Customer Reviews for

Jane Austen: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely gorgeous!

This edition of Jane Austen¿s seven novels is an example of book design of the highest order. The multiple color, embossed foil, leather cover is quite simply a work of art. It is very representative of the style of the Regency period, while still being unmistakably ori...
This edition of Jane Austen¿s seven novels is an example of book design of the highest order. The multiple color, embossed foil, leather cover is quite simply a work of art. It is very representative of the style of the Regency period, while still being unmistakably original. The detail and craftsmanship are stunning. The text of the book, while small, is generously leaded and is still highly and comfortably readable. The paper, while necessarily thin to accommodate seven novels without the book becoming bulky and unwieldy, still has a nice feel. I would have liked to have seen elements of the cover design carried through onto the title page in a more elegant way and also incorporated into the title page of each novel. But these are minor quibbles. This edition deserves a place in the library of anybody who admires the work of Jane Austen and/or is a fan of great book design.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The book has defects so look over carefully!

The two stars does not apply to Jane Austen but to the book itself. I bought one from B&N on line and the book (all the pages) were torn away from the cover. It just seemed to fall apart. I then went to the B&N store and I found the same to be true. Of the eight boo...
The two stars does not apply to Jane Austen but to the book itself. I bought one from B&N on line and the book (all the pages) were torn away from the cover. It just seemed to fall apart. I then went to the B&N store and I found the same to be true. Of the eight books they had I found only one that was acceptable. It is hard to notice this because they have been carefully wrapped in plastic (that was smart of them) so be sure to cut off the plastic and physically look at the beginning flap and the ending flap. Do not think you can fix it either - just do not buy it. I also finally found a copy of Anna Rice's Vampire Series leather bound book in a B&N store but here again be sure you physically look at the beginning and ending pages/cover as there were several with the same defect as Jane Austen. This holds true for all the leather bound books Barnes and Noble currently has on sale. The books have serious defects (this has nothing to do with being bargin priced) and they should never have been put up for sale. I am more than disappointed with Barnes & Noble for doing this and taking advantage of its book buying customers. I think this is a case of a large corporation trying to salvage a little money on a very bad product. Too bad.

posted by SusanVT on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    It's a good book for collection.

    Jane Austin is strongly recommended for all readers. This book has all of her famous works which include the most popular one Pride and Prejudice. I believe that this is great book for her big fans to have it collected in our bookcase for years. (However, I did not like the texture of the paper that much. It wasn't luxurious as the cover.)

    Her book is too addictive to let it go and forget about like other fiction. You'll feel differently every time you read her novel and see how charming her story characters are. Then later, you'll be able to understand why she had to write these books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Jane Austen collection great to look at, not so great to read

    I absolutely love Jane Austen's novels, so I'll not attempt to review each of the classic works included in this collection. I bought this book several months ago was excited to have so many of Austen's works in one volume. It's a beautiful book, and I love the gold trimming on on the pages and on the book mark. However, the book is too large and cumbersome to be practical.

    I think this book would make a wonderful gift for anyone who enjoys Austen's books, and who wants to have some nice-looking books to line their shelves. It looks great on my book shelf and I'm glad I own it, but I think I'll stick with reading my smaller paperback versions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautiful Collection for Your Personal Library...

    This is a wonderful collection of Jane Austen's works. The leather bound book with gilt pages and the floral cover is as beautiful as the works inside. Yes, having seven of Austen's novels in one book can be a bit unwieldy to hold while you're reading... I found it heavy and awkward at times, but perhaps that's because I couldn't put it down! Jane Austen's heroines are beautiful and diverse. Each has a unique yet likeable persona from the demure, ever scrupulous Fanny Price, the prudent realist Elinor Dashwood, the dramatic daydreamer Catherine Morland, the charming matchmaker Emma Woodhouse to the strong-willed Elizabeth Bennett, each of Austen stories is different yet they all capture a strong sense of the daily life of an English woman in The Regency Period with themes that still remain universal today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Terrific!

    This is a great collection for Jane Austen readers! It is a wonderful collection book and very attractive. My only complaint has not to do with the writing but the font of the book ( which is why I did not give it 5 stars). The print is very small and I had to buy reading glasses for the first time. I wear contacts so that works out fine using the reading glasses but when I put my prescription glasses on at night I am out of luck. I am in my early 30's and not at all ready for prescription bifocals yet. The font size aside, highly recommended and would make a great gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Complete Jane Austen!

    This book has to be a part of every classic library. Where else can you get the complete works of Miss Austen in a leather bound edition. The typeset is readable although somewhat small. The book is a treasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic.

    I have always wanted to read this book but between school and work just did not have the time. I truly enjoyed reading all seven books. Only problem was that the cover binding broke a week after I bought this book. Kinda disappointed with the construction of the book, but the writing is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Lots of good reading in one place.

    Although the print is small for my old eyes, I am enjoying the stories anyway. Don't know if I'll get to the end of the book, but I am having fun now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Quality heirloom-type books

    I bought this collection, along with 2 other classic novels in the Leatherbound Classics Series, and have not started reading this one yet. I am trying to read some of the "classics" as I get older. I will be very happy to display these on my bookshelf, and to pass these down to my kids, and grandkids someday. They really are nicely made, and look much more expensive than they are. I would definitely recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Good book :) glad i bought it

    Good book :) glad i bought it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    BN Jane Austen Collection

    Book looks great. Tried hard to take care and not fully open book to prevent binding damage. Regardless pages are still beginning to tear out. Read three novels out of book. Great Read and Overall happy with look and feel in book. Tagging a star off for durability, but you cant beat the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2