the copy of this book I ordered only to discover that the discription of the book stating that it has (and I quote) full color illustrations and beautiful end pages, is untrue, and when I called to ask if I had recieved a flawed book I was told that it w...
I just recieved the copy of this book I ordered only to discover that the discription of the book stating that it has (and I quote) full color illustrations and beautiful end pages, is untrue, and when I called to ask if I had recieved a flawed book I was told that it was my problem that the discription was misleading and I could have a refund if I wanted to pay to have the book shipped back, which when I checked would cost me $4 dollars more than what I paid for the book in the first place. All in all I am very disapointed in barnes & noble for both the book and the service I have recieved.

posted by kitaluna on November 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    NOT illustrated!!VERY DISAPPOINTED

    I just recieved the copy of this book I ordered only to discover that the discription of the book stating that it has (and I quote) full color illustrations and beautiful end pages, is untrue, and when I called to ask if I had recieved a flawed book I was told that it was my problem that the discription was misleading and I could have a refund if I wanted to pay to have the book shipped back, which when I checked would cost me $4 dollars more than what I paid for the book in the first place. All in all I am very disapointed in barnes & noble for both the book and the service I have recieved.

    21 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Can't Wait!

    I can't wait to get the newest edition to the Leatherbound classics!
    The whole Leatherbound classics are amazing, but they're missing one book. I wish they would make a leatherbound classics book with all the stories and poems of winnie the pooh.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    I just ordered this book...

    And am so excited! My parents had an old leather bound edition of the complete Grimm fairytales. We were forced to leave it in Soviet Ukraine when we left in 1979. I was sad to part with them as a child. I am so excited to get what is the closest I've ever seen to those books.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    GREAT COVER FOR A TIMELESS SERIES OF FAIRY TALES

    As an artist I'm always influenced by covers, especially with children's books which is my field. This just feels so precious, a personalized treasure to give to your children. I feel there should have been more emphasize on additional illustration - with such well known tales like these a couple more great images really help bring the tales to life.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    I highly recommend this, as well as all the others in this Leatherbound Classics series!

    Rarely do you see these classic pieces of literature rendered with such sophisticated elegance and beauty, faithfully honoring and respecting the equally unique, creative literary material loved by generations of readers. I have been enjoying them all, and eagerly look forward to each new addition to the series. Hopefully, the publisher (who appears to be unreachable) will keep releasing more of these fine collected works, including such classic writers as Baum, Milne, Kipling, Twain, London, Melville, Hemingway, Stoker, Shelley, as well as other poets like Virgil, Longfellow, Keats, Eliot, Hawthorne, and Blake. Time will tell, but hope is alive. Get on board with these fantastic masterpieces of literature, and be swept away in worlds of imagination!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Why is this still on the website when i just tried to order it a

    Why is this still on the website when i just tried to order it and got an email saying the order was canceled because they no longer have the book?? 

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very true to the images, this book is beautifully made and very worth the money. I had some trouble with my shipping but I called customer service and they were very friendly and helpful and shipped me another copy with express shipping. Overall very pleased with this purchase.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A must have for your personal library

    This book would be a welcome addition to your personal library. I am excited to actually own such a beautiful book. A few of the stories were told to me as a child. I look forward to sharing these stories with my grandchildren.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I love it! Sometimes you CAN judge a book by it's cover.

    I received this book for Christmas this year and absolutely adore it. As other comments have mention, no it is not illustrated, but I prefer it that way. When reading it to yourself or for others children, it lets them imagine the characters and scenery as they wish. It is beautifully bound with a ribbon place holder and gold trimmed pages. Something about it just feels magical. I hope to get others in the leather bound collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    Gorgeous Cover

    Hans Christian Andersen is one of my favourite authors from my childhood. This beautifully bound edition is sure to please those collecting the Leatherbound Classics. This book would make a lovely gift. Great value!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Little Mermaid tale is in here, nuff said...

    Let’s be real, this book will take forever to finish. Well, at least for me it will. Anywho, Hans Christian Andersen is very dear to me for one reason and one reason only, for creating The Little Mermaid. I absolutely LOVE The Little Mermaid. It is my most adored tale and favorite Disney Princess movie ever. Yea, you heard me. Favorite Disney PRINCESS movie ever! Ain't no shame here. Anyways, I've read tales here and there, of course The Little Mermaid being the first one, but I am no where close to being done with this book. Besides the fact that I love him for creating The Little Mermaid, he really does have great tales. If you don't finish it, it definitely is a lovely addition to your book collection.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    To the lady that coplained because of no illustrations. NOWHERE

    To the lady that coplained because of no illustrations. NOWHERE IN THE DESCRIPTION MENTIONS ANY ILLUSTRATIONS, THEY SAY END PAGES, LADY, END PAGES, NO ILLUSTRATIONS. What's wrong with a book with no illustrations? Hello? Nothing! absolutely nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1